English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 December 2017, 12:47   #181
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
win7 trayicon does not appear in b10 - last seen in b8 (IIRC)
now I have to kill winuae with taskmanager.

taskbar icon - which appears when starting any program - does vanish
when playing an old FPS in fullscreenmode, it uses RenderDevice=D3DDrv.D3DRenderDevice
this is an old bug, cannot remember when it happened for the first time.

maybe related to DirectDraw I'm using as default in my winuae configs.

#1) in dx11 mode: minimized winuae window before starting the game.
after game exit, winuae window restores to normal window size, black screen, emulation paused

Last edited by emufan; 08 December 2017 at 12:59.
emufan is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 15:09   #182
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
win7 trayicon does not appear in b10 - last seen in b8 (IIRC)
Does winuae.7z fix it. (There was change in tray icon but MSDN document says feature is win7 supported. It looks like it really isn't...)

Quote:
now I have to kill winuae with taskmanager.
alt+f4?

Quote:
#1) in dx11 mode: minimized winuae window before starting the game.
after game exit, winuae window restores to normal window size, black screen, emulation paused
RTG or native window? Can you duplicate it?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Saghalie View Post
Having an issue where when I create a new config, all the descriptions on all of the configs disappear.

WinUAE issue or something else?
It broke in b9, will be fixed in next. (Nothing was lost, description is still in config file)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 15:55   #183
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does winuae.7z fix it. (There was change in tray icon but MSDN document says feature is win7 supported. It looks like it really isn't...)
yes, trayicon back. but no program-toolbar-icon in DirectDraw mode --> after game exit.
Quote:
alt+f4?
there was simply no way to get focus on winuae, so no alt+f4
Quote:
RTG or native window? Can you duplicate it?
happens in rtg and standard mode.
minimized window before game starts,
game exit -> winuae window in default size pops-up , black, pause mode.
can unpause and emulation continues

Last edited by emufan; 08 December 2017 at 16:05.
emufan is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 17:09   #184
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
happens in rtg and standard mode.
minimized window before game starts,
game exit -> winuae window in default size pops-up , black, pause mode.
can unpause and emulation continues
Do you have "pause when minized" ticked? If it continues normally after unpausing, whats the difference vs DX9 mode? Only the blank screen before unpausing?

EDIT: attach winuaelog.txt, thanks.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 08 December 2017 at 17:15.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 08 December 2017, 20:59   #185
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 199
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It broke in b9, will be fixed in next. (Nothing was lost, description is still in
config file)
OK Thanks. I did notice that the descriptions were still there but didn't have any issues with b9 (unless I missed b9 somehow).
Saghalie is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 11:52   #186
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,546
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you have "pause when minized" ticked? If it continues normally after unpausing, whats the difference vs DX9 mode? Only the blank screen before unpausing?
dx11 & 9 config -> misc -> minimized: paused & sound disabled ticked
if so, after game exit, winuae un-minimizes window and I get the paused black screen

dx11 & 9 config -> misc -> minimized: nothing ticked
if so, after game exit, winuae un-minimizes window and emulation is running

D3D with any "minimize" option, after game exit the winuae-toolbar-icon vanishs
emufan is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 14:38   #187
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
D3D or DirectDraw?

Anyway, logs and config required. I can't duplicate none of these.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 09 December 2017, 20:23   #188
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
D3D11 2D sprite routines added (that was boring..), both OSD and RTG HW cursor is now supported.

If you had D3D11 mode problems, download winuae.7z, test it and attach log if weird things still happen.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 07:07   #189
bladecgn
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Essen / Germany
Posts: 135
Since beta, the description of the config is not shown anymore, i.e. the box stays empty.
bladecgn is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 17:28   #190
Saghalie
Registered User

Saghalie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: FT Lewis, WA
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by bladecgn View Post
Since beta, the description of the config is not shown anymore, i.e. the box stays empty.
See a couple of posts above, Toni addressed this.
Saghalie is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 17:59   #191
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3600b11.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3600b11.7z

Beta 11:

- Updated to MSVC 2017 15.5
- Config file Description field caching broke in b9.
- Ignore WM_DEVICECHANGE messages during first 2 seconds when WinUAE GUI opens for the first time. Some systems seem to send spurious WM_DEVICECHANGE at program startup.
- Simple box art/screenshot config file support. (See http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=89014 for details.)
- Direct3D11 mode OSD/RTG HW cursor support. All basic features are now implemented. Improved vsync and custom shaders to do.
- D3D11 is now the default (=config file does not override it) if Windows 7 or newer.
- Entering and exiting GUI in D3D11 fullscreen mode restored wrong texture size.
- If Wait for Blitter is enabled and blit size makes no sense (larger than chip ram size), don't wait. (Fixes long delay in Vital / Mystic)

EDIT: D3D11 fullscreen won't work if DXGI 1.5+ is available.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 10 December 2017 at 20:27.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 18:28   #192
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 12,111
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- Simple box art/screenshot config file support. (See http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=89014 for details.)


...and it works a treat!!!

Sooooo much better than only having a "list" of games / configurations; though my memory it quite good but not perfect.

As they say, a picture paints a thousand words
DamienD is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 19:30   #193
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,959
General suggestion for betas: Could you also upload PDB symbol files for each executable?
mark_k is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 22:43   #194
Amiga68k
Registered User

Amiga68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 158
Toni,

In Beta 9 you introduced 'something' that made booting my configuration a lot quicker than before. This behaviour was also seen in Beta 10, but disappeared again in Beta 11.

I attached log files, but I find it hard to see any differences that might be related.

Slow (Beta 11) versus fast (Beta 10) is experienced after the log file mentions the Gary timeouts (for the second time) followed by

waiting_blits detected PC=00fad11a

After this line in the logging, slow (Beta 11) versus fast (Beta 10) can then be 'seen' when keeping an eye on the FPS counter (after the LoadModule reset). With Beta 11 this counter stays on 50, with Beta 10 this value fluctuates a lot and it even goes all the way up to 500 something (making the process quicker I assume).

Let me know if additional information is needed.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog - Beta 10.txt (46.2 KB, 36 views)
File Type: txt winuaelog - Beta 11.txt (46.4 KB, 37 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog - Beta 10.txt (12.2 KB, 30 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog - Beta 11.txt (12.2 KB, 32 views)
File Type: uae OS3.9_Amiga4000_68060_Picasso96.uae (14.0 KB, 34 views)
Amiga68k is offline  
Old 10 December 2017, 22:49   #195
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,959
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
- If Wait for Blitter is enabled and blit size makes no sense (larger than chip ram size), don't wait. (Fixes long delay in Vital / Mystic)
Could that check possibly be incorrectly triggered when using a config with >2MB chip RAM (in which case a blit of >2MB might actually be valid)?
mark_k is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 19:39   #196
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Could that check possibly be incorrectly triggered when using a config with >2MB chip RAM (in which case a blit of >2MB might actually be valid)?
It would not matter. Any program that uses >2M chip RAM is assumed to not be bad (write to blitter registers when blitter is already active) and would work with or without wait for blitter
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 19:42   #197
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
General suggestion for betas: Could you also upload PDB symbol files for each executable?
No, there is no space for those huge files (17M compressed!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Amiga68k View Post
In Beta 9 you introduced 'something' that made booting my configuration a lot quicker than before. This behaviour was also seen in Beta 10, but disappeared again in Beta 11.
Does it only happen in D3D11 mode? In plain A500/A1200 mode?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 11 December 2017, 20:49   #198
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 21,725
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3600b12.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3600b12.7z

Beta 12:

- Direct3D11 fullscreen + DXGI 1.5 works again (b11)
- D3D11 fullscreen -> GUI -> change resolution/display parameters -> exit GUI does not cause blank screen anymore.
- 68020 memory cycle exact CPU speed slider is again partially working, CPU speed can be reduced but not increased.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 December 2017, 08:48   #199
Amiga68k
Registered User

Amiga68k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Amsterdam
Posts: 158
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Does it only happen in D3D11 mode?
Yes:

Code:
FPS counter (my specific configuration):

          D3D9  D3D11

Beta 10    50   >200
Beta 12    50     50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
In plain A500/A1200 mode?
I tried to narrow it down to a specific Chipset Extra setting and the increase in speed is only seen when choosing "A4000T" specifically. For others (including A4000 and A1200) FPS counter remains stable around the 50 figure. I don't see a way to replicate this with plain A500/A1200 mode.

Hope that helps... and perhaps the FPS counter remaining stable is the desired value compared to the value fluctuating? The quicker boot time was a nice side-effect though...
Amiga68k is offline  
Old 12 December 2017, 17:49   #200
DualC
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Rimbo
Posts: 14
I saw eirlier in the messages 16 bit mode should work?, i have tried in latest beta 12 and my screen is black then i try to start it up in 16 bit mode.

But it works in 32 bit.
DualC is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE Development. Better than the real thing...yet? antiriad76 support.WinUAE 6 18 May 2017 14:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10171 seconds with 16 queries