English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 June 2007, 18:22   #1
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Amgia to Amiga HD Copy?

Hmm I think this should be in the advice forum if there was one..

Basically I have a real Amiga - a friend now has joined me and I want to copy my entire HD with partitions etc. ideally doing it via the Amiga (putting the second HD on the second IDE channel as a slave).

Does anyone know if:

A. Its possible
B. What software to use?

Cheers,


M.
Macca is offline  
Old 19 June 2007, 18:28   #2
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 50
Posts: 2,664
Just an idea - what about using the Classic Workbench route... make a zipped file of everything on your system partition using Directory Opus (as detailed in the Classic Workbench instructions) then unzip the file onto the other hard drive in the other Amiga using the classic workbench boot floppy - the other hard drive would have to be formated first.

For other partitions you could just drag and drop the data between the drives if the two drives were set up as master and slave... fingers crossed...
Peter is offline  
Old 19 June 2007, 18:36   #3
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 42
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
Hmm I think this should be in the advice forum if there was one..

Basically I have a real Amiga - a friend now has joined me and I want to copy my entire HD with partitions etc. ideally doing it via the Amiga (putting the second HD on the second IDE channel as a slave).

Does anyone know if:

A. Its possible
B. What software to use?

Cheers,


M.
yes it's really possible and i've done that quite a lot of times (even if now i backup my stuff through pcmcia compact flash)...

as you explained you just need to plug in a slave hd on the very same ide port with a dual ide cable

Then you need to partition it like your master hd with hdtoolbox ...to avoid conflicts you may want to add "b" for instance at the end of each partition name (you will remove it later when mounting it alone)

Then you need to format each partition. Use the same trick for volume names - adding "b" at the end of each one.

the best way to duplicate it then it just to use the copy command :

copy (volume): (volume+"b"): all

it's a lot quicker than using a filemanager and avoid conflict in names or with empty files that may occur with filemaster for instance...

you perform it for each volume and you're done...

then you only need to plug your new hd alone...boot from workbench floppy for instance...launch hdtoolbox to rename all your partitions name to the right ones...then from workbench rename all your volume names to the right ones ....and you're done! you've got a perfect replication of your hd...
pbareges is offline  
Old 19 June 2007, 18:40   #4
Peter
Still an Amiga user
Peter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Kent
Age: 50
Posts: 2,664
That sounds a much better idea!
Peter is offline  
Old 19 June 2007, 18:48   #5
Macca
Zone Friend
Macca's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Gloucester
Posts: 578
Renaming a partition I guess won't clear it - what about resizing a partition will that clear all the data from the partition?


M.
Macca is offline  
Old 19 June 2007, 18:52   #6
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 42
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macca
Renaming a partition I guess won't clear it - what about resizing a partition will that clear all the data from the partition?


M.
exactly ! you can rename without harm...but whenever you change the structure (size/filesystem) you clear it (even if parts may be recoverable afterwards)
pbareges is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amgia 2000 CN303 Pin 3 Missing? Tempest 2084 support.Hardware 5 26 August 2012 21:07
Requester Bug when copying IPF to Standard ADF with X-Copy/Power Copy. BarryB support.WinUAE 9 17 January 2012 21:20
Amgia 1200 Disk Drive service/cleaning video :o) RetroGamerVX Amiga scene 7 25 September 2011 09:26
Fun School and Amgia Educational Software hrafnkellg request.Old Rare Games 2 05 May 2009 22:26
New AMIGA-Drive and X-COPY 10?? BarrySWE support.Hardware 8 26 September 2005 11:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06682 seconds with 13 queries