English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 June 2014, 15:49   #1
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,675
Is your Fastmem/Vampire board popping off your a600 CPU

Hi All,

I may have found a solution for those of you that are suffering from your A600 fastmem/accel/Vampire board that keeps popping off your CPU. Here's a pic...



I have identified what could be the problem in the 2 yellow rings ...

i built a board and done a socket which fit perfectly on the V1.5 mobo and i could actually lift up the motherboard by the socket and shake it a bit without it coming off. When i tried the same fastmem board on a Rev 2D motherboard it kept popping off. So after being puzzled for a bit i found out that the resistor on the Rev 2D motherboard was in a slightly different area and causing just enough interference to cause the board to keep popping off, so i recommend you put a nice big cutout in the bottom of the socket because as soon as i widened and deepened the cutout it now sits rock solid

Post your results below
kipper2k is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 June 2014, 19:19   #2
Gunnar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 154
When I bought my Vampire from Igor last year it came with this "break-out" already.


I trick that I can recommend to get the Vampire really well "fixed",
is drilling a hole in through the middle of the socket,
and super-glueing a screw on the 68K and screwing the card on the original CPU.
With this the card is really well fixed to the mobo.
Gunnar is offline  
Old 04 June 2014, 19:26   #3
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 30
Posts: 1,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnar View Post
When I bought my Vampire from Igor last year it came with this "break-out" already.


I trick that I can recommend to get the Vampire really well "fixed",
is drilling a hole in through the middle of the socket,
and super-glueing a screw on the 68K and screwing the card on the original CPU.
With this the card is really well fixed to the mobo.
Do you have some pics? I totally want to see this "screw" solution!
jbenam is offline  
Old 04 June 2014, 20:36   #4
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gunnar View Post
I trick that I can recommend to get the Vampire really well "fixed",
is drilling a hole in through the middle of the socket,
and super-glueing a screw on the 68K and screwing the card on the original CPU.
With this the card is really well fixed to the mobo.
you would have to drill through the pcb as well, which could be sorta dangerous
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 04 June 2014, 22:08   #5
Gunnar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 154
How to screw your Amiga

Sure here can you see how to screw your Amiga ;-)

Gunnar is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 07:04   #6
tnt23
Registered User
tnt23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Saint-Petersburg / Russia
Posts: 307
Nice one Gunnar, adds a bit of heatsink to that CPU as well!
tnt23 is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 08:44   #7
Boboo_SK
Develop HW
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Nitra / Slovakia
Posts: 74
Look Here
Boboo_SK is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 10:20   #8
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Wtf after seeing that I'm not sure if your a genius or crazy
Vot is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 10:34   #9
springycz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Budweis / Czech Republic
Posts: 85
Maybe a crazy genius .
springycz is offline  
Old 05 June 2014, 15:44   #10
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
Lol
Vot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A600 + Vampire + Phoenix-CPU = running texture demo Gunnar Amiga scene 27 02 September 2014 20:59
A4000 - Securing the CPU board in place. Turran Hardware pics 1 03 February 2013 13:11
Passive ISA CPU board (486) mabus support.Hardware 6 08 March 2007 04:52
WTB: A600 FastMem / Accelerator Zetr0 MarketPlace 22 10 January 2007 21:38
C= 3640 cpu board dmrvf support.Hardware 3 13 February 2003 02:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07430 seconds with 13 queries