English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2021, 11:24   #1
RetroSwan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Herne Bay
Posts: 4
Write protect configuration files

Hi all.

Is there a way of write protecting my main configuration file so it doesn't accidentally get written over. Tried setting it to read only in Windows but it can still be over written. Taken me a long time to set up hdd and whdload following hours of videos. Really don't want to do it again haha

Any advice is much appreciated.

I have taken a copy of my current config just in case.
RetroSwan is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 11:31   #2
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,384
Make a backup of it by copying and pasting in the same folder?
Foebane is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 11:35   #3
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,408
Which configuration file are you referring to?
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 12:46   #4
RetroSwan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Herne Bay
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Which configuration file are you referring to?
The main one you name and load to continue your build. I'm working through 14 tutorial videos, just finished no.3 and a accidentally saved over by mistake and had to start again.
RetroSwan is offline  
Old 18 February 2021, 12:59   #5
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
Doesn't a "configuration.backup" file get created in the path of your Configuration files?

Navigate there in Windows / File Explorer and take a look.
DamienD is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 11:56   #6
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italy)
Posts: 6,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroSwan View Post
The main one you name and load to continue your build. I'm working through 14 tutorial videos, just finished no.3 and a accidentally saved over by mistake and had to start again.
You can every time do a "Save As" and save adding to the name the date or the type of emulation and have them all available, see screenshot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Config.jpg
Views:	24
Size:	118.0 KB
ID:	70969  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 12:14   #7
RetroSwan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Herne Bay
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
You can every time do a "Save As" and save adding to the name the date or the type of emulation and have them all available, see screenshot
Cool, yeah I'll do something like that. Didn't know if there was a way of locking the configuration file from with winuae. While I'm here, can I get the software to boot straight into my preferred configuration instead of loading it each time? Thanks again.
RetroSwan is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 12:57   #8
Phantasm
Not a Rebel anymore
Phantasm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 342
Quote:
Originally Posted by RetroSwan View Post
can I get the software to boot straight into my preferred configuration instead of loading it each time? Thanks again.
you can create a shortcut and include the -f parameter as part of it so clicking on the shortcut will start a particular config.. eg i have the following in the target setting for my shortcut:



"C:\Program Files\WinUAE\winuae64.exe" -f a4000.uae
Phantasm is offline  
Old 19 February 2021, 14:58   #9
RetroSwan
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2021
Location: Herne Bay
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phantasm View Post
you can create a shortcut and include the -f parameter as part of it so clicking on the shortcut will start a particular config.. eg i have the following in the target setting for my shortcut:



"C:\Program Files\WinUAE\winuae64.exe" -f a4000.uae
thank you
RetroSwan is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 10:55   #10
Oxygene
Registered User

Oxygene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Croatia
Age: 45
Posts: 51
Perhaps Toni could implement "Save Incremental" option like the one in the newer verions of Cinema 4D ie. an option that when saving automatically adds increasing number (counter) as a suffix to filename? Just a thought.
Oxygene is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 18:17   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,625
Not overwriting read-only files can be added (read protection does nothing because when writing config file, old one is renamed as configuration.backup so there is never any actual overwriting happening)

Config file name is not going to magically change when writing. It would be only annoying. Copying whole configurations directory somewhere safe shouldn't be that difficult
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 21:13   #12
Oxygene
Registered User

Oxygene's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Croatia
Age: 45
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Config file name is not going to magically change when writing. It would be only annoying.
I personally have no need for such option in WinUAE, I just thought it might be useful to someone if added as additional button. I do find those options very useful in Cinema 4D (Save Incremental) and in FL Studio (Save New Version).

Anyway, you are the boss, so it's your decision.
Oxygene is offline  
Old Yesterday, 20:51   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,625
No new GUI buttons allowed unless it is really needed

Warning added. If saving config, file already exists and it is read-only: show yes/no warning dialog. No aborts, yes allows overwrite.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old Yesterday, 23:50   #14
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 3,121
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oxygene View Post
Perhaps Toni could implement "Save Incremental" option like the one in the newer verions of Cinema 4D ie. an option that when saving automatically adds increasing number (counter) as a suffix to filename? Just a thought.
On my side I try to avoid such counter and prefer, even if longer, to append to the name a time stamp token (yyyymmddhhmmss).
Regarding the OP issue, a simple script to copy/replace the config with a safe backup at WinUAE loading could do the trick I think.
malko is offline  
Old Today, 01:33   #15
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
As mentioned though, when you override a configuration file then "configuration.backup" gets created of the version before the save.

Surely that's enough i.e. one fall back?

Personally though, I hate it that WinUAE even does that... if I was to screw up a config, it's not difficult to re-create really.
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Write-protect a partition TuKo support.Apps 2 14 August 2019 19:38
Configuration files amiga_Forever support.FS-UAE 1 14 May 2017 17:07
How do I turn write protect off? methodman New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 24 April 2016 21:02
Removing write protection from files NovaCoder New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 29 November 2008 05:37
disc write protect = default Melroc request.UAE Wishlist 3 07 April 2004 20:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08292 seconds with 14 queries