English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 May 2004, 01:29   #1
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
Best resolution for TV viewing?

I'm using an AGA Amiga displayed on a TV, and I would like to know what the best resolution to use is. I've been using High-Res Interlaced, but the flicker gets really annoying. High-Res noninterlaced throws off the aspect ratio, and Low-Res has that annoying scrolling feature, plus a lot of prefs programs are impossible to use with it.

Does anyone use a custom screenmode that works really well with Workbench on a TV? I've noticed on systems like the Dreamcast the flicker isn't as bad with their interlace. What gives??
th4t1guy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 May 2004, 03:24   #2
FromWithin
Music lord
FromWithin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Liverpool, UK
Age: 43
Posts: 595
Send a message via ICQ to FromWithin Send a message via AIM to FromWithin Send a message via MSN to FromWithin Send a message via Yahoo to FromWithin
Interlace flicker is exactly the same on your Amiga and your Dreamcast. The difference is the colours being displayed. Interlace flicker looks most severe with high-contrast images. Change your workbench to soft greys, or turn down the contrast on your TV and it will look better.
FromWithin is offline  
Old 29 May 2004, 05:02   #3
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 33
Posts: 1,049
Yeah I know what you mean about using a HIRES amiga on the TV SCREEN, it isn't the best and definately hurts the eyes.

thatguy: would be nice if you could post your results with your new colours. Tracking down a old amiga screen is kinda hard.
redblade is offline  
Old 29 May 2004, 11:25   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,552
You could use a 100Hz TV, it doesn't flicker at all in interlace mode.
thomas is offline  
Old 29 May 2004, 12:05   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
No special resolutions - you must use laced or hires (non-laced) displays on TVs.

This is why the ClassicWB packages have a hires aspect ratio version (icons & fonts proportioned for TV sets) and square pixel versions (Hires-Interlaced, PC resolutions, Productivity, DBL-PAL/NTSC etc). No other way around this issue.

The square pixel versions also include a utility called "MagicTV" which can be found on Aminet. This allows flicker in interlaced to be reduced significantly in screen modes with =<16 colours using contrast tricks connected with fromwithins post. Give it a go.

Never tried it, but I rather use hires than any interlaced on a normal TV.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 May 2004, 15:55   #6
pcGTW_Webmaster
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 925
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas
You could use a 100Hz TV, it doesn't flicker at all in interlace mode.
Not true, unfortunately. I own a 100Hz TV and interlaced modes aren't flicker-free. It really depends on the TV, only very expensive 100Hz TVs can display interlaced modes without flickering.
pcGTW_Webmaster is offline  
Old 29 May 2004, 23:16   #7
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
I'll check out that MagicTv program and let everyone know how it turns out. ClassicWB is great, but my flavor is more suited towards OS 3.9, so as long as I don't have any major problems, I'll stick with it.

If I decide to go with the 16 color screenmode, is there some kind of palette that puts everything in greyscale or similar so everything doesn't look like ass? I don't really want to install MagicWB, especially on top of OS3.9, mainly cause I have no idea how their icon stuff is built into that, but also because I like the OS3.9 icons better.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 30 May 2004, 09:06   #8
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
Well, MagicTV reduced the flicker significantly, although it's still slightly perceptive. I had to reduce my palette to 16 colors, but so far it's not too bad (I was using 32 colors before, and I can hardly tell the difference now). A quirk is that it changes the colors of the mouse pointer to all black.

In the docs, the author said something about working on an improved MagicTV that can display in HAM mode, but he's probably lost interest by now.
th4t1guy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ISO viewing dezmond New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 04 November 2009 04:02
Viewing / Editing 'M.O.N New' files terryhan request.Modules 1 29 November 2006 15:51
REQ: Automatic resolution change ; automatic resolution detection Borg_Number_One request.UAE Wishlist 3 21 August 2004 15:16
Few games don't switch resolution from video card to native amiga resolution! digital support.WinUAE 12 14 March 2003 14:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16903 seconds with 12 queries