English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 August 2019, 20:38   #1
Jeff_Birt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Rolla
Posts: 51
How to convert LHA to ADF?

I found a program that creates video test patterns. It comes as an LHA file, which I understand is a compressed folder, like a ZIP file. I need to convert/save to an ADF so I can run this on my A500 via a Goteck with Flash Floppy. I was able to extract the files from the LHA on my PC.

Someone on a Facebook group suggested ADF Opus but it seems it acts as a front end for Disk2FDI, at least when it comes to ADF creation from a set of files. Disk2FDI is not free and both it and ADF Opus have not been updated in years so I am hesitant to support a dead project.

I have also read that you can mount the LHA in WinUAE or Amiga Forever and create an ADF from that which seems a rather cumbersome route.

I'm new to Amiga but I'm surprised there are not more tools for easily creating ADFs since they seem to be so prevalent in use. Yes, I understand an ADF is a disk image.

So, if you have a group of files you want to create an ADF from how do you do so?

Thanks for any help.
Jeff_Birt is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 20:52   #2
heavy
noodle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 242
you can use ADFview for windows (old, don't know if works with most recent win64...)
http://www.viksoe.dk/adfview/
in the zone
heavy is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 21:03   #3
Jeff_Birt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Rolla
Posts: 51
Thanks. That seemed to work on Win10. I was able to create a bootable ADF and even explorer other ADFs. Now to see how the ADF works on the A500.
Jeff_Birt is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 21:23   #4
heavy
noodle
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: europe
Posts: 242
for an exe only, you can use exe2adf
http://www.exe2adf.com/
https://www.pouet.net/prod.php?which=66640
heavy is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 22:15   #5
jPV
Registered User
jPV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: RNO
Posts: 796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeff_Birt View Post
I'm new to Amiga but I'm surprised there are not more tools for easily creating ADFs since they seem to be so prevalent in use. Yes, I understand an ADF is a disk image.

So, if you have a group of files you want to create an ADF from how do you do so?
That kind of ADF creating is a hit or miss process, and can't be automated reliably. The programs distributed in LHA/LZX/Zip/etc archives are meant to be started from a Workbench environment. They usually require libraries, fonts, devices, or other resources from the (installed) operating system.

So, if you just dump them on a disk image without actual OS files, it's very likely that they won't run or don't run optimally (running programs on accelerated Amigas without Setpatch will make them slower than should etc).

If you want to create these kind of ADF images, you should know exactly what programs require and what are the minimum OS files, settings, assigns, etc you need. It differs for each program.
jPV is offline  
Old 11 August 2019, 22:36   #6
Jeff_Birt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Rolla
Posts: 51
Thanks. The program in question (TESTCARD) was very clear about what it needed, i.e. to be copied onto a initialized floppy disk. I have created the ADF and it works, at least so far it seems to as I can run it after booting to workbench. I will re-read its documentation to make sure I did not miss something though.

Next problem is two more key stems have gone non-conductive on the keyboard and one of them, the space, is used to change screens so now to do some keyboard repair.
Jeff_Birt is offline  
Old 12 August 2019, 00:04   #7
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,933
EasyADF supports both LHA and ADF so you can LHA the files to a virtual ADF and create that as a file.


Link to EasyADF:


http://amigakit.amiga.store/product_...roducts_id=694
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 12 August 2019, 00:43   #8
Jeff_Birt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Rolla
Posts: 51
That is great but does not solve the problem of getting the LHA I downloaded from the PC to the A500 in order to run this software on it.
Jeff_Birt is offline  
Old 12 August 2019, 01:58   #9
Jeff_Birt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Rolla
Posts: 51
Using ADFView I was able to create an empty ADF and copy the contents of the TestCard LHA into it. After reading the instructions which came with TestCard it seems that you 'can' copy it to a bootable Workbench disk and it will auto boot into the program but you don't have to. It runs fine off the ADF from the Gotek/Flashfloppy.

The issue with the keys I mentioned before was 'patched up' by swapping the key stem from every large key with a 'bail' (metal wire/bar/hinge underneath). This A500 was brand new when I got it a few months ago, it had never been out of the box. The return large return key was not working at the time so I swapped it with F10. But F10 is used by the FF selector program so when swapping out the F10 plunger with a good one someone sent me I then found the left Shift and Space Bar were not working (and of course the Space bar is used by TestCard). Ohming out each plunger showed that every key with a bail had high resistance, which seems to come from contamination due to the grease used on the bail to keycap contact area. Off to find a parts A500 Mitsumi KB now...

Thaks everyone for your help.
Jeff_Birt is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 17:31   #10
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,354
Old thread but actual question

Perhaps what i am looking for it doesn't exists

Is there any Windows tool (or DOS command line) that take in input a LHA and create ADF with the files of the LHA archive ?

I mean, an automated way to convert LHA to ADF ?

This would work if LHA contains all the necessary files, of course
chip is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 19:43   #11
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,560
There's no automatic tool that will do this...

Besides, even if a tool extracted an .LHA's contents to an .ADF, how is is going to:
  • Create a "S/Startup-Sequence" to load the required game EXE or app?
  • What happens if "C", "Fonts", "Libs" or other files are also required for the game EXE or app to work?
It's a manual thing I'm afraid.
DamienD is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 19:46   #12
chip
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Italy
Age: 46
Posts: 2,354
I found some LHA which contain already the necessary files

Strange to think, but these are actually disks "inside" LHA files

But i didn't want to make a manual operation (for sure i know how to create the ADF)
chip is offline  
Old 20 January 2021, 23:12   #13
dodke
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: London / UK
Posts: 104
There's a tool for converting an executable + data files into an ADF. It's kind of designed originally for packaging demos or intros easily but obviously can be used for anything.
http://www.exe2adf.com/
dodke is offline  
Old 21 January 2021, 14:35   #14
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 2,765
A small script can automate this. Mount ADF, extract LHA to mounted ADF, finish.
daxb is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Convert ZIP to ADF? swanng New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 13 February 2018 08:57
Convert whdload to adf or floppy locksmith project.WHDLoad 3 16 November 2015 22:53
Convert extended ADF to IPF UED support.Other 16 04 October 2015 18:38
How to convert IPF to ADF? caius project.SPS (was CAPS) 39 03 June 2014 16:51
Convert ADF to DMS 1time support.Other 7 21 July 2012 18:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10131 seconds with 15 queries