English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.SPS (was CAPS)

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 July 2018, 02:15   #1
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
How to dump without KryoFlux

Hi,

Seeing as the KryoFlux yesterday seems to have become unavailable from the official webstore is there an alternative way to dump new games? Will it be available soon? I have registered on kryoflux forum but not approved yet. I have 1 or 2 games to dump.

I heard on the grapevine that the old methods are not the way to do it anymore. Is this true?

I have a Catweasel MkIV if that helps. I would rather do it right the first time rather than unnessesarily disturb these fragile old disks.
Calgor is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 July 2018, 08:57   #2
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 486
What's your aim? To analyse/convert the dumps yourself? Or to send them to SPS and hope they respond?
kaffer is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 09:18   #3
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,601
Can't you find someone in your area with a Kryoflux to do the dumps for you? Seems a bit excessive to buy a Kryoflux just for dumping 1-2 games.

An alternative to the Kryoflux is the Super Card Pro:
https://www.cbmstuff.com/proddetail.php?prod=SCP
demolition is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 09:59   #4
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,488
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
Hi,

Seeing as the KryoFlux yesterday seems to have become unavailable from the official webstore is there an alternative way to dump new games? Will it be available soon? I have registered on kryoflux forum but not approved yet. I have 1 or 2 games to dump.

I heard on the grapevine that the old methods are not the way to do it anymore. Is this true?

I have a Catweasel MkIV if that helps. I would rather do it right the first time rather than unnessesarily disturb these fragile old disks.
Hi Calgor, they have indeed right now no kryoflux in the shop.

Try to contact christian Bartsch on softpres facebook page and ask him if he has some to sell.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 10:35   #5
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 12,079
If you have a 68020+ processor and 2MB+ RAM then you can use the Amiga software to dump the disk.
alexh is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 10:44   #6
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,488
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by alexh View Post
If you have a 68020+ processor and 2MB+ RAM then you can use the Amiga software to dump the disk.
that's correct
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 12:23   #7
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
Thanks for the tips guys. I want to dump for SPS to send them and get back an IPF. Have been informed kryoflux may become available again soon so I might just wait for that. I could be dump games from other Amiga guys at the local amiga clubs if they have any.

If that takes too long guess I'll just use the CAPS dumping tool (new one just downloaded is dated 2003 lol!?)
Calgor is offline  
Old 02 July 2018, 20:11   #8
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 486
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
Thanks for the tips guys. I want to dump for SPS to send them and get back an IPF. Have been informed kryoflux may become available again soon so I might just wait for that. I could be dump games from other Amiga guys at the local amiga clubs if they have any.

If that takes too long guess I'll just use the CAPS dumping tool (new one just downloaded is dated 2003 lol!?)
You might want to read the other recent top thread in this section and decide if this is worth your time.
kaffer is offline  
Old 03 July 2018, 01:33   #9
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
No worries I am already across it. As long as not sending original disks I don't have any huge issues with delays.
Calgor is offline  
Old 03 July 2018, 02:00   #10
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 11,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calgor View Post
As long as not sending original disks I don't have any huge issues with delays.
Yup, whatever you do... DO NOT, I repeat; DO NOT send them your original disks!!!

...you will most likely never see them again no matter how hard you try to get them back; this is exactly what happened to a poor member here and we are talking over 80 games worth
DamienD is offline  
Old 03 July 2018, 03:30   #11
Mrz
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 152
if you just want to dump originals you don't need a kryoflux
an Amiga 1200 will do the work you want


you can get an unexpanded A1200 for the same price of a kryoflux in ebay ,amazon etc







btw, if you want to write back some games to floppy then yes you need a kryoflux
Mrz is offline  
Old 03 July 2018, 12:31   #12
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
Thanks again guys... taking all the advice onboard
Calgor is offline  
Old 07 July 2018, 14:00   #13
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
FYI.. Kryoflux is available to order again from official website.

I will also dump original kickstart and workbench disks. Now that TOSEC dats are easily available maybe dump my whole collection.

Is it best to use a DD drive to dump DD disks or does it not matter, HD will be ok too? (I know there is a list of floppy drives that can be used, and recommended to be able to read more tracks is better)
Calgor is offline  
Old 07 July 2018, 16:02   #14
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,601
When it comes to reading 3½" disks, HD drives are about as good as DD drives. If you want to write disks, then DD can better preferable over HD drives since a HD drive may have a hard time deleting the old data, particularly if the alignment is not 100% correct. In regards to the number of tracks, then 82 tracks should cover pretty much everything but if you have a drive that can handle 84 tracks, then you might as well use that.

If someone actually used 84 tracks, that would mean that anyone who did not have an 84 track capable drive would not be able to use that software. As C= was known to use pretty much whatever hardware they could find to put together their machines, that would not have been a wise move.
demolition is offline  
Old 07 July 2018, 16:17   #15
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 2,050
If you have an Amiga can't you still use the software version from their website:

Quote:
KryoFlux FREE

A software based imaging solution for MFM encoded 3.5" DD disks for the Amiga, no additional hardware required. Get it, it's free!
http://www.kryoflux.com/download/kffree_amiga_3.7.zip
Ian is offline  
Old 07 July 2018, 16:38   #16
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,488
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
today, SPS only accept Kryoflux heavy dumps. However, if you send them to me, i will check process, and upload them.

I have my own folder on their server, with a folder for each of my contributors.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 09:44   #17
Calgor
(Amigas && Amigos)++

Calgor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Anrea
Posts: 998
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
When it comes to reading 3½" disks, HD drives are about as good as DD drives...

82 tracks should cover pretty much everything but if you have a drive that can handle 84 tracks, then you might as well use that.
Thanks! So shouldn't really matter for almost all things

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
If you have an Amiga can't you still use the software version from their website:



http://www.kryoflux.com/download/kffree_amiga_3.7.zip
Thanks very much I really shouldn't have missed that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dlfrsilver View Post
today, SPS only accept Kryoflux heavy dumps. However, if you send them to me, i will check process, and upload them.

I have my own folder on their server, with a folder for each of my contributors.
Really appreciate it... Kryoflux should come in a few weeks or less hopefully so will just do it then... Amiga should also be re setup in proper place by then too so will use this option as backup.
Calgor is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 20:04   #18
Marty2AGA
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 33
Hello,

I am easily confused.
I am using an Amiga 4000T with an Xsurf card. Connect me via LAN on the Amiga. There is rc_FTPd running. I created from the Amiga diskettes with ADFer ADF Disk Images. I download this with the PC of the Amiga down to use them in WinUAE. Now I want to dumb my original games. What program do I need to make of NDOS floppy disks such as Fears z.b an image. Can I also use ADFer as normal? Or i need other Hardware on the Amiga?
Marty2AGA is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 20:32   #19
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 38
Posts: 3,601
As mentioned above, you can use Kryoflux Free to dump your original disks:
http://www.kryoflux.com/download/kffree_amiga_3.7.zip

The ADF format cannot be used for copy-protected originals so this tool will dump to a format called CT RAW.

CT RAW can be used in WinUAE with this:
http://www.kryoflux.com/download/sps...ows_binary.zip
demolition is offline  
Old 08 July 2018, 21:22   #20
Marty2AGA
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Germany
Age: 41
Posts: 33
Ok, i tried but it fails on start

I copied the Flux Disk image and write back to the disk. On Startup Sequence it bring a message error:

Running Setpatch...
Initialising Enviroment...
Copying Scripts into memory...
Registering CT...
68060 CPU detected...
Workbench 3.x detected...

eval: unable to open redirection file eval failed returncode 10
Error in Command name
1>

Edit: No idea, i use the ctprog manual. I'm copied this tool to my HD.
Running this via: ctprog -r -h0 -fhd1:ftp_directory/disk.raw -u0

Great: Fears working on WinUAE

Last edited by Marty2AGA; 09 July 2018 at 00:26.
Marty2AGA is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kryoflux Yulquen74 support.Hardware 17 25 January 2015 22:40
Where does Kryoflux dump adf files to? Kitty support.Hardware 12 08 December 2012 23:54
Please dump your ST disks! Interceptor project.SPS (was CAPS) 9 31 May 2008 01:35
Screen Dump ! THX1138 support.Apps 1 18 November 2003 21:46
Directory dump LaundroMat MarketPlace 9 07 April 2002 15:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08733 seconds with 14 queries