English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 February 2021, 20:37   #521
Rotareneg
Registered User
Rotareneg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 207
Single non-gsync monitor here, no integrated graphics (desktop PC with antique i7-860 CPU.) In case it's something specific to the GPU BIOS, my card is an Asus Dual GTX 1660 Super Evo OC, DUAL-GTX1660S-O6G-EVO.

Last edited by Rotareneg; 24 February 2021 at 20:29.
Rotareneg is offline  
Old 21 February 2021, 21:03   #522
mcbpete
Zone Friend
mcbpete's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: London, England
Age: 38
Posts: 203
Send a message via MSN to mcbpete Send a message via Yahoo to mcbpete
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Confusing results. Do you also have G-Sync enabled and/or supported monitor? Just wondering if G-Sync disables it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcbpete View Post
MultiPlane Overlays supported

Specs:
Card - NVIDIA GeForce RTX 2080 Super
Driver version - v.461.40
OS - Windows 10 v20H2 (Build 19042.804)
Currently have G-Sync off - It seemed to keep randomly breaking hardware optimised video streaming (e.g. Youtube & Netflix) - there would be audio but just a black screen, and I didn't see the benefits of it anyway so have it disabled until further notice ....
mcbpete is offline  
Old 23 February 2021, 22:39   #523
bernd roesch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: germany
Posts: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
If you use Direct3D11 mode and Windows is 8.1/10: check if winuaelog.txt has log line "MultiPlane Overlays supported". If it has, report your display card and driver version, thanks.

NVidia supposedly supports MPO since 461.09 but IDXGIOutput2->SupportsOverlays() return FALSE here (Windows 10 19042, RTX3090, 461.40). MPO reduces latency in windowed mode by allowing front buffer rendering. (Note that only if application supports it, WinUAE won't until driver reports it being supported)

I have gforce 1030 and not this line in log. so seem only cards above 10xx series have this feature. I have too 461.40 driver
bernd roesch is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 18:44   #524
adiq22
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Poland
Posts: 12
GTX 1060 with 461.51 driver on Windows 10 Build 19042 - no trace of 'MultiPlane Overlays supported' entry in winuaelog. Enabling/disabling G-sync makes no difference.
Looks like nvidia made it exclusive to RTX series.
adiq22 is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 20:37   #525
Rotareneg
Registered User
Rotareneg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 207
On the Quadro driver release notes it says:

Quote:
Added new display features:
Multiplane Overlay--allows for the GPU hardware to composite the final image planes instead of the operating system's Desktop Windows Manager to reduce system latency. (Requires NVIDIA Quadro RTX and later GPUs; SDR currently supported, HDR support to follow)
So probably a Turing and up feature only, meaning RTX 20xx and GTX 16xx cards.
Rotareneg is offline  
Old 24 February 2021, 22:05   #526
Rotareneg
Registered User
Rotareneg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Kansas, USA
Posts: 207
On a related note: Chrome uses MPO, so on my system I can force vsync off in Chrome via the nvidia control panel and get tearing even in a window on tests like this one: https://www.testufo.com/photo#photo=...&stuttersize=0
Rotareneg is offline  
Old Today, 20:44   #527
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,457
@Toni:

Do these BETA series require the installation of DirectX 11 or an additional library? I was wondering, because when I run it on Windows 7 x86 Windows warns that a Direct3D DLL is missing and WinUAE does not run.

I'm worried, will this new version no longer support DirectX 9?
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old Today, 20:54   #528
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
@Toni:

Do these BETA series require the installation of DirectX 11 or an additional library? I was wondering, because when I run it on Windows 7 x86 Windows warns that a Direct3D DLL is missing and WinUAE does not run.

I'm worried, will this new version no longer support DirectX 9?
Standard reply: is this really 4.5 beta specific?

Sounds like the usual case: newly installed Windows. Direct3D9 has never been included out of the box. You need to install it manually.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old Today, 21:01   #529
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
@Toni:

Do these BETA series require the installation of DirectX 11 or an additional library? I was wondering, because when I run it on Windows 7 x86 Windows warns that a Direct3D DLL is missing and WinUAE does not run.

I'm worried, will this new version no longer support DirectX 9?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Sounds like the usual case: newly installed Windows. Direct3D9 has never been included out of the box. You need to install it manually.
...which has been removed by Micro$oft.

Don't worry, I've uploaded here

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post

Required - install "DirectX End-User Runtimes (June 2010)" for D3D9:

... https://mega.nz/file/kygQyRIB#AYfTvo...8WqnoMoWjnQPLQ
DamienD is online now  
Old Today, 21:24   #530
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
It still isn't 4.5 beta related.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old Today, 21:24   #531
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,581
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It still isn't 4.5 beta related.
I know... just doing what I usually do, helping others
DamienD is online now  
Old Today, 21:35   #532
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 42
Posts: 1,457
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It still isn't 4.5 beta related.
Yes, it's related! I installed the BETA version on top of an old version (4.2.1), and I have DirectX 9 installed. The old version works well.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I know... just doing what I usually do, helping others
Thank you, you are my friend too.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old Today, 21:40   #533
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,636
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Yes, it's related! I installed the BETA version on top of an old version (4.2.1), and I have DirectX 9 installed.
Read the first post again. Must always test with previous official version.
Both D3D9 and D3D11 are supported in Win7SP1.

Then, if it still happens, attach logs as usual. Following the rules reduces unnecessary noise.

btw, I wouldn't call copying executable as "installing"
Toni Wilen is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (1 members and 2 guests)
dazzleman
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 4.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 69 09 April 2019 19:31
WinUAE 3.4.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 464 20 December 2016 16:56
WinUAE 3.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 385 09 November 2015 00:06
WinUAE 2.4.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 223 09 May 2012 17:16
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 03:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09980 seconds with 16 queries