English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 July 2014, 13:23   #1
ajack
Registered User
ajack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 114
Building a PLIPbox

Anybody owns or build a PLIPbox? I would like a unit or two...



I looked at the website (URL http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-projects/plipbox/) and concluded that I may be able to build one myself with a minimum of soldering.


To build a PLIPbox, the easiest way to do it is to do the following:


  1. 1. Buy a AVR_NET_IO unit from pollin.de (URL http://www.pollin.de/shop/dt/NjI5OTg...rtigmodul.html)
  2. 2. Add a strobe wire between:
    DB25 / J5 Pin 1 <-------------> ATmega32 / Pin 16 (PD2)
    I believe it means just connect the two points with a wire?
After doing that, the hardware is ready for use, am I right?


I will only need to install software driver on my workbench 3.1 following the instructions and use the v0.5 binary provided and a TCP/IP stack software (MiamiDX for an Amiga A500).


I assume also, it'll need a 9V external power supply to use.
What web browser can I use on the Amiga? Or should I be contented with Lynx? Where can I download Lynx?

Last edited by Jope; 04 July 2014 at 09:07. Reason: Removed Facebook mangling from the pollin.de url
ajack is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 09:09   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,446
Seems like the fastest way to get running, yes.

Naturally you will also need to flash the plipbox firmware onto that board at some point. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 13:01   #3
croupier
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Koper, Slovenia
Posts: 59
I've built it using Arduino nano....but had no time to test it yet on my Amigas...

I used the Arduino nano, got an Ethernet shield for it and programmed the Arduino with the latest code downloaded from lallafa's page....

On my own I just soldered an interface from 25 D-sub parallel connector to Arduino nano connectors....

It is quite cheap and easy to do....

As soon as I find some time I'll test it on my Amiga...
croupier is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 16:23   #4
ajack
Registered User
ajack's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Malaysia
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Seems like the fastest way to get running, yes.

Naturally you will also need to flash the plipbox firmware onto that board at some point. :-)
Yes, was told by Chris (the PLIPbox designer) about that...
Quote:
Originally Posted by croupier View Post
I've built it using Arduino nano....but had no time to test it yet on my Amigas...

I used the Arduino nano, got an Ethernet shield for it and programmed the Arduino with the latest code downloaded from lallafa's page....

On my own I just soldered an interface from 25 D-sub parallel connector to Arduino nano connectors....

It is quite cheap and easy to do....

As soon as I find some time I'll test it on my Amiga...
Please let me know, want Ethernet so badly... now have to resort to taking out my c.f. card and using winuae to tender files across...
ajack is offline  
Old 04 March 2016, 21:29   #5
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajack View Post
I looked at the website (URL http://lallafa.de/blog/amiga-projects/plipbox/) and concluded that I may be able to build one myself with a minimum of soldering.

To build a PLIPbox, the easiest way to do it is to do the following:
  1. 1. Buy a AVR_NET_IO unit from pollin.de (URL http://www.pollin.de/shop/dt/NjI5OTg...rtigmodul.html)
  2. 2. Add a strobe wire between:
    DB25 / J5 Pin 1 <-------------> ATmega32 / Pin 16 (PD2)
    I believe it means just connect the two points with a wire?
After doing that, the hardware is ready for use, am I right?
Did this work out for you?
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 19 March 2016, 23:19   #6
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,092
I'm stuck with the same wire, perhaps you can help:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=82065
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 02 April 2016, 14:40   #7
MrFluffy
furtling tinkerer

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Mouhet France
Posts: 48
I built a plipbox from the polin avr kit. I did this to run it off 5v and ran it off the amiga psu's 5v rail. I didnt use miami, I used amitcp. It worked for me.
http://www.mikrocontroller.net/articles/Datei:POWER.JPG

I remember the strobe wire means just adding the wire in as per the lalla site so the signal is correct at the pin but its been a while since I had a working a2000 to need it although a motherboard turned up in the post today so fingers crossed...
MrFluffy is offline  
Old 15 April 2016, 02:54   #8
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,092
Help needed flashing firmware to AVR-NET-IO

Well @lallafa @MrFluffy et al, I am truly stuck in flashing the firmware to the Pollin AVR-NET-IO board via Mac (or Windows.)

The issues begin when I try to follow the confusing instructions at https://github.com/cnvogelg/plipbox/...rc/firmware.md

At 1.3 it says "All AVR boards can be flashed with an In-System-Programmer (ISP) device. This device directly programs the flash ROM. The ISP is an external tool that is also typically connected via USB to your PC ... The AVR-NET-IO-Board from Pollin.de needs to be flashed via ISP ..." What makes it more confusing is I think he's pointing to the wrong URLs in "1.3" (http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/sanautil and http://www.ayera.com/teraterm/) for the ISP device, so I didn't even know what to buy.

This also wasn't mentioned on the Plipbox page that linked to purchase the AVR-NET-IO. I wish he'd said there'd be more stuff to pay for!

I ended up getting an AVRISPmkII device.

Now, I can't flash the AVRISPmkII on the Mac, as I keep getting this error:

Code:
avrdude: usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device "usb"
In short, the Mac doesn't even see the ISP device.

Well and truly stuck. Please help.

Last edited by Starglider 2; 26 April 2016 at 03:19.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 15 April 2016, 03:30   #9
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Q1: What is my port?
I'm not familiar with Mac, but I think it'll either be /dev/cu.usbserial or /dev/tty.usbserial

Quote:
The AVR-NET-IO-Board from Pollin.de needs to be flashed via ISP ..."

This wasn't mentioned on the Plipbox page that linked to purchase the AVR-NET-IO, but do I understand this right? Do I also have to buy an ISP hardware device?!
It would appear so.

Last edited by robinsonb5; 15 April 2016 at 14:17.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 15 April 2016, 03:57   #10
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,092
Edit: Continued at thread: http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...11#post1086211

Last edited by Starglider 2; 28 April 2016 at 01:02.
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 28 April 2016, 02:04   #11
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFluffy View Post
I built a plipbox from the polin avr kit. I did this to run it off 5v and ran it off the amiga psu's 5v rail. I didnt use miami, I used amitcp. It worked for me.
http://www.mikrocontroller.net/articles/Datei:POWER.JPG

I remember the strobe wire means just adding the wire in as per the lalla site so the signal is correct at the pin but its been a while since I had a working a2000 to need it although a motherboard turned up in the post today so fingers crossed...
Can one use Miami instead of MiamiDX? (If so, any idea of the settings as the pages are laid out a bit differently.)
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 15 September 2016, 13:11   #12
MrFluffy
furtling tinkerer

 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Mouhet France
Posts: 48
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Well @lallafa @MrFluffy et al, I am truly stuck in flashing the firmware to the Pollin AVR-NET-IO board via Mac (or Windows.)

The issues begin when I try to follow the confusing instructions at https://github.com/cnvogelg/plipbox/...rc/firmware.md

At 1.3 it says "All AVR boards can be flashed with an In-System-Programmer (ISP) device. This device directly programs the flash ROM. The ISP is an external tool that is also typically connected via USB to your PC ... The AVR-NET-IO-Board from Pollin.de needs to be flashed via ISP ..." What makes it more confusing is I think he's pointing to the wrong URLs in "1.3" (http://aminet.net/package/comm/net/sanautil and http://www.ayera.com/teraterm/) for the ISP device, so I didn't even know what to buy.

This also wasn't mentioned on the Plipbox page that linked to purchase the AVR-NET-IO. I wish he'd said there'd be more stuff to pay for!

I ended up getting an AVRISPmkII device.

Now, I can't flash the AVRISPmkII on the Mac, as I keep getting this error:

Code:
avrdude: usbdev_open(): did not find any USB device "usb"
In short, the Mac doesn't even see the ISP device.

Well and truly stuck. Please help.
Sorry im so late replying, did you get going?
I used a arduino uno as a isp and theres a sketch to do this in the arduino ide.
MrFluffy is offline  
Old 15 September 2016, 14:30   #13
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 1,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrFluffy View Post
Sorry im so late replying, did you get going?
I used a arduino uno as a isp and theres a sketch to do this in the arduino ide.
Thanks, yes as per my other threads it's finally up and running beautifully! Emailing from my A500!
Starglider 2 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
plipbox 0.5 released lallafa News 0 30 November 2013 00:11
plipbox 0.4 released lallafa News 3 06 June 2013 07:46
Building WinUAE 2.0.1 Mequa support.WinUAE 11 30 March 2010 00:25
help building whdload packages petee1979 project.WHDLoad 4 25 May 2009 11:29
Building me a new Amiga StarEye support.Hardware 12 02 April 2008 21:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07855 seconds with 13 queries