English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Language

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2016, 14:02   #21
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
No big deal if it's converted automatically (i.e. it allows you to type lowercase).
Thank goodness.

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
What's horrible about that?
All caps is horrible to type and read.
Thorham is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 February 2016, 14:03   #22
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,058
Horrible to type? Not if you use a proper editor.

Hard to read? It's the same thing as coloured syntax highlighting in modern editors, alas that wasn't an option when E was created.
idrougge is online now  
Old 24 February 2016, 19:57   #23
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Horrible to type? Not if you use a proper editor.
And what editor would that be?

Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Hard to read?
It's not hard to read, it's ugly.
Thorham is offline  
Old 24 February 2016, 23:13   #24
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,058
Don't you have a language-sensitive editor on your Amiga? TurboText has modes for all kinds of languages.
idrougge is online now  
Old 25 February 2016, 10:28   #25
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 44
Posts: 2,433
If Amiga E has no integrated editor performing the conversion and requires to type things in caps, then i'll join Thorham - it's horrible.
meynaf is online now  
Old 25 February 2016, 17:08   #26
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Don't you have a language-sensitive editor on your Amiga? TurboText has modes for all kinds of languages.
Uppercase keywords is a terrible design choice. That you can remedy this with external software doesn't change that.
Thorham is offline  
Old 25 February 2016, 17:28   #27
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,058
I think what you're trying to say is that case-sensitive keywords is a horrible design choice.
idrougge is online now  
Old 25 February 2016, 19:08   #28
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,964
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
I think what you're trying to say is that case-sensitive keywords is a horrible design choice.
Perhaps that's a better way of saying it (case sensitivity in general is fine, of course).
Thorham is offline  
Old 25 February 2016, 19:15   #29
Meshuggah
1200 gamer

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Paris, France
Age: 40
Posts: 34
I really didn't mind the caps back in the day, you get used to it. I remember converting quite a bit of E to C in the late 90's, porting my stuff to Djgpp under DOS. Good times
Meshuggah is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16735 seconds with 13 queries