English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 September 2020, 01:35   #1
Power P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Gvp a530

Hello...

... where can I find the ROM for the GVP A530?
Power P is offline  
Old 04 September 2020, 01:51   #2
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,682
Probably in here

/TheZone/files/expansion_boot_roms [AccessX 2000 (original scrambled), Microbotics HardFrame v1.9].zip
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 September 2020, 01:58   #3
Power P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
Thank you...

... but I only find "GVP A1230 Turbo Series II" and "GVP_A3001_AT_v3.3".
Power P is offline  
Old 04 September 2020, 02:07   #4
DamienD
disengaged
DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 44
Posts: 19,682
Then sorry, I don't know

Edit: maybe:

... http://amiga.resource.cx/exp/gvp530
... http://babel.de/amiga.html#gvp
DamienD is offline  
Old 04 September 2020, 06:49   #5
Matt_H
Registered User
Matt_H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 391
I'm not sure there is a specific ROM for the A530. There is a ROM for the SCSI controller, the same as most of GVP's other SCSI controllers - 4.15 is the last version, included in the archive linked above.
Matt_H is offline  
Old 04 September 2020, 09:48   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,647
Yeah, all A500 and Zorro II GVP SCSI boards (including accelerators that have SCSI) use common ROMs. Each board has identification nybble in autoconfig space that ROM boot code reads.

A1200 GVP boards with SCSI use different ROMs.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 September 2020, 01:39   #7
enigma776
Bringer of Death

enigma776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Yeah, all A500 and Zorro II GVP SCSI boards (including accelerators that have SCSI) use common ROMs. Each board has identification nybble in autoconfig space that ROM boot code reads.

A1200 GVP boards with SCSI use different ROMs.
Is this why winuae displays "GVP Series II v4.15(16k)"? I can't find the rom but it's there.
enigma776 is offline  
Old 06 September 2020, 19:16   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by enigma776 View Post
Is this why winuae displays "GVP Series II v4.15(16k)"? I can't find the rom but it's there.
Yes. Thats the latest official version that is "all" A500/Z2 GVP compatible.

WinUAE detects rom files using checksum, rom file name can be anything.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 06 September 2020, 20:11   #9
enigma776
Bringer of Death

enigma776's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 247
So its probably GVP_SCSI_v4.15.bin then?
enigma776 is offline  
Old 07 September 2020, 04:44   #10
Power P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
I think I read that GVP PC286 cannot be emulated?
Is it possible to deactivate the A530 using a keyboard shortcut. As well as the original device with the on and off switch?
Power P is offline  
Old 07 September 2020, 19:11   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 24,647
Quote:
Originally Posted by Power P View Post
I think I read that GVP PC286 cannot be emulated?
Is it possible to deactivate the A530 using a keyboard shortcut. As well as the original device with the on and off switch?
There is nothing that "can't be emulated", it only requires time. Only Commodore bridgeboards are documented in low level. Reversing other bridgeboards is not worth the trouble (and I am not interested in seeing any x86 code. Which there is a lot in BIOS..)

A530 does not have software disable and hardware switch equals manually configured 68000 CPU. You can't change the CPU without reset anyway.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 07 September 2020, 19:21   #12
Power P
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: Germany
Posts: 6
OK thanks.
Power P is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS. Ebay GVP A530 AMIGAZ MarketPlace 4 18 April 2012 01:43
Getting my GVP A530 CF'd for my A500 Gyro support.Hardware 6 29 June 2011 17:36
GVP A530 Turbo 4EverAMIGA MarketPlace 0 28 February 2011 12:11
help - Price for a GVP A530... Paul_s MarketPlace 10 17 June 2009 12:42
GVP A530 Wanted...... THX1138 MarketPlace 2 12 June 2005 19:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08000 seconds with 15 queries