English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 February 2007, 22:04   #1
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Classic Workbench CF versions

Hello there Classic Workbench Team,

After discussing workbench installs upon CF cards (see prbs.hardware setting up CompactFlash IDE/PCMCIA)

Recently a few members have been experimenting with the idea of a Classic Workbench being run from a Fat formatted CF card via PCMCIA adapter.

The primary boot is from floppy whereby it has mounted the Fat95 system to read the card and then hands-over booting from there.

I would like to ask if its possible in making several CF CWB installs that initially boot from floppy but then once the fat driver is in to then continue loading from the CF card.

Personally I would love to see a few versions of WB 3.1 (LITE and PRO) using Newicons or MUI or even both LOL and obviously WB2 & 3

I appreicate any ideas and theories into pushing Classic Workbench further, if there is anyway that I or other could help I would be honoured to.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 24 February 2007, 22:14   #2
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
I've talked with Zetr0 about this and thought it would be a nice idea. Not only as an real hdd alternative, but also as a portable device. A cool CWB setup & tons of WHDLoad games, easily portable from one to another amiga.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 16:55   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Interesting idea.

As with the programmers ClassicWB version requested a while back, this is very much a customized and specialised requirement.

With this in mind, I'd be happy for anyone to create such packs and then pass them on to me for legalization and upload to the ClassicWB site.

I myself am only interested in maintaining the main packages already available, which are the default installs.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 19:27   #4
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
Excellent Bloodwych, thanks for your support its really appreciated.

now all that need to be done is develope a CWB setup to run from a FAT filesys!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:17   #5
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0
Excellent Bloodwych, thanks for your support its really appreciated.

now all that need to be done is develope a CWB setup to run from a FAT filesys!
Using file.device from the xfs package you could mount the HDF file as a drive from a FAT formatted CF. It shouldn't be too difficult to write a startup-sequence that would mount everything and continue the boot process from the HDF. I'll be getting a PCMCIA CF adapter next week so I might tinker with this but right now I've got an other amiga project (Hombre) keeping me busy

Maybe someone else?
ppill is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:20   #6
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
i think that retro-nerd is close to getting a working prototye up... but it would be really cool for more input...
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:25   #7
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Always happy to help. Is there a working alpha/beta version?
ppill is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:27   #8
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
I believe that Retro-Nerd has a basic OS 3.0 system running as we speak
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:28   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
With the great help from Zetr0, this bootdisk startup-sequence seems to work:

Quote:
C:SetPatch >NIL:
C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 25
C:Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:
C:Assign >NIL: T: RAM:
mount CF0:
Assign >NIL: SYS: cf0:WBench
Assign >NIL: c: SYS:c/
Assign >NIL: libs: SYS:libs/
Assign >NIL: l: SYS:l/
Assign >NIL: devs: SYS:devs/
Assign >NIL: utilities: SYS:utilities/
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER
Assign S: CF0:Wbench/S
Execute CF0:Wbench/S/Startup-sequence

@ppill:

This HDF mounting sounds very interesting, i'm looking forward to see this stuff working on my PCMCIA card. Maybe you can do a nice CWB setup for us.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:37   #10
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Code:
C:SetPatch >NIL:
C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 25
C:Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM: ;that's not an issue but usually you assign ENV to ram:env/ so you need to make a directory first

C:Assign >NIL: T: RAM:
mount CF0:
Assign >NIL: SYS: cf0:WBench
Assign >NIL: c: SYS:c/
Assign >NIL: libs: SYS:libs/
Assign >NIL: l: SYS:l/
Assign >NIL: devs: SYS:devs/
Assign >NIL: utilities: SYS:utilities/
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER
Assign S: CF0:Wbench/S
Execute CF0:Wbench/S/Startup-sequence ;how does this s-s look like?
ppill is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:44   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
It's the standard WB 3.0 startup-sequence. As for the ENV case: This was not my entry, i used this from the bootdisk, which comes with my PCMCIA adapter. I will change it as you said.

Code:
; $VER: startup-sequence 39.9 (9.8.92)

C:SetPatch QUIET
C:Version >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15
FailAt 21

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards
Assign >NIL: REXX: S:
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER

IF NOT EXISTS SYS:Fonts
  Assign FONTS:
EndIF

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors
  IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
    DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly
  EndIF

  C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s"
  Execute T:M
  C:Delete >NIL: T:M
EndIF

SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:IPrefs

C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
  Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 06 March 2007 at 01:17.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 05 March 2007, 23:54   #12
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Code:
; $VER: startup-sequence 39.9 (9.8.92)

C:SetPatch QUIET ;You've already done this in the previous s-s
C:Version >NIL: ; and this
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 15 ; same here
FailAt 21 ; don't need it

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys ;better do this in the previous s-s
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ ; need to reassign this as it's pointing to the floppy

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE
Resident >NIL: C:Execute PURE

Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV ;do this in the previous s-s
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T ; same here
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards ; again
Assign >NIL: REXX: S: ; these assigns are already in place
Assign >NIL: PRINTERS: DEVS:Printers ; =
Assign >NIL: KEYMAPS: DEVS:Keymaps; =
Assign >NIL: LOCALE: SYS:Locale ; =
Assign >NIL: LIBS: SYS:Classes ADD ; =
Assign >NIL: HELP: LOCALE:Help DEFER ;= 

IF NOT EXISTS SYS:Fonts
Assign FONTS:
EndIF

BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVSOSDrivers/~(#?.info)

IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors ;replace from here
IF EXISTS DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly ;
DEVS:Monitors/VGAOnly ;
EndIF ;

C:List >NIL: DEVS:Monitors/~(#?.info|VGAOnly) TO T:M LFORMAT "DEVS:Monitors/%s" ;
Execute T:M ;
Celete >NIL: T:M ;
EndIF ;to here with bindmonitors from aminet

SetEnv Workbench $Workbench
SetEnv Kickstart $Kickstart
UnSet Workbench
UnSet Kickstart

C:IPrefs

C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

Resident Execute REMOVE
Resident Assign REMOVE

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
ppill is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:05   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Many thanks for the hints, ppill. I will try this out. Yes, i saw the double assigns. But it causes no troubles, so far.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:13   #14
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
Many thanks for the hints, ppill. I will try this out. Yes, i saw the double assigns. But it causes no troubles, so far.
You're welcome.
ppill is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:19   #15
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
But i'm far away to be an expert, ppill. To be on the safe side: Can you post both corrected startup-sequences for the bootdisk & WB as files? I want to copy them over and try again.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:20   #16
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
But i'm far away to be an expert, ppill. To be on the safe side: Can you post both corrected startup-sequences for the bootdisk & WB as files? I want to copy them over and try again.
Just editing them now (you're a mind reader or somethin' ? )
ppill is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:37   #17
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australian in London
Age: 42
Posts: 12,601
Hey Retro-Nerd,

Do the "Big Grin" Smiles in your post #11 also come across ok

hehehe

No honesty, good work my friend
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:41   #18
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD
Hey Retro-Nerd,

Do the "Big Grin" Smiles in your post #11 also come across ok

hehehe
The typical smilie problem with the forum software. Looks funny, i know.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:52   #19
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Australian in London
Age: 42
Posts: 12,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd
The typical smilie problem with the forum software. Looks funny, i know.
Use code instead of quote
DamienD is offline  
Old 06 March 2007, 00:59   #20
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 37
Posts: 1,158
Code:
C:SetPatch >NIL:
C:AddBuffers >NIL: DF0: 25

Resident >NIL: C:Assign PURE

C:MakeDir RAM:T RAM:Clipboards RAM:ENV RAM:ENV/Sys
Assign >NIL: ENV: RAM:ENV/
Assign >NIL: T: RAM:T/
Assign >NIL: CLIPS: RAM:Clipboards/

C:Mount CF0:
Assign >NIL: SYS: CF0:WBench/

Assign >NIL: ENVARC: SYS:Prefs/Env-Archive
C:Copy >NIL: ENVARC: RAM:ENV ALL NOREQ

Assign >NIL: C: SYS:C/
Assign >NIL: Libs: SYS:Libs/
Assign >NIL: L: SYS:L/
Assign >NIL: S: SYS:S/
Assign >NIL: Devs: SYS:Devs/
Assign >NIL: Utilities: SYS:Utilities/
Assign >NIL: Rexx: S:
Assign >NIL: Printers: DEVS:Printers/
Assign >NIL: Keymaps: DEVS:Keymaps/
Assign >NIL: Locale: SYS:Locale/
Assign >NIL: Libs: SYS:Classes/ ADD
Assign >NIL: Help: LOCALE:Help/ DEFER

Resident Assign REMOVE

C:BindDrivers
C:Mount >NIL: DEVS:DOSDrivers/~(#?.info)
C:BindMonitors
C:IPrefs
C:ConClip

Path >NIL: RAM: C: SYS:Utilities SYS:Rexxc SYS:System S: SYS:Prefs SYS:WBStartup SYS:Tools SYS:Tools/Commodities

IF EXISTS S:User-Startup
Execute S:User-Startup
EndIF

C:LoadWB
EndCLI >NIL:
This should work... fingers crossed

Before replacing the old s-s copy the two files ram:env/Workbench and ram:env/Kickstart to CF0:WBench/Prefs/Env-Archive/ after boot up; install BindMonitors (copy it to CF0:WBench/c/);

There's still room for improvement (mass assigns, moveSYS commands, botting from RAD: etc.) but this should be fine for now I guess
ppill is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WHDLoad versions of Workbench Djay project.WHDLoad 3 04 October 2011 04:39
Classic Workbench for A4000T fitzsteve project.ClassicWB 5 28 July 2011 10:33
classic workbench versions cosmicfrog project.ClassicWB 0 29 March 2010 08:03
Exoticons with Classic Workbench 68K Versions Kitty New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 28 October 2009 20:59
Workbench Versions Stigodump New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 19 July 2005 20:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09613 seconds with 15 queries