English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 August 2008, 17:08   #1
cleland909
Registered User
cleland909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 22
Problems installing Classic WB on Real Amiga 1200

Greetings everyone!

I am having a problem installing classic wb on my amiga 1200. I know it's something simple I'm not doing right. I have the real amiga install disk i made with easy adf. I have booted off that disk and it finds the system.zip file at DH0 and installs. After rebooting it wouldn't work, so I booted of my wb 3.1 install disk and there is a file called system.hdf which is only visible if I choose show all icons. What am I supposed to do with this file now to get it to work?
Sorry for the lame question, I'm sure it's something simple I'm missing.
Thanks for the help!
cleland909 is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 17:15   #2
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The file you need is System.ZIP, a ZIP archive of the ClassicWB install, which has to be made from System.HDF (a Hard Disk File) in an emulator first:

http://classicwb.abime.net/classicweb/instructions.htm

You need to use System.HDF with WinUAE or similar. Then read the bit about creating System.ZIP.

The easiest method of copying files is hooking up your Amiga hard drive to WinUAE without zipping the files first, but that isn't always possible.

All the install disk does is unzip the archive System.ZIP Amiga side, then replace the trash icon if you've included it.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 18:42   #3
cleland909
Registered User
cleland909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 22
I see...I thought maybe the installer would unzip all the workbench files to the hard drive directory. So can I transfer all the files to a compact flash from WinUAE? I have another partition on my 1200 I can install WB 3.1 on and copy the files to the DH0 drive from the compact flash. How would I copy all the necessary files to the compact flash from within UAE?
cleland909 is offline  
Old 02 August 2008, 19:39   #4
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I'm afraid there is no utility I know of that extracts files directly from a HDF file on the Amiga, hence the ZIP method. Plus ZIP archives have a smaller size and checksum check on decompression. Also they preserve the file attributes.

I've never used a compact flash card, so I don't know about using it directly with WinUAE.

Going by what you've told me, just create the System.ZIP file in WinUAE and do whatever you did before to get it across to DH0: then run the install disk. I can't see why you would need to install 3.1 first when you can boot Workbench from floppy, but you can if you want. All that will happen is the files will be over-written.

The most important thing is to have System.ZIP on DH0: before running the install disk.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 23:51   #5
cleland909
Registered User
cleland909's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: United States
Posts: 22
Thanks Bloodwych, I figured it out. I think I was trying to make this harder than it is. When I went back to the instructions step by step it made sense.
I was having a problem getting the System.zip from the PC to the Amiga.
I didn't realize you could make a PC hard drive File and dump the .zip file there.
Then it's easy to put on a Compact Flash and transfer to the Amiga.

One last question...are all the "Real Amiga Install" adf's you made the same? Or is each version different. I am experimenting with the different Packs (Full/ADV) etc.
Thanks for the advice and help, it is truly appreciated!
cleland909 is offline  
Old 03 August 2008, 23:54   #6
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
All the install disks are the same.
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System.zip for installing on Real Amiga videofx project.ClassicWB 5 17 February 2013 16:50
Many problems with ClassicWB on real Amiga 1200 michomis project.ClassicWB 2 04 January 2013 22:47
Classic WB for Real Amiga.... get so far then stuck. asm1 project.ClassicWB 15 28 February 2009 14:48
Installing procedure fails on my real Amiga. fc.studio project.ClassicWB 7 20 June 2007 10:38
amikit on a real classic amiga rigardie_gr Amiga scene 10 28 January 2007 20:03

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06161 seconds with 13 queries