English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Requests > Looking for a game name ?

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 November 2009, 01:21   #1
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
[Found: Savage Quest] Dinosaur / T-Rex arcade game @ Segaworld Trocadero

After reading Paul's "KLOV" thread it jogged my memory about something. Yes I know this section is really for Amiga games but I thought I might give it a shot anyway...

Back in 1999-2000 when I first arrived in London I used to go to Segaworld Trocadero every now and then with my twin brother. We used to play this awesome "Dinosaur" / "T-Rex" based game. It was 3D, you controlled a T-Rex and ran through lucious scrolling landscapes (left to right) fighting other dinosaurs etc. There were huge bosses at the end of the levels, I remember one where you'd come into a sort of ring / fighting pit and there was this huge contraption being controlled by cavemen.

I've been racking my brain for years trying to remember what it's called. I've checked various sites like The Killer List of Videogames (KLOV), System 16 - The Arcade Museum and many others but have been unable to find any mention of it at all. As far as I'm aware it also hasn't been released in MAME32 as yet

Anybody ever play this game at Segaworld Trocadero? Even better, anyone remember what it was called
DamienD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 November 2009, 02:41   #2
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 6,604
Primeval Hunt?

http://www.segaarcade.com/video/primevalhunt.aspx
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 10 November 2009, 02:56   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Thanks for the suggestion Galahad but unfortunately it's not this.

You used a joystick to control the T-Rex and there were two buttons. From memory one was "run" and the other was "attack".

Also, in one of the levels you were running through a forest type landscape, there were rivers / creeks cutting through and Deinonychus or Compsognathus would attack you.

Finally, another end of level boss was a Stegosaurus or Triceratops.
DamienD is online now  
Old 11 November 2009, 00:58   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
I've created a post over at the MAMEWorld Forums, hopefully somebody knows this game
DamienD is online now  
Old 11 November 2009, 01:09   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Savage Quest? [ Show youtube player ]
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 November 2009, 01:12   #6
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Absolutely legendary. One of the MAMEDevs Phil Bennett guessed it 7 minutes after I posted

The game is called "Savage Quest", see a YouTube video [ Show youtube player ]
DamienD is online now  
Old 11 November 2009, 01:23   #7
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Just read some infomation about the game on KLOV:

Quote:
Very Rare - There is one known instance of Savage Quest owned by one of our 900 members. It is an original dedicated machine (not another machine converted with a kit).

Of the 56,746 video games (3,416 unique) tracked by the Video Game Preservation Society, this game ranks a 1 on a scale out of 100 (100 = most commonly seen, 1=least common) in popularity based on ownership records.
Doesn't look like this will be emulated in MAME32 anytime soon
DamienD is online now  
Old 11 November 2009, 03:22   #8
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,928
I wonder what hardware this game runs on besides the Pentium III processor.
http://www.answers.com/topic/savage-quest
Retroplay is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 01:36   #9
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Years later and still "Savage Quest" doesn't work in the latest version of MAME
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 July 2017, 16:54   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,292
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Doesn't look like this will be emulated in MAME32 anytime soon
This is a PC probably with a 3D videocard, maybe a Voodoo?
[ Show youtube player ]
Akira is offline  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:01   #11
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Yes, it is a PC with Voodoo card.

From memory in later versions of MAME it gets past what is shown in that video i.e. passes the BIOS, floppy drive, sees the compressed hard drive, starts to load in DOS etc. but that's about all.

Hopefully someday it will be fully emulated
DamienD is online now  
Old 19 July 2017, 19:29   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,292
Maybe the solution is to make tehse ROMs work on DosBox? Does DosBox have Voodoo 3dfx emulation?
Akira is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 01:20   #13
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
It's a good suggestion but can't imagine it's that simple.

I mean, I haven't used DOSBox in years. It does support Voodoo 3DFX as far as I'm aware but:
  • Don't think it supports .CHD files?
  • How do you see what files are being loaded / reside on the .CHD in order to create the "Config.sys" & "Autoexec.bat" files, plus required drivers and then load the actual game from whatever directory it's stored in?
  • How do you tell it to also load / use the required ROMs?
  • How do you setup arcade DIP switches / controls?
  • etc...
The MAME guys are very smart cookies. If it's not fully emulated yet i.e. not even starting / showing the game then...

Anyway, I'm a patient man... Sure it will happen at some stage
DamienD is online now  
Old 20 July 2017, 01:46   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,292
I am thinking that if Toni managed to make the Laserdisc arcades work on WinUAE, you can surely take DosBox and make these things run.

But for that you need DosBox to be still developed (its status is uncertain to me) and a developer that wants to add this support.

Since MAME opens the CHD images and all, it means there is source out there talking about them, accessing them and using them.

It has nothing to do with the MAME team not being smart. Sometimes the emulation is not there because there's just not a way to make it happen in that framework. Things like licenses come to mind.

It's the same reason why, I am guessing, Toni was asked to include Voodoo emulation on WinUAE because it was available in MAME, but there were a bunch of obstacles to do so, but they had nothing to do with anyone "not being smart".

Perhaps the MAME guys just can't, for whatever reason, have all the things that make a PC run added into MAME, not just yet.

Again, all assumptions from my hand. It seems pretty weird to not have a PC-based game not running nowadays.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 01:59   #15
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,075
Speaking of the Trocadero, they had a Battletech arcade in the cellar in the mid-nineties. Reportedly the early Battletech cabinets were Amiga based.
idrougge is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 02:01   #16
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
There is this interesting video on YouTube:

[ Show youtube player ]

Read the description and comments; these ones in particular:

Quote:
Hey Trevor I got this game to work on my pc. Any ideas on how to get the joystick to work. Not using mame using the same setup you used. Thanks if you could give me ideas on how to get the joystick to work. Also figured out how to level warp in the game.
Quote:
Jack, I was never able to get the game working with a joystick. I'm certain it needs the controller board that was housed outside of the PC unit.
Quote:
Everything necessary has been provided to help the developers create an emulation. The video you see here is the original Savage Quest PC attached to a typical dell monitor, keyboard & mouse. The video is provided to the devs to demonstrate how the actual hardware behaves at boot up.

The game is not available online or on any console.

The game is only partially controllable with a ps2 keyboard. Enabling USB controllers makes no difference. So: no walk though videos. Sorry.

The actual arcade cabinet was on display at CAX 2011. Soon after, the huge monitor died. Attempts to fix the monitor yielded short playtime, then it would burn out again. We got tired of fixing it.
DamienD is online now  
Old 20 July 2017, 02:04   #17
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,292
So, everything works but controls, on a regular PC? Very interesting.
Maybe the PC interfaced to standard JAMMA with a custom interface.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 July 2017, 02:05   #18
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 9,661
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
So, everything works but controls, on a regular PC? Very interesting.
It seems that way.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Maybe the PC interfaced to standard JAMMA with a custom interface.
Yeah, maybe
DamienD is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Toki] Arcade Game --need title-- Beasty Looking for a game name ? 9 16 February 2010 12:56
[Found: Rolling Thunder] Name of this arcade game Benighted Looking for a game name ? 5 05 November 2009 12:24
[Found: Space Harrier] looking for an old amiga 3d arcade game mrose101 Looking for a game name ? 4 18 January 2008 05:04
[Found: Schelober's Quest for a Babe] Looking for a Maze RPG game? FoxInABox Looking for a game name ? 11 01 July 2007 18:21
[Found]-> Nathan Never (was:Arcade adventure game) Tim Janssen Looking for a game name ? 9 29 July 2006 13:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38969 seconds with 14 queries