English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 January 2007, 15:39   #1
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,232
Unhappy Really odd problem with A1000...

Hi guys,

Got my new (to me) A1000 yesterday.

It boots up fine and worked first time no problems

Problem is that if I attach my Power Computing external disk drive - on the back it has 3 settings you can choose A O B. Now as far as I know A = anti-virus, O = features off & B = boot block thingy I think

Now connected to my A2000 the drive functions perfectly and can read anything thrown at it - even my A500's are fine using it.

When I attach it to the A1000 though it affects the operation of the internal DF0: drive and it fails to read any disks! Set the external drive to setting 'B' and DF0: works fine BUT when loading a disk into the power computing drive it says DF1:BAD. It does this with any disk - if I try to format the BAD disk it says it has an error reading the disk????

This sound like a CIA problem? I was thinking of changing them round tonight and seeing if it's one of those... everything else on the A1000 works fine - no coloured screens when it boots up - the power LED flashes a few times on power on and then resorts to staying lit during normal operation...

Any idea?

TIA
Paul_s is offline  
Old 04 January 2007, 16:04   #2
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 2,033
I seem to recall something about the a1000 not putting out as much power as other amigas for the external drive, it could be this particular drive is more power hungry than usual externals..
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 04 January 2007, 17:38   #3
alewis
Monochrome and 8 bit

 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Underbarrow, Gods Country
Age: 53
Posts: 598
Interesting... I have the same drive, and it wont work on my A4K towers.. :-(
alewis is offline  
Old 14 January 2007, 18:51   #4
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 32
Posts: 560
I have tried using more than one external floppy on my 1000 and it didn't work Didn't know that about the 1000 putting out less power though. I'll be sure to keep that in mind.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 15 January 2007, 11:21   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 39
Posts: 7,406
The A1000 should be able to take three external power hungry A1010s, so I doubt it is a power supply issue.

The A500 however is only rated for one A1010 drive.
Jope is offline  
Old 18 July 2008, 01:40   #6
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,232
I was just going though old threads and totally forgot about this!

In the end it turns out the 1000 just didn't support/like the Power Computing drive. I tried an older external drive which I got as a freebie with one of my 500's and it worked perfectly with the 1000.

Unless there's an issue with my power computing drive (works fine with all my 500's) I'm stumped
Paul_s is offline  
Old 18 July 2008, 03:30   #7
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 32
Posts: 560
I'm still stumped as well. I want to use a couple externals with my 1000 but it doesn't seem to like when I do that and spits it back in my face. A mysssssssssteryyyyyy
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 18 July 2008, 04:16   #8
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Not enough "juice" from the PSU?
rkauer is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 02:45   #9
boing_1000
A1000 Addict
boing_1000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Eastern USA
Age: 32
Posts: 560
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
The A1000 should be able to take three external power hungry A1010s, so I doubt it is a power supply issue.

The A500 however is only rated for one A1010 drive.
That's what Jope said anyway. I dunno the exact watts that the A1000 power brick supports but I thought it was a decently high amount.
boing_1000 is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 02:52   #10
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 44
Posts: 9,768
@boing_1000

my friend... those bricks do die eventually... i have 2 dying A1200 psu's that dont even provide enough power for an A600 WITHOUT FDD or HDD or Chip Expansion!!!

grab a multi meter and check the voltages.... the +12 / +5 should read a little higher and the -12 should read a little lower

post your findings here my friend
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 09:34   #11
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by boing_1000 View Post
That's what Jope said anyway. I dunno the exact watts that the A1000 power brick supports but I thought it was a decently high amount.
120w I think...
Paul_s is offline  
Old 21 July 2008, 20:11   #12
rkauer
I hate potatos and shirts
rkauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sao Leopoldo / Brazil
Age: 53
Posts: 3,482
Send a message via MSN to rkauer Send a message via Yahoo to rkauer
Concurrent problem in all old PSUs (Amiga and others) is capacitors drying, causing ripple on the voltage lines, then causing issues on the silicon devices, who causes one of them to fail. This is a cascade effect.

Better option: open the PSU and swap electrolytic caps, preventing the whole PSU bytes the dust (and in worst cases, destroying the computer!).
rkauer is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Odd freezing problem jaycee support.WinUAE 7 18 July 2009 00:23
Very odd sound problem with an A1200 - help needed! lennonlives support.Hardware 9 14 September 2008 14:41
A3000 odd floppy disk drive problem Rod_cl support.Hardware 5 28 August 2006 09:16
Mega-lo-Mania odd problem Ashakura support.WinUAE 8 06 September 2004 03:17
Odd Hardrive problem Jon-Vortexone support.Hardware 4 08 March 2004 16:28

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07707 seconds with 15 queries