English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 March 2018, 14:46   #1
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 555
Hardisk Games with problems

in working on my GameBase collection dedicated to Amiga Games installed on Harddisk i found some problems in assigns don't detected, ignored and other things.

Now i have partly resolved, but i found problem with:

Indy3: The Manual said: to install the game copy the content of the three disks in HD and run from it.
With various cracked versions don't work because the game search "disk 1" and also with assignement continue to ask this disk.
I revolved with IPF, but it is not what i wanted because i/you lost the time to read the manual to search the code protection.

Hired Guns: It is the same. With IPF is ok, but with various cracked version after regolar installation and assign, the game open with red screen and floppy disk that search diskettes.

I would like insert many more titles that today there isn't because i found this problem to run it with in mostly case assigns ignored
Seiya is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 March 2018, 14:51   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,907
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
Indy3: The Manual said: to install the game copy the content of the three disks in HD and run from it.
With various cracked versions don't work because the game search "disk 1" and also with assignement continue to ask this disk.
I revolved with IPF, but it is not what i wanted because i/you lost the time to read the manual to search the code protection.
All cracked Indy 3 versions I've seen so far use a (rather dirty) crack patch which needs to be copied and run from HD as well. Check startup-sequence on disk 1 to see how this file is called (it's usally just a very small binary).
StingRay is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 15:07   #3
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 555
Sorry, it's not assign, it was crack code protection about Italian version. It require Translation note also with crack.
I used ipf version so, at leat it works and with this text file you can play with it.
Seiya is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 15:17   #4
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,906
Hired Guns isn't especially easy to crack. I don't remember the details but i should have a working HD version somewhere ; I can probably zone it to you if you want.
meynaf is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 15:22   #5
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,907
There were lots of non-working Hired Guns versions indeed. But the game wasn't really hard to crack if you just took a bit of care.
StingRay is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 15:28   #6
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 40
Posts: 4,762
HG has several hidden inside protection checks, I remember Scott Johnston was very proud of it. But I also remember I had a working cracked version that I completed.
Predseda is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 15:30   #7
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,907
So have countless other games. Usually the coders of the protections totally overestimated the quality of their protections.

Edit: I have cracked HG as well after noticing the bad cracks back in the day (TM) and it didn't take me long. And I've completed the game too.
StingRay is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 15:32   #8
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,977
Seiya had not already discussed and solved the problem on site italian Amigapage?

Script:
Assign "Indy 1:" ""
Indy

Indiana Jones III HD Start

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 16:59   #9
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 555
yes, but, i remember better that was italian crack version that don't work properly.
Seiya is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 17:02   #10
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 555
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Hired Guns isn't especially easy to crack. I don't remember the details but i should have a working HD version somewhere ; I can probably zone it to you if you want.
i used ipf version and it seems not require code protection, however, if you have cracked working games better to have it.
I don't know if this game, as original, at some point require code to go on.
Seiya is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 17:18   #11
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
yes, but, i remember better that was italian crack version that don't work properly.
No, the request for the disk "Indy 1" it was created on some crack (Italian),the original game does not ask for the disc "Indy 1". Even some English crack do not require disk. If you are a little 'practical with a hexadecimal editor you can delete the disk request on the crack file.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 19:39   #12
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 555
no, you don't understand now.
i refering to Translate notes, che code protection that doesn't work even with crack.
Seiya is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 20:58   #13
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,977
Non capisco, scrivi in italiano !
-------------------------
I do not understand, write in Italian!
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 21:23   #14
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 555
ho detto che la versione craccata italiana non funziona il crack come si deve e devi usare uno speciale manuale che contiene i codici di protezione. Quindi ho usato i file IPF per evitare di fare assign, ma poi devi perdere un sacco di tempo a usare questi codici che sono anche po' subdoli da interpretare (la tabella codici originale non può essere letta via pdf, era un foglio di carta particolare).
Seiya is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 21:29   #15
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seiya View Post
ho detto che la versione craccata italiana non funziona il crack come si deve e devi usare uno speciale manuale che contiene i codici di protezione..
No, la versione craccata Italiana funziona benissimo se metti l'assign, se invece lo modifichi con un editore esadecimale funziona anche senza assign, nel mio video allegato sopra ho usato la versione craccata italiana con l'assign.

-----------------------------------

No, the Italian version works very well if you put the assignment, if instead you modify it with a hexadecimal editor it works even without assignment, in my attached video above I used the Italian version with the assignment.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 21:32   #16
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 607
Even if French release : Indy3 working from HD
malko is offline  
Old 21 March 2018, 22:05   #17
Seiya
Registered User

Seiya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Italy
Posts: 555
Another game that refuse to start is Pinball Prelude. From floppy and WHD works perfecly, but installed on hd, no.
it doesn't find present, future and past table! Also the same errors usinga Amiga iso cd-rom
Seiya is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
80gb hardisk on the A1200 help Fabie support.Hardware 24 19 November 2010 16:22
A1200 hardisk off Fabie support.Hardware 2 08 November 2010 13:05
A1200 hardisk speed Fabie support.Hardware 6 24 February 2010 18:50
Installing Games On Hardisk A1200 gillyscfc New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 01 June 2007 00:33
ADF to amiga hardisk Jamie New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 02 April 2002 16:29

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08475 seconds with 15 queries