English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 September 2019, 22:27   #1
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,000
CDTV Issue

I noticed DamienD was having problems with some CDTV titles loading on Winuae, and upon trying various titles i have found the same issue, i normally use CD32 quickstart as alot of titles work this way, but i wanted to load them via the original way via the CDTV settings, and i think i know what the cause of the problem may be.

It seems to come with titles with CDTVPrefs in the startup, these seem to get past the CDTV logo screen upon loading and get stuck with a mouse cursor of some sort a second or two later, the ISO's are fine as they load no problem using CD32 quickstart (as this obviously doesn't check for the CDTVPrefs file).

I double checked by remaking an ISO (Sherlock Holmes Illustrated) without the CDTVPrefs in the startup and it now loads up fine.

I have the latest Winuae i think (May 2019) and have tried 3.0.0 and 3.6.0 with the same results.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 22:34   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,219
The ones I had trouble with were as follows:

... Defender of the Crown [CDTV]: solution was to covert the image to .BIN & .CUE.
... Murder Makes Strange Deadfollows CDTV: solution was to set "NTSC".
... Xenon 2: Megablast [CDTV]: solution was to add a ",delay" at the end of the "cdimage0=" line or set "NTSC".

What are the games you're having issues with Amigajay?

I could also test / try things

Last edited by DamienD; 01 September 2019 at 22:45.
DamienD is offline  
Old 01 September 2019, 23:41   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 42
Posts: 15,219
Quote:
Originally Posted by Amigajay View Post
I double checked by remaking an ISO (Sherlock Holmes Illustrated) without the CDTVPrefs in the startup and it now loads up fine.
I just tried "Sherlock Holmes on a Disc - Illustrated Sherlock Holmes" with the image that I found on the EAB File Server.

It worked without issue in WinUAE 4.2.1 using a CDTV Quickstart.
DamienD is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 16:17   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,147
Using 2M chip RAM should also "fix" those that only normally work if CD is inserted when CDTV title screen is shown. (Same happens with real CDTV).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 02 September 2019, 16:23   #5
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,354
CDTV not even a full 1mb of Ram
Retro1234 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xenon 2: Megablast [CDTV] - Issue with not loading on launch, works after a reset.. DamienD support.WinUAE 4 23 August 2019 17:46
Interlaced CDTV Demo Issue Amimal support.WinUAE 3 19 May 2016 08:56
WTB: CDTV laser, or CDTV drive, or CDTV chiark MarketPlace 15 09 February 2010 11:04
WTB: CDTV case / faulty CDTV / dead or alive chiark MarketPlace 7 26 September 2009 00:07
EPIC working on WinUAE-CDTV, but not on a real CDTV mk1 support.Games 8 23 March 2009 20:12

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06403 seconds with 15 queries