English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2005, 10:38   #1
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 196
Change RDB preserving partitions?

Hi,
when I installed my 20 gig hd into my A1200 I didn't care much for the full capacity. I somehow managed to use 8 gig with the old hdtoolbox. Now partitions get filled and I'd like to use the remaining 10 gig.
I installed the scsi.device replacement and can see the whole harddrive in the new hdtoolbox if I read settings directly from hd. Still I'd don't want to format the whole drive and would like to preserve at least the boot partition. As far as I understand the information in the rdb would have to be changed to use the whole drive!? Or could I just reread the settings, save them and then transform the old partition boundaries to the new format (Heads, Sectors change)?
Jerry is offline  
Old 30 December 2005, 11:48   #2
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,877
The "new" HDToolbox tends to delete all partitions if you change the drive geometry, so you should write down the settings for each partition (start cyl, end cyl, block size and file system). Also write down the current geometry data (especially the blocks per cylinder).

Then go to install drive, choose to edit the old data and increase the number of cylinders until the total number of blocks matches the size of your HDD. Do not change the values for heads / sectors and blocks per cyl, otherwise you have to recalculate the start/end cylinders of your partitions.

After installation changes are done, check if your partitions are still there. If not, enter them manually.

Before you start with the entire procedure make sure you have a working emergency boot disk with a recovery tool on it (e.g. RDBrecov).
thomas is offline  
Old 30 December 2005, 18:53   #3
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 196
Hmm,
I can't get it to work. As soon as I have done all the changes the partitions are no longer recognized as valid disks. Replacing the rdb with the original one works. Or do I have to not repartition the drive but directly use RDBrecov?
Jerry is offline  
Old 30 December 2005, 19:29   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,877
Quote:
Replacing the rdb with the original one works. Or do I have to not repartition the drive but directly use RDBrecov?
You have to repartition the drive in any case. RDBRecov just tells you what you have to enter in HDToolbox.

Quote:
As soon as I have done all the changes the partitions are no longer recognized as valid disks.
Check the block size of the partitions. Old HDToolbox's default was 512 and the new HDToolbox uses 1024. So to make it work, you have to change each partition back to 512.
thomas is offline  
Old 30 December 2005, 19:57   #5
Jerry
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 39
Posts: 196
Yes,
you rule. Thanks a lot. That saved a lot of trouble/time. Problem was the block size of the partitions. Still I could only preserve the first two disks (probably because they started below the 4 gig boundary?), but that's enough because I mainly needed my root partition because I didn't want to go through the hassle of swapping harddisks, configuring networt and what not.
Jerry is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Any interest in preserving old JST installs ? Retroplay Nostalgia & memories 115 12 March 2016 15:36
Preserving hardware Gordon support.Hardware 3 19 September 2011 21:23
Preserving my C64 collection pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 12 11 January 2009 01:30
Change partitions frikilokooo project.ClassicWB 16 21 September 2007 14:36
change the cd-rom unit number(sorry wrong place if a moderator can change) turrican3 support.OtherUAE 19 05 May 2007 00:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06385 seconds with 13 queries