English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 September 2018, 00:03   #1
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 617
A1200 stock free memory for DOS boot

Hi all,

I'm at a cross roads as to make a decision on using a track loader or loading files with the dos library via floppy disk.

On a stock A1200 system with 2Mb chip ram, does anyone know roughly how much actual ram I would have available if I was to boot my project using a floppy with a startup-sequence etc?

or...

Point me to a utility that would give me the info?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Cheers,
Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 00:14   #2
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,363
Bare A1200, KS3.0, DF0 solo:
00000400 10 -10 chip memory
Attributes 0703 First 0000d0f8 Lower 00000420 Upper 00200000 Free 1939064
Largest: 00025308-001fe800,00000000,001d94f8 (1938680)

With DF1:
Attributes 0703 First 000147b0 Lower 00000420 Upper 00200000 Free 1912520
Largest: 0002bab8-001fe800,00000000,001d2d48 (1912136)

For +DF2/+DF3 subctract the same difference.

But you can gain various KB with my AddChip bootblock
(that disable DF1-DF3 and make one plane screen).
ross is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 00:18   #3
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by ross View Post
Bare A1200, KS3.0, DF0 solo:
00000400 10 -10 chip memory
Attributes 0703 First 0000d0f8 Lower 00000420 Upper 00200000 Free 1939064
Largest: 00025308-001fe800,00000000,001d94f8 (1938680)

With DF1:
Attributes 0703 First 000147b0 Lower 00000420 Upper 00200000 Free 1912520
Largest: 0002bab8-001fe800,00000000,001d2d48 (1912136)

For +DF2/+DF3 subctract the same difference.

But you can gain various KB with my AddChip bootblock
(that disable DF1-DF3 and make one plane screen).
Excellent Ross, that’s more than i expected so i will go with a dos loader.

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 00:41   #4
roondar
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 640
Note it varies a bit depending on kickstart version. I tried this as well with a DF0: only environment and got 1920000-1930000 and 1950000-1960000 depending on when I called avail (before or after the CLI loaded).

Much nicer than an A500 anyway
roondar is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 00:50   #5
ross
Sum, ergo Cogito

ross's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Crossing the Rubicon
Age: 48
Posts: 1,363
Quote:
Originally Posted by roondar View Post
Note it varies a bit depending on kickstart version. I tried this as well with a DF0: only environment and got 1920000-1930000 and 1950000-1960000 depending on when I called avail (before or after the CLI loaded).

Much nicer than an A500 anyway
I have been more brutal: boot without s-s, CLI, then WinUAE debugger and Tm command
It's a rough estimate, but a good one.
ross is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 01:06   #6
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 617
I’ll be good if i have over 1700kb free.

I dont fancy writing a track loader to be honest, would comllicate things.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 03:45   #7
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,187
mcgeezer: Will you be reading data at the end of the level or during the level??
redblade is offline  
Old 23 September 2018, 11:05   #8
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 617
Quote:
Originally Posted by redblade View Post
mcgeezer: Will you be reading data at the end of the level or during the level??
Neither really.

I'll allocate memory and then load all the compressed assets before the system shuts down, everything will then run from ram.

Most assets will be decompressed into their correct locations at run time, others such as the backgrounds will be decompressed at each sanctuary scene, these only add up to around 120Kb compressed so it's worth keeping them in ram as opposed to loading them from disk, it will probably make it easier for a WHDload too.

Geezer
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 24 September 2018, 08:30   #9
redblade
Zone Friend

redblade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Middle Earth
Age: 34
Posts: 1,187
well done. Keep up the good work
redblade is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dos drivers not mounting on boot. stefcep2 support.Apps 5 16 April 2014 07:45
'Error: Not enough free memory' (Boot using .hdf file) starwindz support.FS-UAE 3 22 July 2012 19:18
CW-GAAE 4GB microdrive boot time - stock 1MB A600 w/ 37.300 mancalledSun support.Hardware 31 28 March 2010 07:33
Accessing dos.library during boot time Leffmann Coders. General 9 16 February 2009 20:26
PC DOS Games box - for free! Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 19 31 August 2006 22:41

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07026 seconds with 15 queries