English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 August 2019, 22:59   #1
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 905
Zorro-LAN-IDE by Matthias Heinrich

There is this :

Zorro-LAN-IDE https://github.com/MHeinrichs/Zorro-LAN-IDE

It is IDE, clock port and LAN in Zorro card. Any one interested to build these?
utri007 is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 00:34   #2
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
Do you know if the project was ever completed and proven working? I'm surprised to have not heard of it before. IF it works fully and the driver is complete and it can be used on the side or front (preferably side) of a GB-A1000 then sure, it would be a nice project.
MartinW is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 07:17   #3
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 471
The drivers are not finished. So no use to build it now afaik.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 09:48   #4
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 66
Alive and well

The Zorro LAN IDE card works and drivers are available. Actually, my A3000 boots from it.

Not yet completed is the CPLD firmware, at least according to Matze's plan. The missing feature is Zorro-II/III autosensing. There are two separate CPLD firmwares at the moment. One can either flash the Zorro-III firmware or the Zorro-II firmware. The latter also works in A3000/4000, just a little slower.

Due to the small size card, an extension cable is required in order to reach the back of the Amiga. My favorite solution to that is to rip apart old 10/100 PC NICs (free slot bracket, RJ45 and transformer).

Some pictures below. My A4k has the prototype card, the A3000 runs with Rev2 and the A500 (+Zorro Adapter) has the Rev3 connected.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ZLANIDE1.JPG
Views:	91
Size:	330.5 KB
ID:	64153   Click image for larger version

Name:	ZLANIDE2.JPG
Views:	66
Size:	235.7 KB
ID:	64154   Click image for larger version

Name:	ZLANIDE3.JPG
Views:	67
Size:	280.8 KB
ID:	64155   Click image for larger version

Name:	ZLANIDE4.JPG
Views:	68
Size:	353.8 KB
ID:	64156   Click image for larger version

Name:	ZLANIDE5.JPG
Views:	72
Size:	363.5 KB
ID:	64157  

Click image for larger version

Name:	ZLANIDE6.JPG
Views:	71
Size:	330.8 KB
ID:	64158   Click image for larger version

Name:	ZLANIDE7.JPG
Views:	62
Size:	356.1 KB
ID:	64159  
buggs is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 09:58   #5
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 471
Just release it


I'd take one immediately .
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 10:02   #6
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs View Post
The Zorro LAN IDE card works and drivers are available. Actually, my A3000 boots from it.
Off topic: Is this the infamous NEC LCD71VM in your third picture?
torsti76 is online now  
Old 19 August 2019, 10:05   #7
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by McTrinsic View Post
Just release it


I'd take one immediately .
I think it's released already. ;-) You just have to have PCBs created with your favourite vendor, solder it, and flash the CPLD...
torsti76 is online now  
Old 19 August 2019, 10:22   #8
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 34
Btw., here's the current version: https://gitlab.com/MHeinrichs/Zorro-LAN-IDE.git

Matze moved to gitlab a while ago.
torsti76 is online now  
Old 19 August 2019, 10:26   #9
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 471
Zorro-LAN-IDE by Matthias Heinrich

I was under the impression that since there are still things to sort out it wasn’t released.

If it’s ‚just‘ the autosensing ... mhhhh. Sounds tempting. But I probably can’t do enough of the required work on my own.
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 11:11   #10
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 66
Quote:
Originally Posted by torsti76 View Post
Off topic: Is this the infamous NEC LCD71VM in your third picture?
NEC1970NXp. Cheap to obtain, 15 kHz support on VGA, works fine with low refresh rates - but not optimal for PAL Amigas w/o Scandoubler. The downside of that monitor is that it'll detect PAL 15 kHz as 640x240. That little problem goes away with a Scandoubler or Flickerfixer of which my A3000 has two .
buggs is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 11:21   #11
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs View Post
NEC1970NXp. Cheap to obtain, 15 kHz support on VGA, works fine with low refresh rates - but not optimal for PAL Amigas w/o Scandoubler. The downside of that monitor is that it'll detect PAL 15 kHz as 640x240. That little problem goes away with a Scandoubler or Flickerfixer of which my A3000 has two .
Ah, okay. I use an Acer V226HQL which is fine with all 15kHz modes, but since it's 16:9 tends to do weird stretching on the modes with "unusual" (in PC world) ratios between horizontal and vertical pixel counts.
But, just as you, I usually use flicker fixers/scandoublers (even my CD32 has a modified FlickerMagic ;-) For testing purposes, however, it's nice to have a 15 kHz capable monitor around.
torsti76 is online now  
Old 19 August 2019, 11:22   #12
Paulthetall
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: netherlands
Posts: 17
Looks Awesome! Where to obtain these cards? In other words, where can I buy one? What are the specs etc.
Paulthetall is offline  
Old 19 August 2019, 22:22   #13
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Tuebingen
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paulthetall View Post
Looks Awesome! Where to obtain these cards? In other words, where can I buy one? What are the specs etc.
Hi,

you cannot obtain a ready to use card yet.

Matze doesn't see it as a finished product and thus doesn't produce it commercially as of now. The reason for that is that he would have to give support, provide a commercial warranty, help troubleshooting and so on which is really time consuming and frustrating if the product you have to support doesn't provide the standard you want it to have.

You can, however, build your own card with the material Matze provides via gitlab. That would be a good thing to do, since the more people build and test such projects the higher the chance that people like Matze keep on developing and - more importantly - improving such great pieces of hardware...
torsti76 is online now  
Old 19 August 2019, 23:33   #14
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
Now I've seen the pictures in better detail it looks familiar - I think I saw some threads on A1K about it but obviously not being a German speaker (more importantly, reader / writer!) I just quietly read the thread(s) and didn't comment.

I would dearly like a better network solution for my GBA - currently has plipbox. Nothing wrong with that but I dislike the separate power supply required and obviously a bit more speed would be useful.

Question: In one of the screenshots on GitLab it shows an Oktagon board. Is the IDE implemented as an Oktagon, same as the GBA?

I would like one but I don't really have the patience for building it at the moment as too many other things on the go at home.

@Buggs - sorry, we're all asking about your screen setup, but it looks very nice! I can see the machine hooked up to the white monitor (A500?) is running a Picasso card, what res is that? It looks lovely in terms of font, screen resolution etc., and so much better than my PII setup! I'd like some more info but obviously this thread isn't really the correct place!
MartinW is offline  
Old 20 August 2019, 00:41   #15
buggs
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Rostock/Germany
Posts: 66
As I said before, Matze is tangled up in a lot of responsibilities and I haven't spoken with hin in person for a while. Hence, this project right now has the status _as_is_, i.e. everything of the current version available as open source and ready for interested persons to build their own card. The card layout of revisions 0.2/0.3 and the SANA-II network driver were done by me.

The Network part and the IDE controller work fine in my setups. I can't comment on the Clockport, though. Matze has a RapidRoad connected to it on his card.

I also took the liberty and added some new features to the SANA driver like access to the Ethernet PHY parameters by a CLI tool.

@MartinW:
The IDE controller is an AT-BUS2008 clone. I run that one both available drivers (Oktagon and Oktapussy) across my cards. So the answer to your question is yes, same controller used as in most Matze projects.

My white display is a cheap 22" TV, chosen because of it's size matching that designated space on my desk as well as it's SCART input alongside VGA and HDMI. The A500 (A1k RED, outfitted with a Vampire card) is my favorite development machine, for both hardware and software stuff. It's quiet, fast in comparison to the others and most importantly easily repairable in case that I accidentally broke something.
buggs is offline  
Old 20 August 2019, 00:57   #16
MartinW
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Minehead / UK
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by buggs View Post
The A500 (A1k RED, outfitted with a Vampire card
Ahhh, OK, explains a lot! And yes, I think when Vampire V4 comes along I will probably use it as my main machine assuming I can get one.

Thank you for info on the IDE too. Again, makes sense.
MartinW is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 12:28   #17
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 905
I really would like to get one for Zorro II but I have no needed skills.
utri007 is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 14:41   #18
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 471
Same here
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 21 August 2019, 16:21   #19
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,477
Same
trixster is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted 4-8 MB Zorro II fastRAM expansion (with IDE controller super) to A2000 amiga2000 MarketPlace 1 30 March 2016 01:08
Is there any IDE zorro controller like IDE68K? amigoun support.Hardware 1 03 May 2015 21:30
Buddha Flash ide zorro thingy cosmicfrog support.Hardware 0 14 April 2010 22:45
A3640, Zorro Buddha IDE, HD Chinon Amiga flopy for sale on eBay nlandas MarketPlace 1 09 March 2008 23:50
Wanted: IDE Zorro Adapter for A3000 astuermer MarketPlace 8 12 September 2006 17:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08886 seconds with 16 queries