English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 February 2010, 23:41   #1
mancalledSun
 
Posts: n/a
Ever seen one of these? AT PC keyboard to 1200 mobo mod. Solder yourself jobby...

I've got one of these...

The data sheet shows you how to solder to the internals of a 1200. As far as I can see, this is only of use if you're thinking about installing an 1200 mobo into a bespoke custom case.

Anybody have any thoughts about adapting it so we can plug it into a CD32 (WITHOUT soldering to internals)?

I can scan the data sheet tomorrow at work if you're interested.


Last edited by mancalledSun; 07 February 2010 at 23:53.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 February 2010, 23:46   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,299
Hi mancalledSun,

Yes, please scan the data sheet. It should certainly be possible to adapt it for use with the CD32 without internal soldering.
prowler is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 08:37   #3
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
That is the same as the one i got for the A600, and logically speaking, you got it from Dart Computers. I have posted a few pics of the internals last year ( http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=42948 )
salax54 is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 09:49   #4
bigfoot catnap
a1200 68030 3.9 amysys
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: ellesmere port/uk
Posts: 33
yes i had one it was in the early days of towering amiga 1200's
takes a signal of a pin on the controler chip you had to solder it on
not an easy task due to the small smt chips of a1200's so should
be possible on cd32
bigfoot catnap is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 14:28   #5
mancalledSun
 
Posts: n/a
That's the one. It's from Dart.

Datasheet attached - I won't bother taking apart now - thanks salax54.

I'm sure it would go inside a CD32, but could we attach it via one of the inputs instead?
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 1178498_1.PDF (230.8 KB, 177 views)
 
Old 08 February 2010, 14:35   #6
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,079
The CD32 has a keyboard input so it may be possible to plug it in there. Someone will have to work out which wire does what from your PDF and the A1200 schematics. (Easy to find using google)

Worse case, sell it to someone with an A1200 tower and buy a Lyra instead?
alexh is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 14:53   #7
mancalledSun
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
Worse case, sell it to someone with an A1200 tower and buy a Lyra instead?
Already had that in mind. But where's the fun in that?
 
Old 08 February 2010, 15:18   #8
salax54
Registered User
salax54's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Athens Greece
Posts: 147
@mancalledSun:
This gadget -just like most keyboard interfaces- involves the use of a PIC. The fun of it would be for you to be able to program such a chip and build one completely on your own! :-) Lots of similar project if you google a bit.. I seem to recall Ian Stedman had an EPIC board for his CD32. And by the way, as i read, most Amiga "external keyboards" plug to the AUX port, either directly, or by using a cheapo adaptor!
salax54 is offline  
Old 08 February 2010, 17:37   #9
mancalledSun
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by salax54 View Post
@mancalledSun:
This gadget -just like most keyboard interfaces- involves the use of a PIC. The fun of it would be for you to be able to program such a chip and build one completely on your own! :-) Lots of similar project if you google a bit.. I seem to recall Ian Stedman had an EPIC board for his CD32. And by the way, as i read, most Amiga "external keyboards" plug to the AUX port, either directly, or by using a cheapo adaptor!
Lyra it is!
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Up for grabs.. A1200 Mobo / Amiga to PS2 Keyboard Converter h0ffman MarketPlace 11 30 August 2011 16:12
WTB: Amiga 1200 Mobo CU_AMiGA MarketPlace 0 10 January 2011 15:52
For Sale: Amiga 1200 1B mobo with 3.1 roms peyo64 MarketPlace 0 03 April 2010 15:54
unknown added wire on 1200 mobo kipper2k Hardware mods 4 25 February 2009 01:04
A1200 Mobo Revision with Keyboard Connections? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 6 01 December 2008 00:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06772 seconds with 16 queries