English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 February 2013, 12:40   #1
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
ADFs to A500

Hi. Does anyone know if it possible to connect my Amiga 500 to my pc, running Amiga forever.
I want to be able to load the adfs from my PC to be read on the A500. Or do I have to create a floppy everytime?

Cheers
trydowave is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 21:03   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Yes, using a null-modem serial cable as described here:
http://www.amigaforever.com/kb/13-105
prowler is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 21:04   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 60
Posts: 3,868
If you have AF you can use Amiga Explorer with a null modem cable or serial cable? I forget which one it is, to transfer files between PC and Amiga. I only ever used it on a A1200, I'm not sure about the A500, but I reckon it should work.

yeah, what he said^
Arnie is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 22:45   #4
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Hi. I kinda guessed that it could be connected. I suppose my real question is if it’s possible to run my library of adfs directly from my pc? The adf appearing on the desktop as a floppy or something like that
I know it won’t be WHDload (Don't think the A500 can run it anyway) but something similar. Or do I have to go out and buy a ton of floppies and copy to my fave games to them and use the Amiga like normal? The article didn’t really go into detail about transferring.
trydowave is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 23:01   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Amiga Explorer lets you explore the Amiga's disk drives in a Windows Explorer interface, and transfer files and disk images back and forth between the machines. So you could, for example transfer a batch of ADF images to your Amiga's hard drive, or write an ADF image to a floppy disk in the Amiga's floppy drive, formatting it, if necessary, from the Windows machine.

Thus, the Amiga is configured as the server and the PC as the client.

What Amiga Explorer will not let you do is control the exchange of files from Workbench. So you could not set up a library of ADFs on your PC and view or mount them from Workbench. The Amiga is the passive machine.

However, building the null-modem serial cable is by far the cheapest (if not the fastest) solution allowing the transfer of files back and forth between a PC and an Amiga.
prowler is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 23:47   #6
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Excellent news.... now just the problem of getting a HD for my Amiga. I know the CF option is a no go, so i'm probarbly going to have to go the A590 route. I imagine theres no way of getting a bog standard IDE HDD connected to the Amiga? I'm guessing the Amiga coudn't see something that large and then theres the issue of the SCSI interface.
trydowave is offline  
Old 11 February 2013, 23:55   #7
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
I know that people will have better suggestions, but have a look at this: http://amiga.erkan.se/index.php/inte...-from-finland/
TCD is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 00:07   #8
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
I know that people will have better suggestions, but have a look at this: http://amiga.erkan.se/index.php/inte...-from-finland/
Yep, that's rather neat, and this will be nice when it's ready:
Zeus68k – Accelerator/IDE/RAM for the A500

Mind you, I still think an A590-equipped A500 has a certain charm.
prowler is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 00:19   #9
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
If you can get an A590 for a good price go for it

This is also interesting if you would like to give WHDLoad a try: http://kipper2k.com/amigaforsale/ (4 & 8 MB Ram expansions)

Lots of goodies out there for the good old A500 recently
TCD is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 00:50   #10
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
That all looks nice but i'm afraid ive got to do this all on a mega cheap budget for now. That means only buying a nullcable for transfers, a RGB to scart cable and some floppies. Later, if I can find em for dirt cheap, an external floppy drive and an A590.

Once i've got some free cash again im planning to buy an A1200 already fully upgraded with CF card and WHDload.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheCyberDruid View Post
This is also interesting if you would like to give WHDLoad a try: http://kipper2k.com/amigaforsale/ (4 & 8 MB Ram expansions)
Wouldn't I still need a CF card for this? I can't do that with an A500 right? Also, don't I need 2.0 roms minimum for WHDload?

Cheers
Tony
trydowave is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 01:16   #11
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Indeed you'd need KS 2.x

Anyway, fingers crossed you can get a cheap A590 then
TCD is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 01:24   #12
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
I do have a busted A600 here with 2.x roms...
trydowave is offline  
Old 12 February 2013, 23:08   #13
Zak
Zap´em

Zak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 357
There is that A570 that I find most interesting. I didn´t yet get one, so I cannot tell from personal experience, though. In theory, you could burn the ISO-disks on PC and use them on A570. Supposedly rare stuff.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Amiga_A570
Zak is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADFs Rabbit80 support.Games 5 10 June 2009 01:53
ADFs? Macca Amiga scene 1 14 June 2007 21:19
Again On ADFs !!!! Another World support.Games 2 08 May 2007 10:28
ADFs from pc to a500. Wally support.Hardware 22 27 March 2003 00:03
My ADFs Djay Amiga scene 29 03 April 2002 19:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07530 seconds with 13 queries