English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 May 2018, 18:57   #1
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,245
Replace 0.09A fan with 0.12A?

I have a beefy PC (250W) power supply that has a 12V 0.09A rate fan that's failed, and I want to replace it, but all I can find are 0.12A fans in the same or similar size.

Is it safe to replace or will this be a problem? Doesn't seem like a huge consumption spike, but you never know, I'm not literate enough to know the facts.
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 May 2018, 20:10   #2
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,927
If you stay with 12V it should be save. P=U x I = 12V x 0.12A = 1,44W compared to 1,08W.

Last edited by daxb; 15 May 2018 at 22:05.
daxb is offline  
Old 15 May 2018, 20:21   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,245
YEs, I am looking at 12V models, but I Am not being able to find a damn 0.09A model! How annoyingly specific it is being :P

Thanks daxb!
Akira is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 06:07   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,600
Don't worry about the amps, just replace it with a suitably sized fan that has the same nominal voltage.

You can check the spec plate on the side of the psu to see how many amps it pushes out on the 12V rail, then you can relate your fan's consumption to that. I'm sure you'll find you don't have to care.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 07:10   #5
huepper
Registered User

huepper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GDR
Age: 44
Posts: 247
Have a look at "NoiseBlocker BlackSilentPro X2" Fan, really silent and only 0.72W@12V.

http://www.blacknoise.com/site/en/pr...mm.php?lang=EN
huepper is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 09:47   #6
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 764
If you can find the specs for the original, maybe replace it with one with smaller power consumption, but same airflow - that solution would create less noise.
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 14:59   #7
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,740
You're very unlikely to be anywhere near the limit of what that PSU can output on the 12V line, but as said, the label should tell you exactly. Chances are it's several amps anyway, and you're only using a small fraction so go nuts.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 16:31   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,245
Thanks for all suggestions guys.
The fan is supposed to be a 4015 but I think it would be just fine with a 4010, unless you tell me opposite.
I just can't find a 4015 that is 0.09A, the nearest I can find is a 0.1A or 0.12A fan with those specs.

I have no idea how to measure or know the airflow of the fan. Any methods? Something I am missing?
The more silent the better of course, but these small fans are usually pretty noisy anyway.

[edit] actually I just found this one, 0.08A!
https://www.ebay.com/itm/12V-4cm-40m...S/252500881940
Akira is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 21:04   #9
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,600
Look at the datasheet for the fan to find the airflow.
Jope is offline  
Old 16 May 2018, 21:17   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,245
These things you get from China rarely have datasheets available.
Also for the original: there is no datasheet that I can find, it is the same brand as the psu and i don't think they ever sold them on their own
Akira is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 09:28   #11
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,600
Ok.. Then just don't worry, swap the fan with anything that fits and be happy. If you want to buy a high quality fan, I have had good experience with ebmpapst and noctua personally.
Jope is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 09:38   #12
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,244
Quote:
Originally Posted by hooverphonique View Post
If you can find the specs for the original, maybe replace it with one with smaller power consumption, but same airflow - that solution would create less noise.
Not necessarily.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 17 May 2018, 11:09   #13
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 764
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hewitson View Post
Not necessarily.
Well, I forget to say 'verify less rpm' on new fan
hooverphonique is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to replace a mouse for A600 foob support.Hardware 35 03 January 2013 18:12
Replace 68040 cybernoid support.Hardware 5 17 May 2007 21:33
Datatypes to replace fc.studio support.Apps 0 02 February 2006 14:37
Debugger: replace register value AmiGer request.UAE Wishlist 2 06 January 2005 14:30
Replace WB Dr. Dude support.Apps 12 10 July 2004 15:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07275 seconds with 14 queries