English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 March 2003, 13:41   #1
DeAMI
 
Posts: n/a
iomega parallel 100mb zip drive question

hi,
just wondering if its possible to run a 100mb parallel zip drive through the parallel port of the amiga 1200. and if so what drivers would i need to get it to run? cheers in advance
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 March 2003, 13:44   #2
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
As I understand the parallel version of the zip drive is completely incompatible with Amiga. You'll need to use the SCSI version. I'm using a SquirrelSCSI adapter off the PCMCIA slot to give me the required SCSI interface.
Echo is offline  
Old 11 March 2003, 13:49   #3
DeAMI
 
Posts: n/a
ahh damn any idea where i could pick a squirrel scsi interface up? or are they rare as hell? and also would a 250mb zip drive work on it ?
 
Old 11 March 2003, 14:08   #4
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Yep, you can use the 250mb zip drives, if you've towered your 1200 you can also use the internal IDE version.
Severin is offline  
Old 11 March 2003, 14:23   #5
Echo
Registered User
Echo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: South-West Wales
Posts: 382
Who needs a tower for IDE devices, I've dangled my hard drive outside the 1200 for years

Admittedly it is now finally inside the case!
Echo is offline  
Old 11 March 2003, 16:45   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 3,704
It is possible to use Parallel ZIP Drives on Amiga, but you have to built your own cable to use it

--> http://ftp.uni-paderborn.de/aminetbin/find?ppazip

RetroMan is offline  
Old 11 March 2003, 23:57   #7
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Yep, I saw that ages ago, bit of a pain if you want to run games from zip though

For those that don't know, you lose the joystick port...
Severin is offline  
Old 12 March 2003, 00:02   #8
Severin
Registered User
Severin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Gloucester / UK
Posts: 700
Send a message via ICQ to Severin
Quote:
Originally posted by Echo
Who needs a tower for IDE devices, I've dangled my hard drive outside the 1200 for years

Admittedly it is now finally inside the case!
Erm, well you can, but as I have 6 IDE and 4 SCSI devices, I wouldn't have a lot of desk left

I will admit that 1 SCSI device is external, but it is a scanner and bigger than my tower case
Severin is offline  
Old 16 March 2003, 05:54   #9
ElectroBlaster
Junior Member
ElectroBlaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Exeter, Devon, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,353
Send a message via ICQ to ElectroBlaster
that zip adaptor is ok but only if you dont mind farting around unplugging it when you want to print summin!

i built one years ago and it worked pretty well
ElectroBlaster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I am after the IOmega Zip Drive Amiga Software by HiSoft Steve request.Apps 11 07 September 2013 18:48
2 X ZIP Drives 100Mb Types For Postage Only Loedown MarketPlace 0 03 March 2013 06:11
Parallel port zip 250 Dave_wb support.Hardware 12 15 December 2009 20:22
Iomega Zip drive aohovland support.Hardware 4 29 November 2009 11:35
Parallel ZIP Drive Drake008@ support.Hardware 2 26 August 2007 21:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13741 seconds with 11 queries