English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 July 2006, 21:33   #1
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,184
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
C:Version fail?

Hi again.

Having fixed my system, I now have an issue on boot up with Classic WB on my A1200.

Having inserted a new 32mb Simm into my Apollo1240, boot now hangs in 2 different ways. 1, with a software error caused by C:Version and sometimes 2, with a black screen after about 5 secs of HD activity.

All is well if I boot from a WB3.0 floppy, 32mb fastram is there.

I tried changing the Version in my CWB install with that from the working WB3.0 floppy with no avail.

My CWB startup-sequence is unedited.

Any ideas?
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 July 2006, 21:47   #2
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,184
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
OK I got a workaround, if I disable CPU caches in early boot, then WB loads with 2mb chipram (priority-10) and 32mb fastram (priority 64).
I turn the caches back on with sysinfo.

Just checked, the fast ram is listed as "POWERBURST-FASTRAM" by Sysinfo is this compatible?

Whats going on here?

Last edited by DDNI; 11 July 2006 at 21:58.
DDNI is offline  
Old 11 July 2006, 22:31   #3
DoctorQ
What?? Who?? DoctorQ!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Rødding/Denmark
Age: 37
Posts: 314
Send a message via MSN to DoctorQ
Have you installed the needed libraries for your accelerator?
DoctorQ is offline  
Old 11 July 2006, 22:39   #4
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,184
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Yes, all is fine with the system using 16mb EDO ram.
DDNI is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 09:34   #5
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
All can suggest is copy over your startup-sequnce with the one from your workbench disk and see if that helps (back your old one up first). The only change between them is testing if the left or right mouse button is pressed during startup for different boots. Perhaps that's what is causing the problem however, the c program "testLMB/testRMB".

Apart from that, the classicwb startup sequence is more or less identical to a fresh workbench installation, with the exception of a few extras in the s/user-startup file; I have no way of testing with you hardware setup I'm afraid, but can't understand why version would fail so early in the boot process as this is before any s/user-startup items are even brought into play.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 13 July 2006, 12:30   #6
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,184
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Thanks Bloodwych, I suspect bad ram now though. I get errors in delete module when using the 32mb stick and my nocache workaround... Looks like 16mb for now

BTW 32mb 72pin simms, are they all double sided? The one I have touches the pins on the back of the 040 - needed a piece of plastic added to insulate between the two!!

@ Everyone, what 32mb RAM sticks are known to work on the Apollo1240?
DDNI is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
D3D9: Initialization Fail MrGimper support.WinUAE 10 11 September 2010 22:41
Cracks that FAIL! TCD Amiga scene 59 29 September 2009 21:00
Why did the CD32 fail? wanderer Retrogaming General Discussion 83 17 December 2006 11:35
Some games fail to run Aminut33 New to Emulation or Amiga scene 0 03 August 2006 21:53
Why did the Amiga fail establish itself in the U.S? 7-Zark-7 Nostalgia & memories 16 22 January 2002 06:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06603 seconds with 13 queries