English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Apps

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 January 2013, 21:54   #21
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
you have kickstart 3.0 and workbench 3.1
Cheers
mancity is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 January 2013, 22:02   #22
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,403
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomas View Post
That's not true. All Workbench versions from 2.1 on have CrossDOS included, even 4.0 and 4.1.
You are right. This was an old myth I somehow fell back into. Thanks for clearing up my bull-saying.
Akira is offline  
Old 01 January 2013, 22:58   #23
k4lmp
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Church Hill, TN USA
Posts: 51
If you went into 'Storage>DOS Drivers' and dragged PC0 into 'Devs>DOS Drivers' and rebooted, it will load the CrossDOS upon reboot. When you insert an Amiga disk, you will get 'PC0???' because it is an Amiga disk, not a PC disk. This is normal. If that is what you got when you installed the Amiga disk, CrossDOS is working.
k4lmp is offline  
Old 01 January 2013, 23:15   #24
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Found a disk and formatted it correctly in windows, moved a bump image onto the dik and put it in my Amiga and it finds it fine. Do I need a program to view the image though?

Quite exciting this now I know I can add stuff.
mancity is offline  
Old 01 January 2013, 23:46   #25
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
whats a bump image?


do you mean bmp image?
roy bates is offline  
Old 01 January 2013, 23:52   #26
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
whats a bump image?


do you mean bmp image?
Sorry, yes I meam bitmap. My iPad auto-corrected my wrongly.
mancity is offline  
Old 02 January 2013, 12:07   #27
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 718
you could add a bmp datatype to your system, which would add bmp decode functionality to all pieces of software supporting the datatype system (e.g. MultiView).

have a look on aminet, for instance..
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 02 January 2013, 13:46   #28
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
you could add a bmp datatype to your system, which would add bmp decode functionality to all pieces of software supporting the datatype system (e.g. MultiView).

have a look on aminet, for instance..
I have seen 'Multiview' in the right click menu and wodnered what it was. I will have a look at Aminet tonight for what you mention so hopefully it will then open to view on that.

Thank you
mancity is offline  
Old 02 January 2013, 23:25   #29
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
I seem to be getting a little more of an idea about this now and have managed o move a lha file across and un-zip it using the shell.

If I download a game for example, do I need to use another program to transfer it to a blank floppy, or can I just move the unzipped file to my HDD and run it from there? It doesn't seem that I can run things?
mancity is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CrossDos omnigate support.Apps 2 08 August 2011 00:35
CrossDOS 7 Graham Humphrey request.Apps 5 20 May 2006 19:57
CrossDos Stigodump New to Emulation or Amiga scene 4 22 July 2005 09:04
CrossDOS (again) witchmaster support.Apps 10 11 June 2005 16:11
CrossDOS mikni support.Apps 4 03 September 2001 12:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14125 seconds with 14 queries