English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 November 2006, 21:27   #1
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,506
WinUAE public beta #1

Christmas WinUAE public beta experiment has started!

Read this before downloading or posting!

WinUAE public beta #1

Code:
Beta 1:

- dms files inside archives automatically added to disk history
- Windows98/ME direct MK4 catweasel support. Need command line
  parameter "-directcatweasel 0xyzzzz". y = CW model (3 or 4,
  3 is default), zzzz is io address in hexadecimal. (simple, quick
  workaround if someone really wants to use MK3/4 under 98/ME for
  some unknown reason) IO address in configuration file is obsoleted
  (was never compatible with CW joystick or mouse port detection)
- Catweasel MK4 mouse support fixed (broke in 1.3.3)
- Catweasel direct mode automatically enabled if Windows is 2000
  or newer, IO library is installed and CW driver is not installed
  (previously was automatically enabled only if OS was 64-bit)
- compiler updated to beta SP1. I am very anti-"don't fix it if it
  is not broken" person but I think you must already know it :)
- updated to latest Windows SDK
- winuaeclipboard crash fix (BR)
- finally replaced really ugly interrupt delay hack with more
  cleaner and accurate method (fixes Fun School 4)
- made non-ce "more compatible" CPU emulators' main loop more
  compatible with programs requiring delayed interrups
- windowed mode "leds" had incorrect mouse click positions
- debugger memwatch "freeze" option now also accepts memory values
- added separate memory bank function for 680x0 opcode fetches
- debugger memwatch points can now detect between opcode fetch
  and data fetch, 68000-only currently.
- basic self modifying code (SMC) detection implemented in
  debugger (smc-command) Works in 68000-mode only.
- Windows Vista rawinput crash fix (weird change in vista..)
- avioutput sound sync errors fixed (broke in 1.3.3)
- avioutput video codec type registry saving improved
- fixed CPU emulation condition code bug caused by compiler bug or
  undefined C behaviour (not sure yet..) Affected some copy
  protections. Introduced in E-UAE merge.
- added horizontal mouse wheel input-panel support (hwheel support
  added in Windows Vista, not tested)
- add single "fake" button entry if joystick driver reports zero
  buttons (PPJoy in two-player mode, no idea if this helps)
- cleaned up AHI emulation, initialize and start recording only
  when requested for the first time
- disk image dragndrop caused instant disk swap instead of delayed
  swap (eject, wait 1.5s, insert new disk)
- fixed Windows only bug in new stack magic replacement code, both
  bsdsocket and AHI leaked Windows handles (SR)
- less aggressive sound adjustment
- horizontally scrolling list view selection fix (for example input
  panel with wide enough key name could have made autofire selection
  impossible)
- inputrecording reliability increased (but it still loses sync)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 26 November 2006 at 21:34.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 November 2006, 00:31   #2
rotacak
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CZ
Posts: 45
Playback shutdown whole winuae.
I have Windows XP Pro SP2, AMD Athlon XP 1800+. I use game Walker.

In attachment winuae_crash.zip is:
config.zip - configurations, input, savestate
record.zip - logs from input recording
playback.zip - logs and dump from input playback
playback_alternate.zip - logs and dump from input playback with checked option "Alt. playback mode"

Configuration is not needed, it's Quickstart config with path to kickstart and disks. Disks it's also not needed, because - savestate.

Playback:
1) run winuae
2) load configuration
3) load savestate
4) select input for playback
5) start

In input is recorded whole first level from game. But Walker do only two steps and winuae crash. Playback with "Alt. playback mode" work longer, but after also winuae crash.

In some unknown cases winuae not crash, but playback will end and you can continue play game.

In winuae 1.3.2 playback from this game also not work even if df0 do nothing. Only few seconds was ok.
rotacak is offline  
Old 27 November 2006, 16:07   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by rotacak
Playback shutdown whole winuae.
Simple stupid bug. Crashes randomly when playback ends because of lost sync.. (this test was not in previous version)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 November 2006, 18:53   #4
bikerdude
 
Posts: n/a
Catweasal specific..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
- Catweasel direct mode automatically enabled if Windows is 2000
or newer, IO library is installed and CW driver is not installed
(previously was automatically enabled only if OS was 64-bit)
(this test was not in previous version)
Is direct booting from the Catweasel possible with this beta..? or will it still require Jens to publish an updated driver/core for the catweasel..?

thanks

biker
 
Old 27 November 2006, 19:24   #5
NightSprinter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tourist Capital of the World, Florida
Age: 42
Posts: 36
Strangely enough, the PPjoy bug seems to be gone without the bugfix. I don't know what happened, but I removed the joystick entries, re-installed them, and then entered the mapping again with no problem. I'll keep an eye out in case it happens agian.
NightSprinter is offline  
Old 27 November 2006, 19:33   #6
Paul
RIP Friends
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
I have sound problems with beta 1, all works fine in 1.3.3.

I was reading this thread and thought I’d download and try out this demo http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=19102

I inserted the file HORIZON-VirtualIntelligenc in to drive df0 (same as you would with a floppy image) and noticed the music keeps changing tempo/speed all the time.

I’m using quickstart A500 OCS 512k chip 512k slow most common setting.

Edit:
Specs:
WINXP Home SP2
ATI Radian Sapphire X800
AMD Athlon 64 3200+ @ 2.21 GHz
1GB RAM
Sound Blaster Audigy 4
Attached Files
File Type: zip winuaelog beta1.zip (4.2 KB, 321 views)

Last edited by Paul; 27 November 2006 at 19:44.
Paul is offline  
Old 28 November 2006, 17:37   #7
k2uphill
 
Posts: n/a
avioutput video codec type registry saving improved - never used the standard option in winuae allways use Xvid 1.2 codec work great.

sample Xvid output in the zone.

will test later whith the final Xvid codec under Winuae 1.4b.
 
Old 28 November 2006, 19:48   #8
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
I have sound problems with beta 1
"-sounddebug" command line parameter is needed to get complete log.

EDIT: does changing the sound card selection make any difference? ("Primary sound driver" or "<name of sound card>")

Quote:
Is direct booting from the Catweasel possible with this beta..? or will it still require Jens to publish an updated driver/core for the catweasel..?
Still not possible.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 November 2006, 22:19   #9
thor
Registered User
 
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 899
Anarchy's 3D Demo II doesn't work anymore with beta #1. (3d Demo 2 v2.01 (1992)(Anarchy)[TP2#2].adf CRC32: D81F470B). The squares are flickering and then there's an exception screen shown.

Also Anarchy's 3D Intro 2 (3d Intro 2 (1992)(Anarchy).adf CRC32: 3507D1EC) hangs before the raytracing screen.

Spaceball's 9 Fingers (CRC32: 73D75F4D + EE95A92B) shows a guru after title screen.

All worked with 1.3.3. Tested with the three Kick1.3 1MB quickstart-settings.

Last edited by thor; 29 November 2006 at 01:59.
thor is offline  
Old 29 November 2006, 10:50   #10
Paul
RIP Friends
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
EDIT: does changing the sound card selection make any difference? ("Primary sound driver" or "<name of sound card>")
No

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
"-sounddebug" command line parameter is needed to get complete log.
Oops...Let's try again

The full HORIZON-VirtualIntelligenc winuae log from beta 1
Attached Files
File Type: zip HORIZON-VirtualIntelligenc-log.zip (7.0 KB, 372 views)
Paul is offline  
Old 29 November 2006, 11:01   #11
Paul
RIP Friends
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor
Anarchy's 3D Demo II doesn't work anymore with beta #1. (3d Demo 2 v2.01 (1992)(Anarchy)[TP2#2].adf CRC32: D81F470B). The squares are flickering and then there's an exception screen shown.
Same here with quickstart ocs 512 chip 512 slow (most common)

Edit: works 100% ok in 1.3.3 with same settings

Logs from 1.3.4 beta 1
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3ddemo2_001.png
Views:	466
Size:	12.0 KB
ID:	12620  
Attached Files
File Type: zip 3dsemo II winuaelog.zip (6.8 KB, 331 views)

Last edited by Paul; 29 November 2006 at 11:07.
Paul is offline  
Old 30 November 2006, 10:48   #12
andreas
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 50
Posts: 5,857
Send a message via ICQ to andreas Send a message via AIM to andreas
Hmmm. Toni you've just done blitter timing fixes for "Hit Fido", maybe this caused to break Anarchy's 3DDemo II again? Just a stab in the dark, though ...
andreas is offline  
Old 30 November 2006, 13:03   #13
spiff
Oh noes!
 
spiff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Neverland
Posts: 766
Arte hangs

Arte demo hangs on the standard a500 config. It will work if you set cycle exact, but on previous version it worked fine on the default standard config.

XP, sp2

56-343: PAL mode, 50Hz (h=227 v=312)
2006-11-30 12:51:57
57-484 [56 056x147]: Illegal instruction: 4e7b at 00FC0564 -> 00FC0582
57-484 [56 042x204]: SERIAL: period=372, baud=9600, hsyncs=16 PC=fc2234
2006-11-30 12:51:58
58-562 [110 000x000]: PAL mode, 56Hz (h=227 v=275)
58-578 [111 000x000]: PAL mode, 50Hz (h=227 v=312)
2006-11-30 12:52:01
01-062 [235 161x065]: Illegal instruction: 4e7b at 00C01784 -> 00C017C2
2006-11-30 12:52:39
39-281 [2139 000x000]: WinUAE now inactive via WM_ACTIVATE
39-296 [2139 000x000]: changing priority to Below Normal
39-296 [2139 000x000]: SOUND: DirectSound driver freed
2006-11-30 12:52:47
47-453 [2139 000x000]: WinUAE now active via WM_ACTIVATE
47-453 [2139 000x000]: changing priority to Normal
47-453 [2139 000x000]: DS driver 'Primary Sound Driver'/2/16 bi
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (4.3 KB, 335 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (7.8 KB, 386 views)
File Type: zip Arte.zip (787.0 KB, 320 views)
spiff is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 17:49   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by andreas
Hmmm. Toni you've just done blitter timing fixes for "Hit Fido", maybe this caused to break Anarchy's 3DDemo II again? Just a stab in the dark, though ...
That would have been the easy solution. But no, it is something else..

Quote:
Arte demo hangs on the standard a500 config
Can't duplicate.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 19:37   #15
Paul
RIP Friends
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen
Can't duplicate.
Right I ran Arte and it starts off ok, but when it gets to textured effects such as plasma, or Intel outside it slows to a crawl (music also plays at a slow tempo) in about four places. When it gets to the end of the first tune it dose seems to hang with a black screen with music playing but goes no further when tune ends.

Arte! (1994)(Sanity).zip CRC= CD845C4D

Here is the log.
Attached Files
File Type: zip Artewinuaelog.zip (48.6 KB, 322 views)

Last edited by Paul; 01 December 2006 at 19:53.
Paul is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 19:46   #16
Paul
RIP Friends
 
Paul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,157
Oh dear....I've just turned Cycle Exact off and it's even worse (Compatibility vs Required CPU Power slider one setting to the right) It rans very very sloooooow.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaelog.txt (21.8 KB, 356 views)
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (8.6 KB, 317 views)
Paul is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 20:05   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,506
EDITED: blitter timing issue confirmed (only happens when CE and immediate blitter are not enabled). Can cause all kinds of weird side-effects...

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 01 December 2006 at 20:33.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 20:55   #18
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,506
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul
I have sound problems with beta 1, all works fine in 1.3.3.

I was reading this thread and thought I’d download and try out this demo http://pouet.net/prod.php?which=19102

I inserted the file HORIZON-VirtualIntelligenc in to drive df0 (same as you would with a floppy image) and noticed the music keeps changing tempo/speed all the time.
Tested and this is not a sound problem and nothing to do with pitch changing. Music changing tempo this way (halved speed) means missed vertical blank interrupts (too slow emulated cpu, too slow blitter etc.. bug in emulation anyway if this demo is meant to run on A500)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 21:54   #19
stainy
Zone Friend
 
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 52
Posts: 1,712
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Hi Toni, just dropping the .exe in my winuae dir and running it... it doesn`t boot to a disk prompt or anything.. it gives me a dump!
both logs and dmp are in the zone for you to look at!!
mentions something about no Logitech lcd in place
stainy is offline  
Old 01 December 2006, 22:34   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 49
Posts: 26,506
Demo issues (and much more..) fixed. Interrupt update also inverted interrupt priorities. oops..

Boot crash: already known, only happens in some CPU/KS combinations.

Time for beta #2 (tomorrow?)
Toni Wilen is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 1.4.1 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 17 18 March 2007 15:45
WinUAE 1.4.0 public beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 115 07 March 2007 11:43
WinUAE public beta #5 + #6 + #7 + #8 +#9 Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 66 30 December 2006 22:07
WinUAE public beta #3 and #4 Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 5 21 December 2006 19:46
WinUAE public beta #2 Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 15 06 December 2006 10:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:34.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.15445 seconds with 14 queries