English Amiga Board Amiga Lore



Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 April 2007, 13:56   #1
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 1,153
What symptoms would a flat mobo battery cause on an A500+?

Hi

I have got hold of a basket case A500+ from Fleabay, if nothing else I thought it would be useful for the chips on board to upgrade another A500 I have, it came with no floppy drive. I have opened the case to examine it and it's obvious that the onboard battery has leaked as some of the tracks are corroded.

Plugging the unit in gives a green screen, I am aware this could mean duff RAM, could the dead battery also cause this symptom?



Merlin
Merlin is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 24 April 2007, 14:10   #2
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,037
yes, if the tracks that have corrosion are related to onboard ram...
leakage can kill vital parts of an amiga
I have an example of an A4000D , that the battery leaked and after no fastram was recognised in any of the 4 SIMM slots...
keropi is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 16:21   #3
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 1,153
I've looked closer at the board, the Gary socket is badly corroded and will need to be replaced along with the two 74LS244N's, to sort it all out is going to be in the region of 15 to 20 GBP including replacing all the custom chipset IC sockets, I reckon I will have a go at fixing it.

Fortunately all of the custom IC's are not damaged, the pins on the Gary will clean up OK.

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 16:54   #4
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 10,992
Bummer, my A500+ is in a box at the bottom of a pile of other boxes... I really should get the battery off... I've known about the problem for many years but been too lazy to do anything about it. I only have myself to blame. I kept telling myself if it ends up broken I still have my A600.

Before replacing sockets etc. BUZZ out the connections with a multi-meter. Perhaps you can find just one that needs a "jumper wire" replacement.
alexh is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 17:11   #5
Merlin
AmiBay MegaMod
Merlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 1,153
@ Alexh

I can see missing legs on the Gary socket and the 74SL244N's due to corrosion caused by the leaking electrolyte, I am not spoiling the ship for a half penn'orth of tar, I could solder the chips direct but Maplin do socket strip at a reasonable price, so that's the way I am going.

Besides, it's a challenge...

Merlin
Merlin is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 20:54   #6
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,593
I've got an A500+ and didn't know about this problem. I'd like to open it up and remove the battery before any bad things happen - are there any good resources around with an idiots guide to getting one open and finding the right bit to remove?
pmc is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 20:59   #7
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,037
DJBASE sells some small pcbs that have a small lithium coin battery, and have 3 legs too, total and compltete replacement, unsolder old battery, solder new pcb... they rock!

see it HERE suits almost all amigas !!!
keropi is offline  
Old 24 April 2007, 22:35   #8
pmc
rebooting...
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elsewhere
Posts: 1,593
Took the plunge and opened up my A500+. I've never opened it before so I was a bit wary but I found the battery - it had started to leak but no lasting damage done - and removed it.

That should keep her going for a while!
pmc is offline  
Old 28 April 2007, 23:03   #9
amigarobbo
Registered User
amigarobbo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: UK
Posts: 181
The 500+ had a battery?

Well, live and learn. Although it was about 10 years ago I got rid of mine, I'm sure I had to set the time..
amigarobbo is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CR2032 Battery with Amiga 4000 REV D mobo Akiko support.Hardware 5 23 April 2011 19:23
A500+ battery alexh Hardware pics 16 29 September 2009 18:21
Faulty A500 mobo? JackTheKnife support.Hardware 17 21 December 2008 11:36
A500 - Two drives on same internal flat cable. Possible? aquanaut Hardware mods 10 03 March 2008 03:56
Battery A500+ Torch500+ support.Hardware 5 26 September 2007 17:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12684 seconds with 12 queries