English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 February 2010, 18:00   #21
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Just the Mitsumi keyboard with the Windows key caps replaced by the Amiga keys in my case.

The Amiga case will not have the necessary holes to page up/down/Home/Insert/F11/F12.

Wait a minute and I'll upload the keyboard pictures.

[EDIT] Done!

BTW: this keyboard have a straight cord and regular (big-sized) DIN plug. Also you'll notice the A500's ALT keycap hooked in on the left of space bar.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00299.JPG
Views:	212
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	24161   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00300.JPG
Views:	156
Size:	33.8 KB
ID:	24162  

Last edited by rkauer; 04 February 2010 at 18:15. Reason: pictures added
rkauer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 February 2010, 21:07   #22
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkauer View Post
Just the Mitsumi keyboard with the Windows key caps replaced by the Amiga keys in my case.

The Amiga case will not have the necessary holes to page up/down/Home/Insert/F11/F12.

Wait a minute and I'll upload the keyboard pictures.

[EDIT] Done!

BTW: this keyboard have a straight cord and regular (big-sized) DIN plug. Also you'll notice the A500's ALT keycap hooked in on the left of space bar.
have u got your old a500 or 1200 cases from that tower conversion ?
then you can use them not perfect but better than nothing

use a cheapo ps2 keyboard u can source a more fitting one colour wise
at least the amiga atempted to be PC AT spec size wise with old
limitations of earlyer design

i think your mitsumi case would be posible with a bit of cutting here?

remove the 3 keys above the page up keys we wont need em hope fully
and maybe even wire the three leds up for caps lock ect

not origonal but has to be better ?

see pics ive uploaded to my gallery
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 04 February 2010, 21:14   #23
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
sorry for doing a double post
being new here i just noticed how to atach files to post so results
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amikeyboard001.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	87.7 KB
ID:	24163   Click image for larger version

Name:	amikeyboard004.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	60.8 KB
ID:	24164  
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 00:21   #24
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 52
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Sorry, didn't like it.

My keyboard, as it is, gives the best retro-looking I'm after. Replacing just the winblows keys for Amiga ones makes it a perfect Amithlon/WinUAE (direct boot) machine.

Not bad for a pc inside the A2000 case.
rkauer is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 11:59   #25
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
yes the keyboards fine but looks a bit modern next to a A2000

ok mate you wana see a 2000 keyboard with same treatment as the 1200 case ?

if you are sensative dont look at the thread i started

i feel like am taking over salax54's
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 05 February 2010, 18:54   #26
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
@bigfoot catnap: keep posting, you're not taking over my friend!
More pics ahead:
Making the Mini's ethernet extension
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/25.jpg

Mini's ethernet, and tv card's RF in
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/26.jpg

Audio in/out, mic in for the pc part.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/27.jpg

VGA out extension for the pc graphics card
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/28.jpg

Building the com port extension for the pc.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/29.jpg

Rear view. What's there, from left to right:
1Mac VGA out,power switch, audio out.
2PC audio in/out mic in, spare game port.
3PC VGA out.
4PC PS/2 mouse.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/30.jpg

Stay tuned!
salax54 is offline  
Old 06 February 2010, 00:14   #27
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
cool aviodance of the wielding angle grinder my freind
and the apple mac mini in there too

ive still more to do

ah thought id killed the ps2 keyboard lol the amount ive cut it down to squeeze into
the 2000 keyboard chassis is insane even had to un ergo it to a box shape
the wire come off soon fix it with a bit of solder

hopin to go usb as well for front pannel plugging so it can sit on desk an key board can
be put out of way

no nooo dont u dont need a keyboard garage ahhh:

sorry jus havin some issues

ive one of them baby usb key boards

hmm usb amiga tank mouse

is there a axeing smiley ??
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 06 February 2010, 23:49   #28
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
well shes here now typin on here workin away just put aros on fer now work

pritty sweet via origin webb browser jus pluggd a usb key board in

got any sugestions what to use the two floppy bays for
i dont use em any more and only have a single
one anyway i did think of printing a pic of 2 drives and putin it on a blankin plate
card reader perhaps
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 07 February 2010, 15:08   #29
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
Some more pics..

Here's some metalwork for the rear.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/31.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/32.jpg

And this is how the rear is today:
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/33.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/34.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/35.jpg

as always, stay tuned! :-)
salax54 is offline  
Old 10 February 2010, 16:43   #30
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
Allright, here's a tough one:
Suppose i set up a UAE situation. Is it at all possible to have support for a genlock device? Before you rush to reply, i'd like to express a theory:
A genlock (usually) connects to the RGB port of the Amiga. Which makes me believe that it requires a video signal of some sort. Now, we got a whole bunch of RGB-to-SCART, RGB-to-S-Video etc. adapters utilized with our actual Amigas. What if i take one of those and use a (UAE supported) graphics card of the kind that has an additional S-Video out, if i connect an RGB-to-S-Video adapter to it, would i be able to trigger the genlock? I've a few (both PAL and NTSC genlocks -which i paid a small fortune for back then) and find it very interesting if i could use them...
salax54 is offline  
Old 10 February 2010, 18:04   #31
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
iive a bunch of old hardware for video
digimate for video captureing and rockwell vidieo mixers
but dont see any apeal in using them?
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 15 February 2010, 00:50   #32
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
Time for an update

More cable mess!
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/36.jpg

One of the (x86 part) hard disks.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/37.jpg

And the expansion cards, Graphics, TV tuner, and nic.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/38.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/39.jpg

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm242/salax54/40.jpg

To be continued..
salax54 is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 18:10   #33
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
Allrighty, a couple of amateur videos i've taken for the moment...
[ Show youtube player ]
[ Show youtube player ]

Sorry for the scan lines, but if i used a tft monitor i'd lose the "retro-feeling" :-)
salax54 is offline  
Old 26 February 2010, 18:43   #34
athiga
aka bigfoot catnap
athiga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: e port/uk
Posts: 101
yes im going to get some stud bar and strenthen the case front to rear
the mother board i had died the pci card slots stopped workin suspect
flex in case
athiga is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A2000 4.1 ... 1 Meg Chip Ram Mod? Pioneer500 support.Hardware 4 10 May 2013 20:05
Kickstart mod for A2000 jman Hardware mods 3 22 January 2012 12:22
Cyberstorm PPC hardware mod: 060@72MHz/PPC@396MHz stachu100 Hardware mods 7 30 April 2010 15:26
A2000 Comp.Z Tower: info on floppy port mod... keropi support.Hardware 14 17 May 2007 21:40
Looking for A2000 reset switch mod Smiley support.Hardware 9 03 May 2006 17:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08093 seconds with 16 queries