English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 June 2016, 06:29   #1
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Large Hard Drive Partition Question

I have a 4GB hard drive that's currently partitioned into two 2GB partitions. Is there any reason I can't just make one large 4GB partition? I think I heard somewhere that it eats up RAM, but how much? I have 2MB of chip ram and 16MB of fast ram (I could also get another 8MB of ram if need be, but it would be Zorro II ram).
Tempest 2084 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 June 2016, 06:35   #2
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
If anything, it eats less RAM.
idrougge is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 07:12   #3
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
So a larger single partition would use less ram?
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 09:44   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,359
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Some tens of kilobytes less. :-)

The partition size depends a bit on the filesystem you have chosen. If you're running FFS, you should keep the partitions relatively small. The biggest reason is the disk-validator. Larger partitions take longer to validate and more importantly, the validation process eats a lot of RAM when you have multi-gig partition. Potentially more RAM is required than is installed in your computer.

PFS3/SFS don't need the validation process, so partition size is not such a big concern.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 12:02   #5
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,552
16 MB RAM is sufficient for everything. As a rule of thumb FFS needs as many megabytes of RAM to validate as the partition's size is in gigabytes.
thomas is online now  
Old 26 June 2016, 12:10   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,359
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Good to know. I ran out once on an A500+A590 combo, but I never found out how much I should have had. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 13:41   #7
Kin Hell
Registered User
Kin Hell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cornwall, UK
Posts: 593
But large Partitions are harder to maintain & will slow up your overall system performance, especially if it is an IDE drive. SCSI is more forgiving because of no CPU loading & DMA access.

100Mb as a boot partition is plenty big enough for OS3.9 & a 50Mb boot partition is considered overkill for OS3.1....

So, 4Mb of Fastram still leaves 12Mb Fast & 3 or 4 Partitions across a 4GB HD is not going to deplete an amount of Ram that will leave your Miggy useless.

100Mb - Boot Partition
200Mb - Work Partition - Apps/Utils
2.5GB - Games Partition
1.0GB - Back-up Partiton

Easy to maintain partitions, quicker to back up & less to loose if your Hard drive bitmap ever got seriously screwed up.
Kin Hell is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 13:47   #8
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kin Hell View Post
Easy to maintain partitions, quicker to back up & less to loose if your Hard drive bitmap ever got seriously screwed up.
Indeed.
Thorham is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 16:38   #9
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
let me give some more details. I have an A3000, and I plan on putting either OS 3.9 or ClassicWB on it depending on which I like better. I'm using my Amiga mostly for WHDLoad so I wanted all my games on one large partition so the launcher program could find them easier. Since my HD is only 4GB I was going to stay with the original FFS but if it has that validation issue I can try one of the others (which is better for my situation?).
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 17:45   #10
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,751
If you only want to play WHDLoad games then a boot partition (about 100MB but depends on what the OS install needs) and a games partition is enough. For data or other programms another partition is recommendable.

If you really only want WHDLoad then you don`t need a complete OS install. Do this only when you know what are you doing.

PFS or SFS as filesystem is a good choice. Both will work.
daxb is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 18:48   #11
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
I (and most Amigas) always keep the system on a separate, small, System partition.

For reasons of security, I add another system partition of the same size to which I regularly backup my main system partition. That way, it is always possible to restore your system quickly if something happens.
idrougge is offline  
Old 26 June 2016, 21:21   #12
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
So maybe a small 250MB system partition, a 250MB backup partition, and 3.5GB games partition then?

Does OS 3.9 or ClassicWB come with the updated file systems or do I have to install those manually? Can you update the filesystem on a partition with data on it or will it reformat the drive?

Last edited by Tempest 2084; 27 June 2016 at 01:56.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 03:50   #13
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
You can't change the file system to an alien one without reformating the drive. Changing between versions of the same file system might work.
idrougge is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 16:24   #14
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
You can't change the file system to an alien one without reformating the drive. Changing between versions of the same file system might work.
Ah. That's what I was afraid of. Well I'll try FFS for now and if that causes issues then I'll make a little OS partition and a large game partition and change the file system on it.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 18:04   #15
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Just go ahead and throw in PFS3.
idrougge is offline  
Old 27 June 2016, 19:27   #16
Tempest 2084
Prototype Historian
Tempest 2084's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SE MI / USA
Posts: 405
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Just go ahead and throw in PFS3.
I think I'll try that next time. I've already got the 4GB partition and I transferred the system.zip file over for ClassicWB (which took 3 hours by serial). If I start having issues I'll start from scratch with PFS3.
Tempest 2084 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using large hard drive on A1200 christopherpm support.Hardware 6 11 April 2013 14:03
Large Hard Drive issues... Info-Seeker support.Hardware 2 08 September 2009 13:07
A600 and Large Hard Drive? pvt_beano support.Hardware 14 16 January 2006 13:26
80GB Hard drive Partition xalakibaniou support.Hardware 1 04 October 2005 00:07
Hard Drive Partition ironthighs New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 07 September 2004 23:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18012 seconds with 12 queries