English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2008, 10:43   #1
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Exclamation Scsi Cdrom & Cwb

Hi Guys,

I've got Classic WB lite running on my A2000/030/8MB with a GVP HC+8 Rom4.15

I've added a SCSI CDROM to the chain with ID=5

Ive put the CD0 device into my devs drawer with the following Tooltypes.

ACTIVATE=1
DEVICE=gvpscsi.device
UNIT=5

If I insert a CD it appears and reads fine, but I can't eject it at all, the eject button is ignored & i need to power the drive off & on to eject.

Am i missing any additional step?

The CD works fine with OS3.5 both insert, read & eject, except when trying to use "Playcd", I get "SCSI command error on gvpscsi,unit5"
What are the recomended cachecdfs settings afa SCSI access is concerned


Can I copy any bits over from OS3.5 to fix this..

Thanks for your answers.
TheCorfiot is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 May 2008, 15:44   #2
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
No Suggestions guys,,

Or have I done everything right!!! (unlikely)
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 07:59   #3
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Smilar sort of setup and I use IDEFix (sounds strange I know).

With IDEFix it seems to work perfectly. Worth a go IMHO.



M.
Macca is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 08:30   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
Ive put the CD0 device into my devs drawer with the following Tooltypes.
What's the contents of CD0 (the actual file, not the icon info) ?
thomas is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 10:07   #5
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
What's the contents of CD0 (the actual file, not the icon info) ?

Hi Thomas & Macca thanks for the help,

@Thomas
Not sure but it's the std CD0 file that is either supplied by Bloodwych on CWB 3.1 Full, or taken from my WB3.1 Storage floppy during CWB installation,

I have viewed it, & it does have the script, CDROM driver file...etc, & options set by tooltypes.....
Can try copying it over from my floppy again if you think it may help

@Macca, I don't have IDEfix due to my using full SCSI setups on A2000/A500, toying with getting an 'Express' for my A1200

Cheers
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 19:25   #6
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
Not sure but it's the std CD0 file that is either supplied by Bloodwych on CWB 3.1 Full, or taken from my WB3.1 Storage floppy during CWB installation,
The 3.1 CD file system sucks. Copy CacheCDFS from your OS3.5 CD to SYS:L (be careful to not confuse L/CacheCDFS with Prefs/CacheCDFS. You need the one from L) and use this CD0 file:

Code:
/***************************************************************/
/*  CacheCDFS mountlist entry © 2000 Amiga Inc.                */
/***************************************************************/
       FileSystem     = L:CacheCDFS /* The name of the game */
       Device         = "gvpscsi.device" /* Name of exec device driver */
       Unit           = 5 /* exec device unit */
       Flags          = 0 /* OpenDevice flags */
       BlocksPerTrack = 351000 /* Unused */
       BlockSize      = 2048 /* True, but unused */
       Mask           = 0x7ffffffe /* Memory mask for direct read */
       MaxTransfer    = 0xfe00 /* Maximum amount of bytes for direct read */
       Reserved       = 0 /* Unused */
       Interleave     = 0 /* Unused */
       LowCyl         = 0 /* Unused */
       HighCyl        = 0 /* Unused */
       Surfaces       = 1 /* Unused */
       Buffers        = 50 /* Number of cache lines */
       BufMemType     = 1 /* MEMF_PUBLIC */
       BootPri        = 2 /* Boot priority for MountCD */
       GlobVec        = -1 /* Do not change! */
       Mount          = 1 /* Mount it immediately */
       Priority       = 10 /* Priority of FileSystem task */
       DosType        = 0x43443031 /* Currently unused */
       StackSize      = 3000 /* Minimum stack required is 3000! */
       Control        = "MD=0 LC=1 DC=8 L LV AL LFC=1 S NC AUDIO=Utilities/PlayCD"
   /* The Control field is for special adjustments */
   /* L/S convert all file/volume names to lowercase */
   /* LV/S convert volume names to lowercase */
   /* AL/S Auto-Lower converts only non-Amiga CDs */
   /* LFC/N start converting at this character */
   /* LC/N/A number of blocks per cache line */
   /* DC/N/A number of cache lines for the data cache */
   /* MD/N/A number of blocks, when starting direct read, not using */
   /* the cache. 0 will be a reasonable default (LC*DC+1) */
   /* S/S Do SCSI direct commands, no Trackdisk like commands! */
   /* NC/S Do NOT use TD_ADDCHANGEINT, poll for DiskChange! */
   /* M/S Issue a TD_MOTOR (OFF) command after read */
Then download IDEfix97 from Aminet, unpack it and copy CDFSPrefs to Sys:Prefs (no need to install IDEfix, you only need the prefs file). Mount CD0 and run CDFSPrefs, select CD0 from the list and check if it complains about invalid settings. If it does, correct the settings it complains about.

(I am not sure if the IDEfix prefs program works with the OS 3.5 CDFS, but the IDEFix CDFS nags with demo requesters and the OS 3.5 prefs program does not work on 3.1.)
thomas is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 20:32   #7
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Thomas,

Thank you very much indeed, Will have a go at doing this over the next couple of days,

It's very much appreciated,

One small question, If I carry out the above on my 3.1 WB will I get a 'nag' screen everytime my system boots.
If so then I will order an IDEFix express from amigakit for my A1200 and I believe that comes with a license key.

Best Regards
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 22:02   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,644
Quote:
will I get a 'nag' screen everytime my system boots.
No, you won't. That's why I told you to use CacheCDFS from OS 3.5. If you used the CacheCDFS from the IDEfix package, then you would get a nag screen.

As long as you don't use any part of IDEfix (except the CDFSPrefs program) you won't get nag screens.
thomas is offline  
Old 13 May 2008, 22:13   #9
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Thomas,
Thank you again,

I'm sure this will work fine as The same hardware setup works fine with OS3.5

Will let you know how I get on...

Regards
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 14 May 2008, 23:37   #10
TheCorfiot
Amibay Senior Staff
TheCorfiot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Cardiff / Wales
Posts: 1,302
Ahem,,,

@Thomas,

Followed your instructions to the T,

Not only does my CDROM work perfectly under Classic WB3.1 now, but I learnt a hell of a lot in the process too.

Let me loose on an A1200 with IDEFix now..

Thomas you are the Filesystem Master
Thanks

@Macca Thanks very much.... you know why
TheCorfiot is offline  
Old 23 April 2018, 14:30   #11
RiP
IK+

 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: DF0:
Posts: 53
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCorfiot View Post
except when trying to use "Playcd", I get "SCSI command error on gvpscsi,unit5"
PlayCD doesn't work for me too, any solution?
RiP is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Typhoon MK2 & A1200 SCSI CDRom Project fitzsteve Hardware pics 24 14 February 2010 18:06
scsi cdrom steps MrFluffy support.Hardware 9 20 May 2009 23:06
Scsi Cdrom DDNI support.Hardware 4 29 October 2007 07:52
IDE CDROM. How to mount under CWB _ThEcRoW project.ClassicWB 2 15 October 2006 17:20
masoboshi mastercard & scsi-cdrom prophet support.Hardware 2 11 August 2001 00:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07173 seconds with 13 queries