English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Asm / Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 May 2018, 11:14   #1
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
Amiga Assembly extension for Visual Studio Code

I've just started a new project of an extension for Visual Studio Code.

Visual Studio Code Extension
GitHub

The initial features are editor highlighting (existed already but not totally accurate) and code formatting.
It's a work in progress... I want to add some hover for documentation on asm and Amiga registers.

I'm new to Amiga assembly language so if you have some remarks or requests, or if you want to contribute, you're welcome !

Just in a few lines, why ... (you can skip this part ;-))
Well, after 25 years in my basement, my Amiga 500 is clean and running.
Back in the days, i wanted to create a copperlist, but 2mn of reboot after a messy code was too much.
Now I have FS-UAE with a save state (0.5 sec for restore), vscode and all the tutorials from Photo (thanks a lot !).
But in episode 13, it begins by a code cleaning - and after 20 years of being a software developer, I told myself, my code is really a mess !
I did not want to format it by hand...
So I created this extension, maybe it can be useful to someone else.
It will be for me to end the episode 13 !

Last edited by prb28; 11 May 2018 at 11:24.
prb28 is offline  
Old 11 May 2018, 11:25   #2
kamelito
Zone Friend
kamelito's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: France
Posts: 918
there is the one below but it is not working with the latest VS
https://marketplace.visualstudio.com...23456.Linguist
kamelito is offline  
Old 11 May 2018, 19:42   #3
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,499
Anything wrong with this one?

https://marketplace.visualstudio.com...attersall.m68k

Works well for me.
plasmab is offline  
Old 11 May 2018, 20:04   #4
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
I was using this one, it works pretty well, but there is no code formatting.
And if you want to align your instructions and comments, it may be painful.
prb28 is offline  
Old 09 August 2018, 11:17   #5
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
There is preview of the 0.7 version with:
  • build and launch of fs-uae
  • line debugger
  • Memory dump
  • disasembler

The example workspace:
https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amiga-wks-example

The prebuilt binaries for osx/debian64/windows64:
https://github.com/prb28/vscode-amig...ample/releases
prb28 is offline  
Old 09 August 2018, 13:21   #6
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,499
Excellent work!
plasmab is offline  
Old 10 August 2018, 00:28   #7
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
Thanks !

The FS-UAE gdb remote protocol adapter is mainly a work from Daniel Collin:
https://github.com/emoon/fs-uae
prb28 is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 16:59   #8
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,499
Any chance the marketplace can be updated with 0.7?

got this going with stock fs-uae but no debugging? is there a windows build of the fs-uae you use?

EDIT: found the prebuilt binaries but couldnt get debugging to work. odd.

Last edited by plasmab; 23 August 2018 at 17:33.
plasmab is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 19:47   #9
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
For now, I've no prevision date for the 0.7 release to the market place.
I will like it to be "enough" to fill the basic needs of a developer (need some feedback or use it more to see what's missing).

Maybe, it should be synchronized with an official version of fs-uae with the remote debugging option (it is not only on my hands).

So, now, I'm finishing the stack trace (call trace) in the debugger by backporting some code from winua 4.0.

Now, for your issue on windows, you may have the wrong version of the extension (fs-uae and the extension must be in sync) or a bad path in the .vscode/settings.json and .vscode/launch.json files.

Please try this :
I hope this will do the trick !
prb28 is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 20:32   #10
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,499
Not sure what I did but i got it going. Excellent work!!!!

I really really wish FS-UAE didnt capture the mouse though.. it makes me want to throw my keyboard through the monitor.
plasmab is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 21:10   #11
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
Great ! (thanks)

For the mouse... I'm used to it but maybe with the option : automatic_input_grab=0, it will be better.
I didn't try but you can add it to the .vscode/launch.json.
prb28 is offline  
Old 23 August 2018, 22:25   #12
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,499
Good shout. Love this work. Wish that hatari had gdb support then we could reuse this for Atari dev too.
plasmab is offline  
Old 02 September 2018, 12:25   #13
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
80% of my code could work for an Atari editor/debugger ... just some work to do.
But It my early days I was an amiga guy ;-).
prb28 is offline  
Old 02 September 2018, 12:40   #14
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
80% of my code could work for an Atari editor/debugger ... just some work to do.
But It my early days I was an amiga guy ;-).
It would work perfectly if the Atari emulators used GDB type debugging. But Hatari has its own entirely different format.
plasmab is offline  
Old 02 September 2018, 12:45   #15
prb28
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: France
Posts: 12
Of course, the implementation of the gdb remote protocol on the Hatari emulator is needed, but if it already has a debugger, "only" (maybe not easy) the communication part has to be done.
prb28 is offline  
Old 02 September 2018, 12:48   #16
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 2,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by prb28 View Post
Of course, the implementation of the gdb remote protocol on the Hatari emulator is needed, but if it already has a debugger, "only" (maybe not easy) the communication part has to be done.
Indeed. Would be great at some point. Great work.
plasmab is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
assembly code to test for assign (2.0+) jotd Coders. System 2 27 December 2017 23:16
very basic C/ASM/Visual Studio hand holding Sephnroth Coders. C/C++ 2 08 March 2016 20:15
Amiga Audio/Visual KhneFr request.Other 6 03 January 2015 10:25
Profiling WinUAE with Visual Studio 2013 mark_k support.WinUAE 3 14 January 2014 20:26
amiga visual editor thinlega request.Apps 1 22 January 2003 15:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07944 seconds with 15 queries