English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 December 2018, 22:10   #81
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrz View Post
virtual box is a turtle I don't think will be faster than PCEM

anyways if you already have installed in your computer install DOS and report here if worked fine etc thanks
I no longer have it installed. Although I don't recall it being any slower than other VM software I used
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 22:32   #82
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,844
Just an update, there is git hub that has all pcem bios that are supported in v15. If you have issues finding it, pm me.
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 01:20   #83
malko
Ex nihilo nihil

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 2,322
1st result in the search engine and only a 12.3MB zip file
Thank you for the info Mr "Egyptian God"
malko is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 01:30   #84
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
Is linking to github not allowed?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 12:07   #85
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Is linking to github not allowed?
It is; but that doesn't mean you can link to everything on github. Bios files are shaky territory when it comes to legality, better not link to such material publicly.
gimbal is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 13:15   #86
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,844
Yep, main reason I did not link it. Same goes for archive.org. While most stuff is OK to link from there, there is still tons of shady stuff...
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 13:26   #87
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
That makes sense. I appreciate that's true. I'm surprised that EAB server still has TOSEC given that's also got "shady" stuff lol.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 13:28   #88
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
I'm surprised that EAB server still has TOSEC given that's also got "shady" stuff lol.
Yes it has TOSEC stuff but:
  • no Kickstart ROMs.
  • no Workbench OS files.
  • no games / applications that are still for sale.
DamienD is online now  
Old 06 November 2019, 13:29   #89
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yes it has TOSEC stuff but:
  • no Kickstart ROMs.
  • no Workbench OS files.
  • no games / applications that are still for sale.
This must be a recent development. I'm sure it was all there at some point.

I mean with Amiga Essentials on android. It's so cheap to own the ROMS now.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 13:39   #90
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,844
There are still collections there that have kickstart and workbench files. At some point I think people are just trolling Cloanto by placing those files everywhere and renaming them. BTW, you are right - at first all files in TOSEC were there, but then stinkers complained and files were removed from collections.

Back to topic - PCem - current version (available since May this year) is quite stable.

I was going through some old mags, and just for fun you can setup for example Micron P133 Millennia Plus... for a bit less than $11,499 for one with 128 MB memory and 9GB hard drive. That was just in time for new Windows 95 and Office 95.
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 13:50   #91
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
PCEmu might be perfect for ironically my DOS laptop (it's highest spec for DOS but fortunately the motherboard has native SB emulation in DOS despite it being AC'97 codec). I can't get it to change from NTSC to PAL in DOS with TV out so unable to connect to my CRT without it being B&W. In Windows the sound doesn't work for DOS. I think Windows 98 may fix it as Windows 98SE uses WDM rather than VXD drivers.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:06   #92
gimbal
cheeky scoundrel

gimbal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Spijkenisse/Netherlands
Age: 38
Posts: 3,463
You are going to run pcEM on a laptop that is specced for DOS? As in Pentium 1 mmx 200mhz+ somewhere around there?

Keep a fire extinguisher nearby as that is going to cause flames.
gimbal is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:10   #93
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
Lol no... it's significantly more powerful.

Sony VAIO FX-201
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:32   #94
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,844
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
PCEmu might be perfect for ironically my DOS laptop (it's highest spec for DOS but fortunately the motherboard has native SB emulation in DOS despite it being AC'97 codec). I can't get it to change from NTSC to PAL in DOS with TV out so unable to connect to my CRT without it being B&W. In Windows the sound doesn't work for DOS. I think Windows 98 may fix it as Windows 98SE uses WDM rather than VXD drivers.
That is more for x86 discussion - from what you are having issue with is windows 98 laptop that does not have sound under DOS. To properly use DOS and sounds with win98, you have to install DOS drivers, but don't use autoexec.bat and config.sys - instead use DOS shortcut to setup your dos environment. It takes some time to set everything correctly and I usually have 2-3 different shortcuts with different memory managers ECM/NOECM and CD-ROm and NO CD-ROM driver.

If you have issues getting that to work, we can discuss that in x86 topic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
Lol no... it's significantly more powerful.

Sony VAIO FX-201
That is not fast enough for this kind of emulation. You can probably run IBM PC and IBM PC jr on PCem at 100%. For that one your major issue is to find Win98 DOS driver for sound card.

Something familiar...

Anubis is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:37   #95
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
That is more for x86 discussion - from what you are having issue with is windows 98 laptop that does not have sound under DOS. To properly use DOS and sounds with win98, you have to install DOS drivers, but don't use autoexec.bat and config.sys - instead use DOS shortcut to setup your dos environment. It takes some time to set everything correctly and I usually have 2-3 different shortcuts with different memory managers ECM/NOECM and CD-ROm and NO CD-ROM driver.



If you have issues getting that to work, we can discuss that in x86 topic.



Something familiar...



May be a good idea... check if it'll work. Only issue is DOS sound only works when going into DOS before entering Windows. Once in Windows and entering DOS mode the AC'97 driver doesn't work. It's working due to a glitch because this laptop does not have BIOS setting to enable sound, but I discovered the workaround.

If you post in the other x86 thread I'm part of to avoid confusing matters here
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:47   #96
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
This must be a recent development. I'm sure it was all there at some point.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Anubis View Post
There are still collections there that have kickstart and workbench files. At some point I think people are just trolling Cloanto by placing those files everywhere and renaming them. BTW, you are right - at first all files in TOSEC were there, but then stinkers complained and files were removed from collections.
No, this is not a recent development. Ever since I have been a member of EAB, Kickstart ROMs / Workbench OS files and even .IPFs were not allowed in The Zone! or any EAB resource i.e. the FTP.

This has been strictly enforced by EAB moderators; way before I was a GMod

Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
I mean with Amiga Essentials on android. It's so cheap to own the ROMS now.
Why would I need / use Cloanto encryted / non original ROMs?

I already have the original Commodore ones.
DamienD is online now  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:49   #97
Anubis
Maj. Voodoo

Anubis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raking Woods...
Age: 47
Posts: 2,844
Mister DoubleD, we are not talking about FTP or Zone!, but archive.org.

EDIT: never mind - let me clear this out - I am talking about archive.org.

Last edited by Anubis; 06 November 2019 at 15:00.
Anubis is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:56   #98
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Why would I need / use Cloanto encryted / non original ROMs?

I already have the original Commodore ones.
This is not just for you but a general comment for others who DO NOT have access to legitimate ROMS or a way to transfer from their Amiga.
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:59   #99
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,665
Quote:
Originally Posted by lesta_smsc View Post
This is not just for you but a general comment for others who DO NOT have access to legitimate ROMS or a way to transfer from their Amiga.
I know, as you've been posting the same thing in a lot of threads recently

Are you on some kind of commision deal with Cloanto or something?
DamienD is online now  
Old 06 November 2019, 15:30   #100
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,965
Lol no I'm not on commission or have any affiliation with Cloanto... I just think the need for people to look for ROMS or the issue about legality just makes sense to get them in the manner I've said ...
lesta_smsc is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x86 Bridgeboard update (PCem core) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 499 04 May 2019 22:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09385 seconds with 16 queries