English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.OtherUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 January 2011, 21:04   #1
Welshieinnz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wellington/New Zealand
Posts: 37
Will we see UAE on the PS3?

So, now that the PS3 has been opened up to homebrew, what are the chances we will see UAE (or some version) running on the PS3?

Would be awesome truth be told
Welshieinnz is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 21:50   #2
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
yes.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 21:56   #3
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 47
Posts: 237
not an expert on PS3 but Linux with UAE should be the order of the day methinks, didn't linux run before Sony took away the "other OS" option?
PaulyQ is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 22:01   #4
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Quote:
Originally Posted by PaulyQ View Post
didn't linux run before Sony took away the "other OS" option?
Yes.
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]
TCD is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 22:18   #5
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 25
Posts: 657
Well linux has already been shown to be workiong on the PS3 via homebrew, unfortunately its far from perfect and has some bad side effects. Also the risk of bricking your PS3 seems quite high at the moment, many developers are holding back releasing due to the severe issues that could crop up if everyone got hold of it.

It would make more sense to just get Linux on the PS3 working and everyone use E-UAE rather than make UAE for the PS3, thats what i used to do before Sony removed Linux.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 22:57   #6
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 36
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welshieinnz View Post
what are the chances
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hungry Horace View Post
yes.
Awesome!

I hear there is a yes chance of rain tomorrow too

It'll happen (UAE on PS3), probably sooner rather than later.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 11 January 2011, 23:20   #7
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 25
Posts: 657
Well Linux is due to be back on PS3 this month, so everyone will have it then.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 00:09   #8
Welshieinnz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Wellington/New Zealand
Posts: 37
To be honest, it would be eve better if we could have it WITHOUT having to run via Linux, as in on the old Xbox.
Welshieinnz is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 00:13   #9
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 25
Posts: 657
Possibly, but im guessing E-UAE compatability would be much higher than making one for the PS3, in the long-run it'd probably work out better, but the main reason behind homebrew on the PS3 is Linux, thats why they hacked it in the first place, so most likely Linux will get all the attention when it comes out.
Dreedo is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 00:16   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,660
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Welshieinnz View Post
To be honest, it would be eve better if we could have it WITHOUT having to run via Linux, as in on the old Xbox.
That could happen.
FOL is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 00:32   #11
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,946
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dreedo View Post
Possibly, but im guessing E-UAE compatability would be much higher than making one for the PS3, in the long-run it'd probably work out better, but the main reason behind homebrew on the PS3 is Linux, thats why they hacked it in the first place, so most likely Linux will get all the attention when it comes out.
I think you're wrong there my friend. There is already a bunch of "signed" homebrew including Snes and Megadrive emulators. It's not going to be long before someone compiles UAE for the PS3.

Let's also be honest while some people want Linux on their PS3 the main reason there's so much interest is because of pirating.
seuden is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 00:50   #12
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 25
Posts: 657
Quote:
Let's also be honest while some people want Linux on their PS3 the main reason there's so much interest is because of pirating.
While this is true the Ps3 is hardly an ideal system for this.

As it uses Blu-ray, its games are exceptionally large, a standard internet connection using a torrent would take several days to download a blu-ray image, then you would have to have a USB device large enough to store a 25/50GB blu-ray image. I'm guessing most people couldn't be arsed with that.

True, but i just want Linux back. :P
Dreedo is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 00:57   #13
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,190
USB Device? There will be an ISO-Loader, which works from the internal HD. That's for sure.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 01:00   #14
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 25
Posts: 657
Mmmm yeah but then you have to plug your HDD into your PC, and then unplug it and plug it into your PS3 for every image file you transfer, plus it'll need to be at least 250GB+ to be worth using.

Anyway i'd never use it for pirating, so i'll always come up with some reason why it's impractical. :P
Dreedo is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 01:57   #15
seuden
uber cool demi god

seuden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Kent/England
Posts: 1,946
The games can and will be able to be stored and played from the internal and an external HDD. Call of Duty: Black Ops for eg. is around 14GB. Using usenet/private torrents you could have that overnight. You don't need to plug the HDD into your PC they can be transferred using a USB HDD or even using your home network.

I have over 20 games for my PS3 of which could be backed up to it then at a push of a button on my controller I could swap between games without getting off my sofa. It's similar to having a load of WHDLoad installs on your Amiga.

Last edited by seuden; 12 January 2011 at 02:02.
seuden is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 09:21   #16
Hungry Horace
Wipe-Out Enthusiast

Hungry Horace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 2,482
Some things.. I run my backups from external hd (1tb). I have ripped around 6 games, the largest was 20gb and the average size is nearer 12gb.

I don't think that makes it very hard to download and run pirated games.
Hungry Horace is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 10:09   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,768
I have a 250G Slim and its very tempting for some homebrew indeed!

I have no need to blag PS3 games, since I get most of mine on the cheap from Game or Cash Converters (last purchase was Brutal Legends for £4.99 - sweet sweet game) !

Although there are a couple of (older) PS3 titles that dont support a Hard Disk install, and I want to preserve my BluRay laser =)


So when will I get mine sorted? well to be honest, probably when some smart plug gives me PS1/PS2 emulator that will run ISO's from the drive (or preferably network) then I can be very chuffed indeed - and promptly look at getting a the largest 2.5" Harddisk I can find or yet another 2TB HD for the network!

I would like to have a little play with *nix distro on it, as well as DosBox/C64/Specky/SNES/Megadrive/32x/MegaCD/MAME/NeoGeo/CPS1/CSP2/GBA/N64 to name a few...

be absolutely great if there was a GameCube emulator released for it - and dare I say XBMC ? renamed to PSMC =D))


small things....
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 12:05   #18
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 400
I'll let you know tomorrow, once my friend with a PS3 gets back to me with some info.
Vairn is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 12:38   #19
deicidal
Registered Insane

deicidal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ununited Kingdom
Posts: 787
Well I am running my PS3 with a 500GB HDD in it, I think anyone with children will appreciate the ability to back the games up, plus its more convienant than swapping disks and less wear and tear on the BR drive. Personally on those little picture of do's and dont's for optimal perfomance they have a picture of a child rubbing there dirty mits accross the disk with a cross through it.

But I am looking forward to emulator capabilities of the PS3 now its been pretty much completely hacked, think it could well end up been the new xbox for emulation but I think we are bit off that yet until the hombrew devs start to really get into the capabilities of the console.

Last edited by deicidal; 12 January 2011 at 12:42. Reason: forgot to the point of why I was posting duh!
deicidal is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 15:37   #20
Dreedo
Registered User
Dreedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Age: 25
Posts: 657
Unfortunately even if you own the game backups are still illegal, as your making copies of the disk. Not that Sony will ever know that. :P I certainly dont see anything wrong in it if you already own the game. If my disk broke i would be glad of a copy, luckily blu-ray disks are stronger than DVD's it seems.

UPDATE: Seems that Sony have filed a restraining order against Geohot and Failoverflow asking them to remove the firmware and key from the internet.

UPDATE#2: It appears that in the terms and conditions, Sony have the right to disable your console if they feel the need. So far no consoles have been affected, but its expected that Sony will ban consoles running CFW and possibly stop them from booting up anymore. Removing an internet connection from your PS3 will solve this, but if you have CFW on your PS3 and its connected to the internet, when you boot up, it will tell Sony that you are running a hacked console.

Last edited by Dreedo; 12 January 2011 at 15:54.
Dreedo is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
UAE for the PS3 released Welshieinnz News 40 23 November 2013 00:26
Ps3 Uae JonSick support.OtherUAE 96 01 January 2011 02:51
E-UAE on PS3 CHook/OTT support.OtherUAE 10 03 August 2008 22:13
PS3 with Workbench. Lernatix request.UAE Wishlist 19 09 February 2008 16:06
Swos on PS3? super_hoops1967 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 32 21 December 2007 11:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09688 seconds with 13 queries