English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 August 2017, 20:45   #1
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 47
Posts: 514
Sushi Boyz by Ghostown

Sushi Boyz by Ghostown.
Ranked 1st at Revision 2015 demo party.

This is a good demo for classics machines but very picky about configuration.
Works properly only on ECS machine (1MB) and not even all (the MB need to be full available).
On OCS there is glitchs in credit part and on AGA instability/unsupported mode in bumbmap part.
On 020+ with 32bit fast RAM various errors here and there (and very fast machines can hang).
Workbench support is not working properly.

So for your pleasure a fixed version in The Zone.

Enjoy!
ross
ross is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 22 August 2017, 23:28   #2
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 565
Another Ross Fix ?! Awesome
Nibbler is offline  
Old 23 August 2017, 19:00   #3
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 474
Great job!! You should upload it to Aminet or Pouet.net
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 25 August 2017, 11:23   #4
mariodj
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: Leczna/Poland
Posts: 1
Working great on a1200 with 060, great job

I send this to Cahir, coder of Ghostown and he ask about changes you make.
mariodj is offline  
Old 25 August 2017, 13:40   #5
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 47
Posts: 514
With pleasure! I can send him the source and explain.
This series of patch and fix was not trivial, not a 'trap somewhere and substitute code' but they are active.
Very good exercise for hard core Amiga banger.
I consider myself yet in the re-learnig phase after all this years offstage, so very useful.

Best regards,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 25 August 2017, 14:18   #6
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 47
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir_Lucas View Post
Great job!! You should upload it to Aminet or Pouet.net
Thanks

I have no account on them.
But if Cahir or whoever wants it can absolutely do so.

Regards,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 25 August 2017, 23:23   #7
Sir_Lucas
Registered User

Sir_Lucas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Posts: 474
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Thanks

I have no account on them.
But if Cahir or whoever wants it can absolutely do so.

Regards,
ross
Great, I'm sure a lot of people will be really excited to be able to run this demo on their 030 or/and 060 machine. I'm sure I am. Once again thanks a lot.
Sir_Lucas is offline  
Old 26 August 2017, 21:55   #8
Kokos
!rulez

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chotomów / Poland
Age: 33
Posts: 20
Send a message via Skype™ to Kokos
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
So for your pleasure a fixed version in The Zone.
Dang.. I cannot find it.. Is this a right place? - ftp://grandis.nu/TheZone/files/

I'd love to launch a version which is not throwing me out to guru. Thanks!
Kokos is offline  
Old 26 August 2017, 22:51   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,511
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokos View Post
Dang.. I cannot find it.. Is this a right place? - ftp://grandis.nu/TheZone/files/
No; try The Zone! on EAB, not on the "EAB File Server" i.e: clicky

...there's a file there named "Ghostown-SushiBoyz_ross.zip"
DamienD is online now  
Old 27 August 2017, 01:47   #10
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,349
Yeah, thx for the fix Ross !!! Runs great on now on my 1200 /060 .. !!!
kriz is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 03:26   #11
nujack
Zone Friend
nujack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leipzig/Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 366
Tested on my CD32/ProModule and A4000/060.
No problems with that demo on my CD32 but on my A4000 the demo hangs on the Credit-part. Last picture that appears has text "Sushi for" and then it stopped working. Was the fix succesfully tested on A4000/060?
nujack is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 05:12   #12
Kokos
!rulez

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chotomów / Poland
Age: 33
Posts: 20
Send a message via Skype™ to Kokos
Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
No; try The Zone! on EAB, not on the "EAB File Server" i.e: clicky

...there's a file there named "Ghostown-SushiBoyz_ross.zip"
Oh, I see now. Access seems restricted, I don't have any permissions to touch this area. Is there something I could do about it? Thanks.
Kokos is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 09:33   #13
Mr-Z
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kokos View Post
Oh, I see now. Access seems restricted, I don't have any permissions to touch this area. Is there something I could do about it? Thanks.
I get the same message.
Mr-Z is offline  
Old 27 August 2017, 09:56   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,511
Guys; you've been on EAB for a good while now and never tried / been able to access The Zone!

...follow the instructions in this thread and all will be revealed: How do I get access to the zone?
DamienD is online now  
Old 27 August 2017, 10:06   #15
Kokos
!rulez

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Chotomów / Poland
Age: 33
Posts: 20
Send a message via Skype™ to Kokos
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Guys; you've been on EAB for a good while now and never tried / been able to access The Zone!

...follow the instructions in this thread and all will be revealed: How do I get access to the zone?
Thanks for help, I'm using this community site only from time to time.
Kokos is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 16:23   #16
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 47
Posts: 514
Cyberstorm PPC

Quote:
Originally Posted by ross
Hi nujack, can you be more verbose about your A4000/060 config?
Do you have a CyberStorm PPC?
Have you tried disabling cache in early startup menů?
Quote:
Hi ross,
Yes it's a Cyberstorm PPC. For more details see screenshot attached.
No problems with Cache disabled and boot without Startup-Sequence.
Thank you.
So you know why my 99% in initial CLI screen
I was aware of some possible problems in some extreme configuration but decided to not completely disable cache to avoid some unsightly slowdown.

For those who have problems then turn off cache..

Regards,
ross
ross is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 18:58   #17
ovale
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: milan / italy
Posts: 138
Congrats Ross for the release!
ovale is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 21:23   #18
ross
Omnia fert aetas

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 47
Posts: 514
Quote:
Originally Posted by ovale View Post
Congrats Ross for the release!
Thanks
ross
ross is offline  
Old 02 September 2017, 15:18   #19
IvanEBC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 389
Just dropping by to say a shout out, thanks so much Ross. I try to avoid watching demos for the first time in WinUAE or youtube, and it always crashed 1/2 way on my 4000/060, so it was very pleasing to see such a cool fun demo finally get to the end.

Excellent job, i'm sure you'll find more work out there if you look haha!
IvanEBC is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23150 seconds with 11 queries