English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Amiga Forever

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 June 2011, 04:31   #1
Jophish
 
Posts: n/a
Eek Amiga Explorer randomly stops transferring files

Howdy.

I have an a500 with Kickstart 2.05, and Amiga Explorer installed. When AE was working correctly, I was able to transfer files of any size with no trouble from a laptop of mine via null modem cable from a COM port directly in the back of the PC.

Now however, when I go to transfer files from PC to miggy, AE will open and it sees the Amiga and all its drives, but when I go to transfer a file, it begins transferring normally for a random amount of time, and then it just stops, as if the file was completely copied over, even if 18kb out of a 255kb file were only copied.

I have honestly no idea why this is occurring, I've tried messing with the serial settings on both the Amiga and PC sides, but I've had no luck. Also, there have been some occasions where very small files, 8-15 kb, transfer over completely before AE seemingly times out, and I've been able to use them properly on the miggy side.

Any help with this problem would be hugely appreciated, thanks so much.
 
Old 30 June 2011, 23:28   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,300
Are you now using the same serial cable as the one you were using when AE worked correctly? Or does the cable you are using now conform to the specification given here:
http://www.amigaforever.com/kb/13-105 ?

They're not all the same, you know.
prowler is offline  
Old 01 July 2011, 00:33   #3
Jophish
 
Posts: n/a
Yup! I'm using the same cable, same PC, and same config from when it was working correctly. It's 25/9 pin to 25/9 pin.

http://www.cablesdirect.co.uk/Write/...L-444_ends.jpg

Kind of like that, its worked fine in the past!
 
Old 01 July 2011, 17:40   #4
r.cade
Registered User
r.cade's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Posts: 319
Send a message via AIM to r.cade Send a message via MSN to r.cade Send a message via Yahoo to r.cade
Are you sure everything is the same on the Amiga? If you changed display modes (interlace vs. non, more overscan, etc.) it reduces the max baud rate you can use and it will lock up.

The best is of course regular High-Res Non-Interlaced 4-colors. More than that will sacrifice baud rates.
r.cade is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Transferring files from Amiga to PC. davidmanvell support.Hardware 12 07 June 2011 10:03
transferring files from pc->amiga with floppy sanDae New to Emulation or Amiga scene 98 28 January 2009 12:46
Problems transferring files from PC to Amiga Gary335 support.Other 8 26 January 2009 19:03
Ethernet connection Amiga-PC. How to transfer files using Amiga Explorer?? Flachkoepper support.Apps 5 21 October 2004 20:20
Transferring files to a real Amiga w/ Null Modem cable agent_jdh New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 01 July 2003 10:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06047 seconds with 13 queries