English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 April 2019, 08:49   #1
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 721
Colonization max window size hack?

Hello


Colonization have parameter WORKBENCH, which enable using game on Workbench screen.




Problem is that's maximal size of game window. So maybe someone can "hack" game to enable using bigger game window?
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 15 August 2019, 12:58   #2
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: N/A
Posts: 618
+1 to this

Discovered this option for Colonization only a month or two ago. If I may ask, what resolution are you using?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 15 August 2019, 17:59   #3
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 721
I'm using resolution as picture have, its not scaled any way. It's 658 x 514.
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 11:11   #4
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 721
Is not really possible to hack this? I mean by some hex edit just enable bigger window size?
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 11:26   #5
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
The Intuition window size limits can be easily set for any window by finding the window's structure and changing the limit values within it. This could be done with a small program at runtime. However, it might not be as simple as that if the game's display engine hasn't been written to take arbitrary window sizes into account. In other words, there might be a lot more work required to modify the game than simply modifying the window size.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 11:48   #6
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 721
It could be problematic, but mind that scaling main game window (and it's the only window which i mean) is possible already, just blocked to some size because game was planned to Lo-Res screens. Maybe making possibility to Hi-Res, so double it, can be possible without addidtional work?
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 11 November 2019, 13:21   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,446
Yeah, I know it's possible already. When you open a window, you can define maximum and minimum dimensions, and reasonably assume that they remain fixed while your program runs. For example, you might assume that your window never goes above 320 pixels wide, and therefore you need a maximum of 20 16x16 tiles across to fill the display. But if your window can suddenly expand to 640 pixels, that same game logic will show 320 pixels of the game on the left, with a further 320 pixels of garbage on the right. It could be a scratch area of the bitmap, showing random tiles rendered for a scrolling routine, a mirror or the left hand side, or even the contents of random memory areas beyond the end of the bitmap. Even worse, if the game writes to the window in that area beyond the edge of the bitmap, it could trash some other nearby memory, corrupting a program or data, or crashing your machine. So the rendering engine would need to be reworked to allow for the larger size.

It's an easy experiment to do though... If I had some time I'd knock something together.
Daedalus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Max HD size usable with SurfSquirrel? Doc Mindie support.Hardware 12 12 April 2013 11:42
OS 3.5 Max HD Size TheCorfiot support.Hardware 19 01 April 2009 12:50
Max size for 1.3 HDF? Jherek Carnelia support.Other 7 08 May 2007 08:21
MAX size HD with rom 3.1 Stormrider support.Hardware 1 04 March 2006 15:00
Avatars max size goes down to 64*64 RCK project.EAB 6 08 January 2002 01:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09336 seconds with 16 queries