English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2017, 06:30   #1
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Ray casting

is there a good ray casting tutorial for amiga?
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 12:41   #2
roondar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 3,406
I don't know of one, but isn't it effectively the same thing as on the PC, but adding C2P conversion?
roondar is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 13:06   #3
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
isn't it effectively the same thing as on the PC
That's exactly what is is, there is no "Amiga raycasting" at all.
StingRay is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 16:57   #4
zero
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: UK
Posts: 428
Well, on Amiga you usually do it into a chunky buffer in fastmem and then use C2P into chip mem, but that's the only real difference.

Bisquit on YouTube has some good tutorials on raycasting.
zero is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 17:36   #5
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,750
What does ray casting have to do with chunky graphics?
Thorham is online now  
Old 19 June 2017, 17:45   #6
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
What does ray casting have to do with chunky graphics?
Nothing per se - except that (assuming your rays are intersecting with vertical walls) you're processing the scene one column at a time, which is horribly inefficient if you're rendering to a planar framebuffer.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 16:35   #7
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Since Amiga is a word(16 bit) machine, was thinking about doing ray casting with this in mind, and maybe get rid of c2p
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 17:44   #8
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
Nothing per se - except that (assuming your rays are intersecting with vertical walls) you're processing the scene one column at a time, which is horribly inefficient if you're rendering to a planar framebuffer.
Yes, but why not just use integer based vectors? Seems faster than bitmap based ray casting, unless I'm wrong (never done it).
Thorham is online now  
Old 20 June 2017, 18:05   #9
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by sandruzzo View Post
Since Amiga is a word(16 bit) machine, was thinking about doing ray casting with this in mind, and maybe get rid of c2p
Sure, that's doable if you're rendering walls with flat shading - but as soon as you introduce texture mapping into the mix you have loads of shifting and masking to deal with before you can write a 16-bit word.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 18:15   #10
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
Sure, that's doable if you're rendering walls with flat shading - but as soon as you introduce texture mapping into the mix you have loads of shifting and masking to deal with before you can write a 16-bit word.
What's the actual use case for ray casting here? I'm thinking of ray casting as used in current 3D games...
Thorham is online now  
Old 20 June 2017, 18:15   #11
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Yes, but why not just use integer based vectors? Seems faster than bitmap based ray casting, unless I'm wrong (never done it).
I've written a raycaster but not done 3D graphics with vectors. The big draw of raycasting is simplicity - a simple step-by-step procedure for each column on the screen tells you which walls have to be drawn (just the first one you hit unless you're dealing with transparent textures), which texture column should be drawn, and at which scale. No need to depth-sort polygons, deal with backface culling, view cones, clipping and all the stuff that comes with polygon-based 3D graphics, even before you've added texture mapping into the mix.

(Just to be clear, I'm talking about raycasting as in Wolfenstein 3D here - Sandruzzo, is that what you meant?)
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 18:21   #12
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,750
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
Just to be clear, I'm talking about raycasting as in Wolfenstein 3D here
Right, now it makes sense. Didn't realize the term was used in that context.
Thorham is online now  
Old 20 June 2017, 18:35   #13
sandruzzo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Italy/Rome
Posts: 2,281
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
based 3D graphics, even before you've added texture mapping into the mix.

(Just to be clear, I'm talking about raycasting as in Wolfenstein 3D here - Sandruzzo, is that what you meant?)
Yes. I meant that

Maybe we some good lookup table we should be able to do texture mapping word based.
sandruzzo is offline  
Old 20 June 2017, 21:32   #14
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 3,516
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
Sure, that's doable if you're rendering walls with flat shading - but as soon as you introduce texture mapping into the mix you have loads of shifting and masking to deal with before you can write a 16-bit word.
What if we use just one bitplane texture?
saimon69 is offline  
Old 21 June 2017, 01:06   #15
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
What if we use just one bitplane texture?
We still have the problem of assembling a 16-bit word from 16 independently selected texture pixels - so still lots of masking and shifting.
robinsonb5 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RAY Poker by JS-Soft tekopaa request.Old Rare Games 11 28 March 2021 10:59
Want to start ray-tracing watertonian support.Apps 48 27 January 2014 09:38
A4000T Mainboard X-ray X-ray Amiga scene 9 30 May 2007 20:42
RAY Poker by JS-Soft Bamiga2002 request.Old Rare Games 8 18 January 2005 23:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:06.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.21373 seconds with 15 queries