English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 April 2004, 15:02   #1
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
A few questions I'm stuck with.....

I'm trying to do away with applications that open their own screen in P96, having everything open on the actual workbench.

So........

Firstly, is there an XPK compressor that works like powerpacker "decrunch header" option? Powerpacker/Imploder are useful for making executable files that decrunch themselves - ideal for placing several programs on a disk. I'm trying to find an XPK compressor that does something similar, but with no luck. None of them seem to add a decrunch header. If no such compressor exists, is there a utility that creates "decrunch headers" for exec files but doesn't open its own screen?

Secondly, is there a way to make PPaint open in a window on a P96 workbench? Looking at how it works, it seems unlikely as it needs custom 256 colour screens. At least it uses P96 resolutions.

Finally, has anyone got a decent hex editor for the Amiga? I'm still using ancient NewZap because I can't find a decent free one that accepts WB arguments.

Oh, and if anyone has the last release of Dpaint V (4 disks I think) if you could kindly place it in the zone I'd be most grateful.

Thanks for any help guys!
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 April 2004, 16:11   #2
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
DPaint 5 (v5.2) zoned.
Enverex is offline  
Old 15 April 2004, 16:27   #3
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks enverex, much appreciated.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 03:31   #4
gary
Junior Member
gary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 44
Posts: 278
I used NewZap until I found Deksid:

http://www.aminet.net/disk/moni/Deksid210.lha

It handles files and sectors from devices. It also disassambles and searches for hex/ascii strings. I don't really know what you mean by WB arguments though (icon tooltypes?). It accepts a filename as a command line parameter and can be used from within Directory Opus.
gary is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 12:57   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
That's a nice editor Gary, but it opens its own screen! Thanks for the link anyway.

What I mean by WB arguments is if the program can accept activated icons as arguments, so it can open a file via a popup menu in Scalos. These programs usually have drag and drop support also. You can also achieve this by using an Amiga dos command and calling the file path using %p, so that program would probably work. It's a Scalos thing.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 15:32   #6
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Try Deep-X for your xpk stuff, it's one of those programs that lurks in the background and automatically extracts xpk'd files when a program loads them, it also automatically compresses when files are saved, all configurable...

File-x is a good hex editor, a public keyfile was put on aminet...

No chance with dpaint unless you want to run it through the Amiga version of UAE...

deep-x and file-x are both on aminet, I would supply links but I'm a bit busy betatesting OS4 for the pre-release atm...

btw this was written using IBrowse 2.3 running under OS4 on my A1 (just rubbing it in)
Severin is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 16:06   #7
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Nice of you to take time out of your testing schedule Severin. I'll test if you send that A1 my way.

I've already got XFH and deepx - work well from within workbench but still can't replace powerpaker/imploders auto decrunch headers when it comes to creating demo/utility disks. What I was hoping for was something similar - place a lib or two on a 3.5" disk, place the packed file on their and simply double click to execute it. Looks like the usefulness of old Amiga utils never fully dies.

File-X I'm off to check out now.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 16:34   #8
Enverex
Fantasy Man!

Enverex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 1,318
Would that be an illegal beta version of OS4 then?
IBrowse is also still useless though as it doesn't support CSS.

D-Paint shouldn't be a problem though as it asks you what Window it can open on. Ok, so it uses its own Window, but it can be a RTG window. Multiple screens is one of the advantages of the Amiga...
Enverex is offline  
Old 16 April 2004, 17:28   #9
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Severin is an official tester me thinks.

It was Personal Paint I was asking about running in window mode. It was more for the P96 WinUAE ClassicWB to stop excessive screen mode changing in full screen mode - it's nice to have everything except games open on the desktop when it has 800x600 or higher resolutions to use. Of course LCDs don't like resolutions that are not native also. PPaint can however run RTG modes, but still re-sysncs the CRT monitor. Not a big deal, just me being fussy.

The normal Classic WBs for real Amiga's use Dpaint and other custom screen programs - I don't have a problem with this since they use PAL/ntsc/interlaced/multisysnc (in other words the same as a real Amiga WB on naitive Amiga hardware) so it's not an issue. Also as you said enverex, this is what the Amiga is all about.

That hex editor is great - don't need a licence key as it's been modified to GPL.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 16 April 2004 at 17:53.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 26 April 2004, 13:12   #10
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enverex

D-Paint shouldn't be a problem though as it asks you what Window it can open on. Ok, so it uses its own Window, but it can be a RTG window. Multiple screens is one of the advantages of the Amiga...
Just noticed Dpaint freezes in RTG modes - I don't think it can run in P96 unlike PPaint.

Do you know the differences between 5.0 and 5.2?

Dpaint 4.5/6 is apparently the most stable version of dpaint, but the player in dpaint V is superior as it was re-written from scratch. Shame we never got to see the 24-bit support in use due to commodore not pulling through with the hardware.

Does anyone happen to have tha last in the dpaint 4.x series?
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 26 April 2004, 19:54   #11
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bloodwych
It was Personal Paint I was asking about running in window mode.
[...]
PPaint can however run RTG modes, but still re-sysncs the CRT monitor. Not a big deal, just me being fussy.
PPaint does not have a "window mode". However, it supports RTG just fine - just make sure it uses the same resolution as the Workbench screen (see below). A good substitute for PPaint would be PfPaint (better suited for higher resolutions, 24bit support).

Quote:
It was more for the P96 WinUAE ClassicWB to stop excessive screen mode changing in full screen mode
That is not a problem if the programs use *identical* screenmodes. Switching between two 1024*768*16 screens is smooth and does not suffer from delays or monitor syncs (only opening a new screen does) - neither on my real Amiga nor on the 500mhz WinuAE setup I was running for a while.

Quote:
it's nice to have everything except games open on the desktop when it has 800x600 or higher resolutions to use.
I wouldn't want to miss multiple screens.

DPaint will not work properly under RTG btw.
Korodny is offline  
Old 26 April 2004, 20:24   #12
Frog
Junior Member

Frog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Posts: 1,263
Perhaps Perfect Paint handle to open his own window under WB ? (never try as it needs a gfx card)
http://gothic.fr.free.fr/amiga/index.html
One thing i'm sure, ADPro, ArtEffect and similar photoshop's like tool can be opened under WB.
Frog is offline  
Old 27 April 2004, 01:04   #13
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Thanks Korodny and Frog, great info.
Bloodwych is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help, I'm Stuck! Arnie support.Other 0 05 June 2012 18:50
Stuck in EOB2 LordBen support.Games 4 24 January 2012 12:27
I'm stuck already (4GB CF HD) Mick New to Emulation or Amiga scene 26 31 January 2011 18:19
Stuck in Dragonstone z00mba support.Games 1 17 May 2006 04:11
WHDLoad - Stuck! Parsec support.Apps 23 11 June 2003 01:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:45.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27965 seconds with 12 queries