English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 February 2021, 12:12   #1
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
Portable mode (.INI) doesn't capture settings

Heya Toni,

I noticed this a long time ago but totally forgot to mention...

As the title says, portable mode i.e. the .INI file doesn't capture settings from the registry.

Someone who uses my collection had everything set up via the registry and decided to tick "Portable mode"; which created the .INI file but none of the settings were brought across.

When I created the .INI file for use in my collection, I had to populate manually.

Do you think you can rectify this?
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 February 2021, 20:38   #2
Foebane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Cardiff, UK
Age: 48
Posts: 2,384
Did I read correctly that you can force WinUAE to copy the Registry settings to the .INI file by including it in the command-line?
Foebane is offline  
Old 01 February 2021, 22:39   #3
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
...not that I know of.

I mean, to be honest it doesn't really bother me if it gets fixed or not, as I've manually created the .INI file that I require.

Also, there's a certain format that needs to be used as opposed to the registry. My collection .INI here:

Code:

[WinUAE]
ArtCache=1
ArtImageCount=2
ArtImageWidth=400
ConfigFile=1000 Miglia.uae
ConfigFileFolder=
ConfigFileSearch=
ConfigurationCache=0
ConfigurationPath=.\Configurations\
FloppyPath=.\Games\
GUIFullscreen=0
GUIPosX=80
GUIPosY=64
GUIResize=0
hdfPath=.\Hdf\
InputPath=.\InputRecordings\
KickstartPath=.\ROMs\
LuaPath=.\Lua\
MainPosX=283
MainPosY=84
PathMode=WinUAE
QuickStartCompatibility=1
QuickStartConfiguration=0
QuickStartMode=0
QuickStartModel=0
RecursiveROMScan=0
RelativePaths=1
RipperPath=.\Rips\
ROMCheckVersion=WinUAE 4.4.0 (2020.07.01)
SaveImageOriginalPath=0
SaveimagePath=.\SaveImages\
ScreenshotPath=.\Screenshots\
SoundDriverMask=3
StatefilePath=.\SaveStates\
Version=WinUAE 4.4.0 (2020.07.01)
VideoPath=.\Videos\

[DetectedROMs]
ROM_001=KS ROM v1.0 (A1000)(NTSC) (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.0 (A1000)(NTSC) (256k).rom"
ROM_002=KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(NTSC) rev 31.34 (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(NTSC) rev 31.34 (256k).rom"
ROM_003=KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(PAL) rev 31.34 (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.1 (A1000)(PAL) rev 31.34 (256k).rom"
ROM_004=KS ROM v1.2 (A1000) rev 33.166 (256k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.2 (A1000) rev 33.166 (256k).rom"
ROM_005=KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k) [315093-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.2 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 33.180 (256k).rom"
ROM_006=KS ROM v1.3 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 34.5 (256k) [315093-02] / "ROMs\KS ROM v1.3 (A500,A1000,A2000) rev 34.5 (256k).rom"
ROM_007=KS ROM v2.04 (A500+) rev 37.175 (512k) [390979-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.04 (A500+) rev 37.175 (512k).rom"
ROM_008=KS ROM v2.05 (A600) rev 37.299 (512k) [391388-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.05 (A600) rev 37.299 (512k).rom"
ROM_009=KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.300 (512k) [391304-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.300 (512k).rom"
ROM_010=KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.350 (512k) [391304-02] / "ROMs\KS ROM v2.05 (A600HD) rev 37.350 (512k).rom"
ROM_011=KS ROM v3.0 (A1200) rev 39.106 (512k) [391523-01/391524-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.0 (A1200) rev 39.106 (512k).rom"
ROM_012=KS ROM v3.0 (A4000) rev 39.106 (512k) [391513-02/391514-02] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.0 (A4000) rev 39.106 (512k).rom"
ROM_013=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.70 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.70 (512k).rom"
ROM_014=KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A500,A600,A2000) rev 40.63 (512k).rom"
ROM_015=KS ROM v3.1 (A1200) rev 40.68 (512k) [391773-01/391774-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A1200) rev 40.68 (512k).rom"
ROM_016=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k) / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A4000) rev 40.68 (512k).rom"
ROM_017=KS ROM v3.1 (A4000T) rev 40.70 (512k) [391657-01/391658-01] / "ROMs\KS ROM v3.1 (A4000T) rev 40.70 (512k).rom"
ROM_018=CD32 KS ROM v3.1 rev 40.60 (512k) / "ROMs\CD32 KS ROM v3.1 rev 40.60 (512k).rom"
ROM_019=CD32 extended ROM rev 40.60 (512k) / "ROMs\CD32 extended ROM rev 40.60 (512k).rom"
ROM_020=CDTV extended ROM v1.00 (256k) [252606-01/252607-01] / "ROMs\CDTV extended ROM v1.00 (256k).rom"
ROM_021=CDTV/A570 extended ROM v2.30 (256k) [391298-01] / "ROMs\CDTV-A570 extended ROM v2.30 (256k).rom"
ROM_022=CDTV extended ROM v2.07 (256k) / "ROMs\CDTV extended ROM v2.07 (256k).rom"
ROM_023=CD32 Full Motion Video Cartridge ROM rev 40.30 (256k) / "ROMs\CD32 Full Motion Video Cartridge ROM rev 40.30 (256k).rom"

<snip>
This thread is really just to let Toni know, and hopefully help others who suddenly tick "Portable mode" and wonder why their settings haven't been brought across...

Plus I'm surprised nobody has mentioned this before

Last edited by DamienD; 01 February 2021 at 22:46.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 12:52   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,625
It is currently by design, there is no "converter" between ini<>registry. It isn't totally trivial 1:1 conversion but will be done some day..
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 13:51   #5
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It isn't totally trivial 1:1 conversion but will be done some day..
Yeah I know from creating manually

Anyway, just thought I'd mention. If it occurs sometime in future then

...not really high priority at all.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 14:08   #6
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 690
I presumes its just a need to save the reg key, load up Notepad++ and copy and paste into the ini?
Mclane is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 14:11   #7
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,521
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
I presumes its just a need to save the reg key, load up Notepad++ and copy and paste into the ini?
Nope, the format is slightly different.

Not difficult to work out though...

If you want to see then look at my collection's .REG file and compare with the .INI file.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 February 2021, 15:53   #8
Mclane
Old retro god.

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 59
Posts: 690
Will do, thanks..
Mclane is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
portable.ini qrdziel support.FS-UAE 9 25 February 2020 01:57
Portable Mode and State Files MAD67 support.WinUAE 6 13 July 2018 15:51
Relative path in portable mode: bladecgn request.UAE Wishlist 2 01 October 2017 19:54
FS-UAE 2.8 Portable Launcher/arcade doesn't Launch on OS X Sierra... Panthros support.FS-UAE 8 09 January 2017 05:57
Best settings for Amiga music 'capture' ? wanderer support.WinUAE 10 19 September 2005 08:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12005 seconds with 15 queries