English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 August 2017, 21:05   #21
Marlon_
Apollo Supporter

Marlon_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sundsvall, Sweden
Age: 29
Posts: 164
Send a message via Skype™ to Marlon_
Quote:
Originally Posted by IanP View Post
Whilst the first two share a common design* (just add/remove DB9, micro USB power, CPU socket connectors and load appropriate core) I believe the A1200 version will be a different design with the 32bit 150 pin bus connector and trapdoor form factor.



*600 version would require a PLCC to DIL socket adaptor board.


Yeah, that's what I grasped from the PDF
Marlon_ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 03 August 2017, 21:19   #22
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 579
So for the standalone version, does it comply with any standard mainboard form factor so it will fit in a standard case (Raspberry Pi, Mini ITX, etc.)???
spudje is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 21:40   #23
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 3,777
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
So for the standalone version, does it comply with any standard mainboard form factor so it will fit in a standard case (Raspberry Pi, Mini ITX, etc.)???
maybe not. take a look in the pdf. there are the "pcb dimension for case makers".
emufan is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 22:31   #24
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,440
Standalone version looks interesting
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 22:42   #25
Agilent
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Gentofte/Denmark
Posts: 56
Another (poorly) emulated 68xxx board, I really dont get this. And fanboys come out "ohh, this is not emulated, this is real hardware. NO stupid, this is crappy code in FPGA, crap software, crap hardware, just crap all over.
The Emperor's New Clothes.

And sorry, just my 2 cents
Agilent is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 22:44   #26
SvladJelly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portland / USA
Posts: 24
The A1200 users get punted to the end of the list again.
:-(
Waiting over a year or more for a Vampire a1200, now I fear I'll have to wait another year.
SvladJelly is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 22:46   #27
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 306
@SvladJelly

Why not just go for the standalone version?

Same expirience, just with new hardware.
Overflow is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 22:48   #28
Mick
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: England
Posts: 193
I'm a bit confused by the press release as well.

It says "one design to fit them all" which I assumed was the technical specification rather than the form factor because it said it came in "three flavours", the A1200 version will need edge connector and there is a lack of screw holes for a standalone version. Yet like emufan says there's the diagram in the PDF showing what I assumed was the A500 form factor for case designers?
Mick is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 22:53   #29
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,596
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by SvladJelly View Post
The A1200 users get punted to the end of the list again.
:-(
Waiting over a year or more for a Vampire a1200, now I fear I'll have to wait another year.
Thanks a lot for the news, Apollo Team. I've been waiting from the beginning for the Vampire 1200. I believe you should make it first for us A1200's users, then make the stand alone. There are more A1200's users than any other Amiga.

Just my wishes.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 22:57   #30
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,461
I AM INTERESTED... oh wait, this is not Amibay?
Predseda is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:00   #31
SvladJelly
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Portland / USA
Posts: 24
@overflow. No way!

We don't hang onto the dream of finally a great accelerator for our classic machines, to go standalone, forgoing our beloved case, beloved keyboard, ports, aga chipset and love we've poured into the machines over the years. Really disappointed! Maybe they had problems finding those slot edge connectors after all. :-(
SvladJelly is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:01   #32
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 65
3000/4000 series owners get shafted. Sigh.
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:02   #33
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 65
Note: I still think this thing is very very cool. Just wish there were 3000/4000 versions too.
b0lt-thrower is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:04   #34
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 306
Well, its on the list over V4 versions.

I was also planning to install a Vampire into my A1200, but unless there is a really compelling reason, like advantages of using V4 in a A1200 vs standalone; Im letting my A1200 stay in its original state, and enjoy the Standalone.

Ofcourse, I do have a V600, so easy for me to say this, but I got a feeling that my V600 will get little attention once the standalone arrives.

But ofcourse, opinions differ
Overflow is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:10   #35
Magic
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 166
Does the Vampire (any flavor) play well with Zorro II and Zorro III cards?
Magic is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:15   #36
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 692
Quote:
Originally Posted by Magic View Post
Does the Vampire (any flavor) play well with Zorro II and Zorro III cards?
It doesn't not work mostly with Zorro-II. Many Zorro-II cards work, some don't. I've tested Merlin, A2065, DKB Rapidfire and a couple others in the A2000. There are no Zorro-III machines that the Vampires are compatible with.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:30   #37
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,440
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
Well, its on the list over V4 versions.

I was also planning to install a Vampire into my A1200, but unless there is a really compelling reason, like advantages of using V4 in a A1200 vs standalone; Im letting my A1200 stay in its original state, and enjoy the Standalone.
No advantage in connecting it to 25 year old hardware (possibly a disadvantage), that's why I've always been more interested in a standalone version...it just makes more sense to me. People need to understand that producing a standalone board was always the Apollo team's ultimate goal.

NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:35   #38
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,461
It is an eternal fight between logic and feelings, you know.
Predseda is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:52   #39
Overflow
Registered User

 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Norway
Posts: 306
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
No advantage in connecting it to 25 year old hardware (possibly a disadvantage), that's why I've always been more interested in a standalone version...it just makes more sense to me. People need to understand that producing a standalone board was always the Apollo team's ultimate goal.

Yes. While I love my V600, a mere bump is enough to reset the system. I guess I dont have a firm/solid install of the Vampire over the A600 CPU. Quite annoying.
Its why I have a standalone Keyboard and mouse attached to it, and put it in a desk drawer so I cant touch it directly.


The standalone is going to be a blessing!
Overflow is offline  
Old 03 August 2017, 23:57   #40
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,596
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Just to say what I feel and I don't want to be rude, but I believe that the real Amiga users have to be attended first. If you want a standalone use WinUAE on your PC (or Raspberry Pi or similars) and you get exactly the same.

As I say, just my feelings.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please Apollo team, a Mini PCIE slot is a MUST have for future Vampire Juz400 Amiga scene 42 20 March 2017 22:45
Interview with Gunnar from Vampire team - news! rats Amiga scene 9 31 August 2016 19:21
Join the Vampire / Aros 68k - Team OlafSch Amiga scene 53 06 March 2016 20:22
Apollo Team has new Cyclone 5 FPGA accellerator cards OlafSch Amiga scene 245 23 August 2015 19:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18535 seconds with 13 queries