English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 December 2016, 18:02   #661
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Starglider 2 View Post
Can any such devices make HD ADFs?

Thanks!!
Nope, but they are not really suited for creating adfs anyway. You should use transdisk or some other tool in workbench or shell and save the adfs to your hard drive.

Then naturally you will need to be able to use them, these hardware floppy emulators will not do high density, so you would install an image file driver to amigaos and read the contents when the os is running.
Jope is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 December 2016, 18:03   #662
Starglider 2
Registered User

Starglider 2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: California
Posts: 795
OK!

Thanks!!
Starglider 2 is offline  
Old 20 December 2016, 19:46   #663
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
I like this one: http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/diskimage

It requires a bit of thought when installing, you should take a close look inside the different dosdrivers and install the ones you need, changing the names + ordering the unit numbers as you go.
Jope is offline  
Old 26 February 2017, 00:35   #664
vintageit
Registered User
vintageit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 23
Has anybody actually tried this IR mod?

I have followed all instructions but unable to get this sync'ed with the keychain remote... I'm stuck so any experience with this mod would be helpful as I've started to pull my hair out looking for what I have missed putting this all together

Quote:
Originally Posted by Solo761 View Post
Dang, I had some buzzers I got with PC cases, who knows where they ended . Luckily I found some one ebay, 10 pcs for $2. At first I looked for "piezo speaker" and found only 5 pcs for $4-5.

My remote mod is finally finished, it took a long time for attiny's to arrive . Here's how it looks, Arduino is used only as 5V power supply

[ Show youtube player ]

And how it works inside A500, sensor is sensitive enough to work without "direct aim"

[ Show youtube player ]

Here's the schematic



And this is how it works:

Button push on gotek connects STM MCU pins PC7 (right button, counter up) or PC8 (left button, counter down) to GND. That's how it registers a click.

ATtiny receives signal from IR sensor on PB0 and depending on code received toggles it's PB1 (counter up) or PB2 (counter down) from high to low for short amount of time. This triggers STM pins PC7 and/or PC8 who and registers as a click.

LED that's connected to ATtiny's PB4 is used to signal when the remote is tuned. I'm using small universal remote that supports a lot of devices, it cycles through them when you press mute and when it gets to one that ATtiny recognizes it will use this LED to send signal so we know when to release the mute button. This only needs to be done once, when prepping new remote.

THere's a jumper connected to PB3, it's purpose is to separate two code sets at hardware level. ATtiny recognizes 4 code sets. If your TV turnes out to react to the same codes as ATtiny you can simply switch to next one and solve this issue. It wouldn't be nice if with ADF change you change TV channel . But it could be an issue the other way arround. ATtiny listens to all 4 code sets all the time. You could switch this mini remote to other set and solve interference with TV, but that wouldn't solve the other way around, ATtiny would react to TV remote. This jumper tries to solve that, it separates those 4 code sets to 2 and 2 on hardware level. If ATtiny reacts to TV remote simply put the jumper to those pins or remove it, what ever was at first, and it won't react to those codes anymore.

How it looks inside



Schematic is OK, but I have to rework PCB, this one works, but it could be better (read easier) to assemble. Mostly with capacitor that's under ATtiny. It's reeeeealy tight fit and that needs to be changed.
It works with either 5V or 3.3V power supply, STM MCU works at 3.3V but input pins are 5V tolerant so it shouldn't matter. At first I used 5V, then I tried 3.3V and it also worked fine. ATtiny runs at 8 MHz (interal oscillator) and that works with 3.3V, only case where 5V would be required is if it's run at 16 MHz (Internal PLL), that requires minimum of 4.3V. But it works fine at 8 MHz so that shouldn't be an issue. If anyone's interested I can upload eagle files and ATtiny hex and source.
vintageit is offline  
Old 08 March 2017, 23:55   #665
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Feature Request:

I'd really love for a complete UI overhaul, I was mucking about with XTree Gold recently and it occurred to me that an 80 Column split screen view with SD Card on the Left and Floppy Queue on the Right (or even split top to bottom for improved file name visibility).

Across the Top or Bottom of the screen you could map out all the Function Keys for the various commands/functions and you could use the direction keys for navigating each panel with TAB to switch between panels.

IMHO it would make for a much more user friendly and simpler to manage HxC system.

Here's what XTG can look like so you get the idea:



and an older version:



dJOS is offline  
Old 05 June 2017, 05:26   #666
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
After running through a bunch of issues this weekend I have realized that the Gotek is pickier with which USB sticks you put in it than I originally thought, at least running Cortex firmware.

What's the community's consensus on which brands and models are best to use with Goteks?
Akira is offline  
Old 05 June 2017, 05:35   #667
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
After running through a bunch of issues this weekend I have realized that the Gotek is pickier with which USB sticks you put in it than I originally thought, at least running Cortex firmware.

What's the community's consensus on which brands and models are best to use with Goteks?
Cotex firmware is just really picky, it's pot luck imo.
dJOS is offline  
Old 05 June 2017, 07:50   #668
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 42
Posts: 360
I've generally had good success with pretty much all Sandisk drives with cortex or HxC firmware.
thgill is offline  
Old 05 June 2017, 08:49   #669
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Cotex firmware is just really picky, it's pot luck imo.


Hmmso it IS fw dependent. Well I only have Cortex for the time being, will put HxC soon, but would be good to find an USB stick that works with both.
Akira is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 01:14   #670
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 462
FYI The new HxC File selector is now compatible with the Cortex Firmware since this one use the HxC Direct access protocol... The difference is the "config file" and a different ID code. Wasn't too hard to adapt... :

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
HxC Floppy Emulator file selector Version 1.65 released.
For SD HxC Floppy Emulator, HxC Gotek and even Cortex FW now... :

https://github.com/jfdelnero/HXCFE_f...selector_V1_65



Main changes :

- Major code rewrite/refactoring to prepare the next releases.

- Pure text interface to port it to others machines : No more graphical dependency.

- You can mount/switch to any emulators connected to the machine. Up to 4 drives on Amiga.

- Cortex Firmware compatibility added for the Amiga and PC/SDL version :
It seems that this firmware use the HxC Direct Access protocol...
SELECTOR.ADF available for this firmware :
http://hxc2001.com/download/floppy_d...r/SELECTOR.ADF

- Search/filter function fixed.

- Various glitches and bugs corrected.

Let me know if you have any issue/glitch
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=...&postcount=952
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 15:06   #671
UberFreak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: the world
Posts: 267
I think at this point the Cortex firmware can retire, there's absolutely no reason to use it anymore.
UberFreak is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 16:05   #672
Jeff_HxC2001
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Paris / France
Posts: 462
I can see that many still have it and lots of them will not upgrade to another firmware since they was directly sold programmed 'as it is' without easy way to upgrade it. So think that a new selector may be a good news for these cases.
Jeff_HxC2001 is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 17:01   #673
Superman
Registered User

Superman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Wakefield
Age: 42
Posts: 637
It works well and I can actually see the full filenames and disk numbers now.

Nice job
Superman is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 17:09   #674
PortuguesePilot
The Son of Luso
PortuguesePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Setúbal, Portugal
Posts: 368
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_HxC2001 View Post
I can see that many still have it and lots of them will not upgrade to another firmware since they was directly sold programmed 'as it is' without easy way to upgrade it. So think that a new selector may be a good news for these cases.
It is. And I'm using for that very same reason. Cheers!
PortuguesePilot is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 17:45   #675
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 621
I am really happy I upgraded all 3 of my Goteks (going through the hassle of ordering that serial device to program them) to HXC firmware (2 of my 5 was bought with the HXC firmware pre-installed) looking at how much Jeff_HxC2001 has been supporting and improving it. I feel pretty safe that all my 5 Goteks has a firmware that is constantly being worked on and improved.
turrican9 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cd32 from analogic computers not working properly fondpondforever Amiga scene 11 22 August 2013 15:24
Love Emulators? - Dgen & Hatari emulators Paul News 17 19 January 2012 19:28
A1200 floppy not working mtb support.Hardware 5 22 November 2010 10:05
floppy df0 working / not working Dave_wb support.Hardware 3 07 January 2009 10:11
Guinness Book entry with 274 working Computers/Consoles Retro-Nerd Retrogaming General Discussion 4 25 August 2007 20:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22735 seconds with 15 queries