English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 September 2018, 19:20   #1
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
8-bit mode corrupted (1200TX + Radeon 9200 128MB)

Amplifier looks OK in 16/32bit, but all gets corrupted in 8bit mode.

https://s15.postimg.cc/tcuvxorwr/256colors.png

Any ideas why?
ShK is online now  
Old 01 September 2018, 22:11   #2
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 506
Do you mean when running an 8-bit screenmode?
indigolemon is offline  
Old 01 September 2018, 22:17   #3
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
yes only in 256 colors screenmode.
ShK is online now  
Old 01 September 2018, 22:27   #4
indigolemon
Bit Copying Bard

indigolemon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Kelty, Fife, Scotland
Age: 36
Posts: 506
Hmm, don't think I've used the Radeon in 256 colours, except for games! I'm away til next Saturday, but can try this on my machine then (Same Mediator and G-Card setup).
indigolemon is offline  
Old 01 September 2018, 22:29   #5
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
Thanks! Not sure if this Radeon is broken...
ShK is online now  
Old 02 September 2018, 03:04   #6
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,392
I would suspect a datatype problem maybe.
And it's only on the Radeon, not AGA 256 colors?

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 02 September 2018 at 03:18.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 02 September 2018, 05:14   #7
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
AGA 256 mode is OK, no GFX glitches on Amplifier skin.

I have only RV100 Radeon 7000 PCI card to compare, but I guess there is no 68k driver for it with 1200TX...
ShK is online now  
Old 02 September 2018, 07:03   #8
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 577
could be bad mem on the radeon but odd that you only see on that screenmode maybe try the radeon in a pc see if it happens there
rule out bad hardware
nexus is online now  
Old 02 September 2018, 07:07   #9
nexus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 577
though i have seen radeons do this on pc in vesa mode but be ok when in higher modes in win
maybe bios is corrupt
nexus is online now  
Old 03 September 2018, 22:56   #10
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus View Post
could be bad mem on the radeon but odd that you only see on that screenmode maybe try the radeon in a pc see if it happens there
rule out bad hardware
Ok, this was a good idea. I finally found a motherboard with a PCI bus. And yes, Radeon is broken.

https://s15.postimg.cc/8lvv5pzln/winxp.png
ShK is online now  
Old 19 September 2018, 17:37   #11
ShK
In carbonite
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 47
Posts: 317
It was a driver issue!

Radeon.card v2.23 (MM_CD_UP2.5.lha):


Radeon.card v2.22 (MM_CD_UP2.4.lha):


Old Sapphire was really broken. But it didn't make this 8-bit issue.

Tested now with the 2 new cards:

Sapphire ATI Radeon 9250 128MB
VisionTek ATI Radeon 9250 128MB

Both gives the same results between 2.23 and 2.22 drivers.

Last edited by ShK; 19 September 2018 at 17:52.
ShK is online now  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Pegasos 1 G3 600Mhz Radeon 9200 klapdeur MarketPlace 0 01 October 2011 21:48
radeon 9200 purchase source support.Hardware 7 19 August 2010 05:36
Mediator TX & Radeon 9200 Sallinen support.Hardware 87 01 February 2010 19:50
Radeon 9200 Drivers AlfaRomeo request.Apps 30 13 October 2009 14:47
TFT and Radeon 9200 card ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 0 20 September 2006 18:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08240 seconds with 15 queries