English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 March 2010, 00:54   #1
Kakaboy
Amiga life crisis
Kakaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 256
What accellerator do I need ?

Hi people ,

I have a bog standard A1200 with 2.3gig CF HDD .

I want to play ALL the Whdload games (atm I can only get some to work & others get errors ) and look towards upgrading to OS 3.9 in the future .

What Accellerator/Ram expansion card do you guys suggest and possibly the features of such card .

I have never expanded an Amiga and its my first 1200 . Only got it 3 days ago
Kakaboy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:13   #2
fc.studio
Cat lover
fc.studio's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Italy
Age: 48
Posts: 799
Check my post #4 here to have an opinion:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=31687
fc.studio is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:14   #3
Adropac2
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 45
Posts: 834
Well you don't actually need to accelerate anything if you want to play the vast majority of A500 and A1200 stuff.It was only later on when games got a little more advanced that the extra power would come in handy.That said if you can get one cheap enough then you might as well.3d polygon games like Birds of Prey, F18, CAP etc will of course benefit but they do run well enough on a standard A1200

You can get a lot of games running in 6mb like i have to with one of my A1200 but then there are pauses in the form of a black screen cutting in and out with some of these- i guess it's pageing in memory and i probably haven't set it up correctly there?

An 8mb expansion i imagine would be fine for just about all decent well known classic Amiga games- there are some later games that will benefit more ram and ideally 16mb should do it but you wont likely bother a lot of these- well personally speaking i don't anyway
Adropac2 is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:21   #4
Kakaboy
Amiga life crisis
Kakaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 256
So something like this will be more than adequate ? :

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MakeTrack=true

And what about OS 3.9 ? , I eventually want indivision and run on bigger pc monitor .
Kakaboy is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:24   #5
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adropac2 View Post
An 8mb expansion i imagine would be fine for just about all decent well known classic Amiga games- there are some later games that will benefit more ram and ideally 16mb should do it but you wont likely bother a lot of these- well personally speaking i don't anyway
Yep an 8MB card (jumper'd to 4MB to support PCMCIA) will allow you to play most WHLOAD installs under OS3.1. If you want to move up to OS3.9 you'll need an 030 with at least 8MB (16MB is better but 128MB is overkill and I've only found a single game that uses it).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:27   #6
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kakaboy View Post
So something like this will be more than adequate ? :

http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI.d...MakeTrack=true

And what about OS 3.9 ? , I eventually want indivision and run on bigger pc monitor .
Those are ok but the memory is hard to upgrade. The best 030 accelerators are Blizzards and Apollos.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:28   #7
Kakaboy
Amiga life crisis
Kakaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 256
Ok thanks for all the replies & info .

There is a shortage of cards in Aust . What would a card like the link I posted go for or is a fair price ?
Kakaboy is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:32   #8
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kakaboy View Post
Ok thanks for all the replies & info .

There is a shortage of cards in Aust . What would a card like the link I posted go for or is a fair price ?
That's hard to say, there is no real definition of a 'fair price' when it comes to classic hardware

I paid about $330 AU for my Blizzard 030 (sans FPU)

Here's a nice Blizzard 030......you might be able to get it sent to Oz?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:32   #9
Kakaboy
Amiga life crisis
Kakaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Those are ok but the memory is hard to upgrade. The best 030 accelerators are Blizzards and Apollos.
Oh ok , damn . I would like to upgrade and not get into any drama's down the track .

Thanks for the advice .
Kakaboy is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:37   #10
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
A1200 Accelerators
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:37   #11
Kakaboy
Amiga life crisis
Kakaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
That's hard to say, there is no real definition of a 'fair price' when it comes to classic hardware

I paid about $330 AU for my Blizzard 030 (sans FPU)

Here's a nice Blizzard 030......you might be able to get it sent to Oz?
Already asked him . UK bidders only

$330 !!!!! . Damn thats rich
Kakaboy is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 01:38   #12
Kakaboy
Amiga life crisis
Kakaboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sydney/Australia
Age: 47
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Wow there are SOOO many !!
Kakaboy is offline  
Old 23 March 2010, 04:16   #13
darkage
 
Posts: n/a
I got my Blizzard 030 with no FPU or RAM for $240 AUD Fully shipped from the UK with Paypal Fee's. You can get ones with some memory for that price region anyways. I wouldnt go above $250 AUD for a 030 Blizzard, they tend to sit at that price region looking for buyers on Amibay.com

Check Amybay regularly and wait for one to pop up.
 
Old 23 March 2010, 05:33   #14
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 51
Posts: 3,481
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Or do an announce asking for one in the Want To Buy section.
rkauer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
T4060 68060 accellerator and heat videofx support.Hardware 24 26 November 2014 23:54
Speedy. The variable speed accellerator. DDNI Hardware mods 9 18 June 2012 22:33
WTB: 600 memory/accellerator board terexuk MarketPlace 16 15 June 2011 02:06
wanted A1200 040/060 accellerator moondynejoe MarketPlace 0 14 January 2009 13:50
Wanted: A1200 Accellerator jabsy MarketPlace 0 08 January 2007 13:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35609 seconds with 14 queries