English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 June 2013, 04:29   #1
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 331
Internal parallel port

Hi I am toying with the idea of hooking up a sampler and mounting it inside the amiga, is there any smart way of adding an internal parport?

Can it be piggy backed or something?
spoUP is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 05:56   #2
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Which Amiga model?
Cymru is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 08:22   #3
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
I used an IDC 25pin connector with a ribbon to do exactly the same thing on my A600 (putting a MAS-Player inside).

This is how it looked like:


Whenever you want to use the parallel port for something else, you can always disconnect the cable and be done with it


Mounting it inside is easy if you strip it down...


...and you twist it making it round
mfilos is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 14:25   #4
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 331
Mfilos i googled up your solution before posting. It's very practical but not so good looking from the outside.

It's an A1200 BTW.

Last edited by prowler; 21 November 2013 at 00:06. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
spoUP is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 15:46   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
I would do what mfilos did but route the cable back inside through the hole on the plastic for the parallel port. I think there's enough space for it and you avoid cutting the case.

Otherwise you are looking at soldering cables straight to the parallel port's inside pins. I am assuming you don't need all 25 cables soldered for the sampler to run anyway thus reducing the complexity and "rat's nest syndrome" of the mod.
Akira is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 15:54   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 38
Posts: 6,874
The parallel port is pretty much served by the two CIA chips, so if you make sure you don't plug in anything at the back, you could just steal the signals off those with two upside down sockets.
Jope is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 17:00   #7
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,824
you could make one to go back inside the machine with these:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/STARCONN-C...item2a1d71767a

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/STARCONN-C...item1e74398196

and a bit of ribbon cable.
roy bates is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 18:37   #8
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I would do what mfilos did but route the cable back inside through the hole on the plastic for the parallel port. I think there's enough space for it and you avoid cutting the case.
That's exactly what I did tbh. I haven't cut the plastic at all. The flat ribbon just gets inside through the plastic hole as you can see from the picture clearly

@spoUP
You can choose between different solutions based on what you want in the end.
My solution was ideal for me as I wanted to be able to put Sampler as well in the future so being able to disconnect the MAS Player and adding whatever I wanted was just fine. Also it's not ugly at all imho, as the IDC connector is not that thick checking it sideways.

If A1200 mobo had a hole near the parallel port you could have gotten the signals from the lower side of the mobo and bring them up through the hole.
Since it doesn't though... you can only (as I see it) desolder the 25pin socket, and either resolder it with extra wires for your mod, or don't solder it at all and find a nice cover for the hole.
mfilos is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 21:47   #9
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 331
Allright, thanks a lot boys, i ended up doing it the way mfilos did. Thanks!
spoUP is offline  
Old 24 June 2013, 22:02   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
That's exactly what I did tbh. I haven't cut the plastic at all. The flat ribbon just gets inside through the plastic hole as you can see from the picture clearly
Oh really? i'm blind or it wasn't clear to me It does look like it goes through some place else!

Jope's idea is pretty cool too! But you have to make 100% sure you don't plug anything on the back.
Akira is offline  
Old 20 November 2013, 19:18   #11
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 1,465
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
This is something I have long dithered/dreamed over!

I even thought about putting a midi interface inside using the same method as detailed.

I may actually get around to sorting this one day. I have a midi interface here but the board is too big stupidly gave away one that had a tiny/skinny board which would have fitted perfectly.
ElectroBlaster is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 00:25   #12
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 40
Posts: 1,576
Maybe stripping out the case could reveal a NOT so big or thick PCB underneath
Removing the Midi connectors IF they are soldered is the first task.
mfilos is offline  
Old 23 November 2013, 05:10   #13
Ratte
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Posts: 315
There is a way to adress a "new" third CIA8520.
It could be used for internal hacks, but prgs. must be hacked too.
http://aminet.net/package/docs/hard/ioexpansion
Ratte is offline  
Old 10 December 2013, 06:45   #14
spoUP
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 331
I ended up buying a VarIO that will give me one more parport.
spoUP is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Sharing via the Parallel port burf2000 support.Apps 5 15 August 2012 00:28
In absence of parallel port ? Another World project.SPS (was CAPS) 7 19 September 2008 18:42
USB to Parallel Port dambuster support.Hardware 10 23 May 2007 21:03
What's this? : parallel port thing Galaxy support.Hardware 19 07 September 2006 13:09
Parallel port emulation alexh support.WinUAE 8 20 March 2006 18:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07959 seconds with 13 queries