English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 November 2019, 20:47   #21
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjmann14 View Post
I just ordered a adapter for each system and customized the plug.
This would be cool plug as it has enough pins and retro feel!

https://rover.ebay.com/rover/0/0/0?m...2F252442388009
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 21:27   #22
ross
Per aspera ad astra

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 49
Posts: 2,229
As from link comments seems a 720p upscaler.
And as 'no lag' is probably a line buffer memory device.
How this can work properly on 288p PAL is absolutely not clear to me (well, can work, but is visually acceptable?).
Different if it was supporting 1080p where a 270x4 scale is more that adeguate for an Amiga progressive PAL 50HZ overscan display.
ross is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 21:29   #23
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,963
Would be good to have a video demonstration of speed of video...
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 21:44   #24
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
I'll see what I can do about that. I'll try getting a video of kid chaos in action. That should be fast enough to make a good test.
I've Already been playing it, but I don't mind showing a video. =)
It will also show off the ability to do PAL nicely.

Last edited by kjmann14; 14 November 2019 at 23:12.
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 07:18   #25
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjmann14 View Post
4. Yes it takes care of pal/ntsc converstion.
Oh no? Really? It makes 60Hz out of 50Hz? Whyyy.. HDMI supports both frame rates. :-(
Jope is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 08:41   #26
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,393
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjmann14
4. Yes it takes care of pal/ntsc converstion.
Pretty pointless device then, unfortunately.

Quote:
Originally Posted by kjmann14 View Post
3. It requires 5 volt @ 1amp
That might be the rated output of the power supply, surely the circuit wouldn't actually draw that.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 15 November 2019, 11:30   #27
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 113
I did a little research about these Pound/Hyperkin/LevelHike cables. They all seem to use the same generic chipset and treat 240p as 480i which of course ruins image quality (scrolling blur) and from what I could find out they all have 2-5 frames of lag. However, I stumbled upon the soon to be released RAD2x cable that looks pretty promising, but almost twice as expensive as the LevelHike one. Might be worth it though, they claim it interprets the 240p signal correctly and processes this as a progressive scan image and then line doubles this to 480p. It might be a good option for those who doesn't want to spend the money on an OSSC.

[ Show youtube player ]
jbilander is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 17:32   #28
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
I have a video of kid chaos in action, but the video is too big to upload and you tube quality sucks. Any suggestions?

Also, I have read about the known sound issues in these adaptors due to heat and have come up with a solution.
I put a ras-pie heat sync on the audio conversion chip with a small 486 cooling fan over the vent opening and so far after 6 hours of play, I've had no problems.
kjmann14 is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 18:31   #29
jbilander
Registered User

jbilander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 113
Nice, what video format do you have the source in?. With the free handbrake software (open source video transcoder) you can encode a mp4 (H.264) with high quality settings (high profile) that youtube processes nicely provided you have the source in high res. With youtube you'll have to wait until HD transcoding is done of the mp4, normally takes a few more minutes after the video is first available as 360p. Two other options: Vimeo or public share the file on Google Drive.
jbilander is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 18:36   #30
kjmann14
Registered User
kjmann14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Oregon, USA
Posts: 87
Here's the vimeo upload. It still looks like frames were dropped on the upload, so it looks better than this in person.

kjmann14 is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 20:13   #31
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 816
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Oh no? Really? It makes 60Hz out of 50Hz? Whyyy.. HDMI supports both frame rates. :-(

The vast majority of TVs on the NTSC market won't display 50Hz over HDMI. They usually just display a blank screen or a message "Change source resolution", that's why. Usually very cheap Chinese TVs don't have this problem but they are far and few in between.
alenppc is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 20:21   #32
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,433
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
The vast majority of TVs on the NTSC market won't display 50Hz over HDMI. They usually just display a blank screen or a message "Change source resolution", that's why. Usually very cheap Chinese TVs don't have this problem but they are far and few in between.
I was under the impression that 50Hz is part of the HDMI spec.. :-D That's so weird that they would strip that feature out for North America.

https://hdmiforum.org/wp-content/upl...ntation-EN.pdf

Page 44 of the PDF
Jope is offline  
Old 20 November 2019, 20:52   #33
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 39
Posts: 816
One example is that I have a 2-year old 65" Philips TV which displays 50Hz over HDMI just fine except for the fact that it displays a huge banner over it stating "Please change source resolution" which cannot be dismissed and it covers about half of the screen. It's very annoying.


I also have an older TV that is so strict that it won't display NTSC at 50 Hz or even PAL at 60 Hz over composite.
alenppc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Scart RGB - HDMI Wachi support.Hardware 0 14 April 2019 20:06
Amiga RGB to SCART to HDMI question tlgrooms support.Hardware 13 10 August 2018 11:43
HDMI to RGB for 1084S? Nightfox support.Hardware 4 08 November 2016 17:15
RGB>SCART>HDMI issue. ashhhhh support.Hardware 8 25 March 2012 00:22
RGB to SCART to HDMI monitor VoltureX support.Hardware 6 09 January 2012 17:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08134 seconds with 14 queries