English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2018, 21:08   #1
BMD
Amiga Man

BMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana / United States
Posts: 59
ACA1233n FPU/Jumpers?

So i ordered my 68882 FPU and its socket... check

Ordered the 50Mhz oscillator and its socket... check

Solder ... check

Soldering iron ... check

wait... whats this "Disable" jumper... hrmmm
looks like it was used then removed at the factory...

WHAT, there's more? hrmm there is a "NMI" Jumper...
doesn't look like its been used.

Hrmmm there's 4 holes on the rear of the board labeled "TEST"
Never used either...

I know none of these pertain to the FPU installation, but what for?

Thoughts?

Also are there any other known MODS or anything else about this card?

Last edited by BMD; 17 September 2018 at 21:14.
BMD is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 22:28   #2
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride
Posts: 51
The only instructions I have found on adding an FPU to a ACA1233n is to disable burst mode but that's done via software.
Vypr is offline  
Old 17 September 2018, 23:09   #3
BMD
Amiga Man

BMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana / United States
Posts: 59
yeah saw that. funny how he states in the "short manual" to look at the wiki for installation help and thats all you get.

also to set waitsates to 0
BMD is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 12:42   #4
Vypr
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: East Kilbride
Posts: 51
To be fair, he does recommend against installing an FPU on this board, I believe it causes issues on memory timing and renders the board unstable. I was swithering whether to fit one on my 1233n till I realised I didn't actually run anything that requires an FPU.
Vypr is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 14:20   #5
d3cka2d3pwood
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 43
I have a 1233n and it works perfectly plug and play, not sure about adding a FPU though.
I recently contacted the manufacturer (individual computers) about my brothers 1221ec and Jens is very helpful.
d3cka2d3pwood is offline  
Old 18 September 2018, 14:23   #6
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,772
Two wild guesses:

Disable: Disables the card
NMI: Not a jumper but a header for an NMI switch (used to trigger debuggers for example)
The test pins could be anything. Some times they are used for some kind of serial interface like I2C but I am not sure the ACAs are using I2C for anything. I suggest you don't mess with them as they are probably not very useful to you anyway.

Also, what do you need an FPU for? Adding one could make the card unstable and slower, so unless you really know why you need an FPU, then I'd just leave it out.
demolition is offline  
Old 26 September 2018, 03:23   #7
BMD
Amiga Man

BMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana / United States
Posts: 59
[ Show youtube player ]

Installed VIA Sockets for easy removal...
BMD is offline  
Old 28 September 2018, 07:10   #8
BMD
Amiga Man

BMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana / United States
Posts: 59
MC68030RC50C ordered (Getting the actual Motorola chip, replacing the chip produced by Freescale) MC68030RC40C on board is a clone. Being bumped up 10 mhz!

Last edited by BMD; 28 September 2018 at 07:17.
BMD is offline  
Old 30 September 2018, 00:40   #9
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 111
Why do you think the onboard 030 is a clone ? looking at the pics in the video it looks 100% real. and i dont thing IComp uses fake chips.
Btw its an MC68030RC40B not C onboard.
esel is offline  
Old 30 September 2018, 00:45   #10
BMD
Amiga Man

BMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana / United States
Posts: 59
mine is a C sir and yes mine is a clone it is NOT a Motorola chip

video is not mine thats a ACA1233 not a ACA1233n
BMD is offline  
Old 30 September 2018, 20:40   #11
esel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kassel
Posts: 111
Some aca 1233n have freescale 030 with is a 100% Original 030 Cpu.
That is Not a clone !
esel is offline  
Old 07 October 2018, 15:08   #12
madpete
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 2
Hi BMD, hoping you can help me out...

I have a ACA1233n and I want to do the same thing, add an FPU.

I've having trouble identifying exactly what's needed, as there doesn't seem to be a great deal of info around!

I think I need a 68882 in 68pin PGA format, and a 68pin PGA socket correct?

And a Oscillator Crystal, but I'm struggling to confirm it's socket and type? Is it 14-dil dip with 4 pin?

Also wondering where you got your parts from, and they seem quite hard to find... esp the 68882. Though I am in the UK, so it may not be applicable.

I would super appreciate any help you can throw my way!

Many thanks, Pete.


Quote:
Originally Posted by BMD View Post
So i ordered my 68882 FPU and its socket... check

Ordered the 50Mhz oscillator and its socket... check

Solder ... check

Soldering iron ... check

wait... whats this "Disable" jumper... hrmmm
looks like it was used then removed at the factory...

WHAT, there's more? hrmm there is a "NMI" Jumper...
doesn't look like its been used.

Hrmmm there's 4 holes on the rear of the board labeled "TEST"
Never used either...

I know none of these pertain to the FPU installation, but what for?

Thoughts?

Also are there any other known MODS or anything else about this card?

Last edited by madpete; 07 October 2018 at 15:16.
madpete is offline  
Old 09 October 2018, 07:24   #13
BMD
Amiga Man

BMD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Shreveport, Louisiana / United States
Posts: 59
Yes either 68881 or 68882 FPU, thats the right socket and either the short or longer oscillator will work 50Mhz make sure the Mhz matches the FPU speed, just get the same socket. Orientation! Make sure you have pin one of the FPU on the Y looking gold part of the FPU to pin one and the pointed square end of the oscillator matching up with the square print on the board weather its the smaller or longer one. Easy peasy, just keep your soldering tight inbetween the FPU pins and cleanup good afterwards. It works soon as its soldered in, you might have to ACASetWaitStates w=0 or W=1 to see which preforms better.

After its set it wont change on a reset so its a non-volitile setting by power cycle.
BMD is offline  
Old 12 October 2018, 01:03   #14
madpete
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 2
Great. Many thanks for the reply man, really appreciate it!


Quote:
Originally Posted by BMD View Post
Yes either 68881 or 68882 FPU, thats the right socket and either the short or longer oscillator will work 50Mhz make sure the Mhz matches the FPU speed, just get the same socket. Orientation! Make sure you have pin one of the FPU on the Y looking gold part of the FPU to pin one and the pointed square end of the oscillator matching up with the square print on the board weather its the smaller or longer one. Easy peasy, just keep your soldering tight inbetween the FPU pins and cleanup good afterwards. It works soon as its soldered in, you might have to ACASetWaitStates w=0 or W=1 to see which preforms better.

After its set it wont change on a reset so its a non-volitile setting by power cycle.
madpete is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ACA1233n Vs Blizzard mk2 1230/50 mhz with 6882 FPU Pjeff18 support.Hardware 18 11 September 2018 17:27
FPU VS jumpers Lord Aga support.Hardware 30 29 June 2018 16:00
Problem with new ACA1233n arti040 support.Hardware 95 29 June 2018 14:04
My ACA1233N has arrived Glen M support.Hardware 14 15 May 2017 13:45
Anyone with a ACA1233n? Help with Maprom Pjeff18 support.Hardware 16 09 March 2017 14:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08104 seconds with 15 queries