English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 June 2017, 18:51   #161
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,701
Tones do not know if I understand well, but now to me "JIT FPU is enabled" works well (see video attachedl), though WinUAE 3.4.0 is slightly faster.

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 12 June 2017 at 19:27.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 June 2017, 18:57   #162
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,050
Your video shows JIT FPU off and I already said that the problem only happens when JIT FPU is enabled.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 June 2017, 19:34   #163
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,701
Sorry Toni I was wrong video i attach the right one (old age, 63 years old)

Ask what i never understood: With 060 JIT what is meant by CPU Internal and More Compatible?
Attached Files
File Type: rar TombTest.rar (3.48 MB, 24 views)
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 12 June 2017, 20:46   #164
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
Sorry Toni I was wrong video i attach the right one (old age, 63 years old)

Ask what i never understood: With 060 JIT what is meant by CPU Internal and More Compatible?
This video also shows unticked JIT FPU checkbox ("FPU Support" in Advanced JIT settings)

CPU Internal = FPU is CPU built-in. 68881/68882 are external FPUs for 68020/68030. 68040/060 can't use external FPUs.

More compatible enables more strict rounding rules (and slower) and normal FPU modes (It has no effect on softfloat). Most programs don't care.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 12 June 2017, 21:02   #165
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,701
FPU Support in Advanced JIT settings

Discovering the arcane, that's why everything works now after enabling Softfloat (before it was in gray)

Thanks for the patience Toni !
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 18:40   #166
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,050
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3500b13.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3500b13.7z

Beta 13: (Final in few days)

- Masoboshi Mastercard fully emulated. SCSI fake DMA write and true SCSI and IDE DMA read/write support implemented.
- DKB Rapidfire emulation. v1.31 rom image from flash update disk added to rom scanner. ("dkbscsi.device (DKB SCSI Driver 1.31 - Copyright © 1996 by DKB Software.)"). Almost same hardware as DKB 12x0 accelerator board SCSI controller.
- MOVEP C undefined behavior fix that caused wrong access order.
- Fixed nasty JIT FPU bug, saved FPSR was not always correct. (b1)
- Fixed 128k UAE Boot ROM crash in indirect JIT mode.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 19:47   #167
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,495
Thanks Toni, better get testing then since the final release is imminent
DamienD is online now  
Old 13 June 2017, 20:34   #168
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,285
Something seems to have gone wrong with 68030+MMU emulation, first beta showing the problem is 3410b5 or 3410b6. (First time I tested with 3410b5 I saw the problem, after that 3410b5 just crashes when I load the config.)

Using the A-Max HDFs I uploaded recently, I booted with a 68030+MMU config. On starting Mac emulation get HALT3. There's this log output:
Code:
68030 MMU enabled. Page size = 32768 PC=0028457c
Root pointer is early termination page descriptor.
Root pointer is early termination page descriptor.
Root pointer is early termination page descriptor.
MMU disabled PC=00284590
68030 MMU enabled. Page size = 8192 PC=00222c0e
MMU030 fake prefetch remap: 4ed1, 00222c0e -> 00452c0e
A-Trap A03F at 008005BC -> 80008000
A-Trap A9C7 at 00823604 -> 80008000
A-Trap A051 at 0080FD0A -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD22 -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD2E -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD2E -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD2E -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD2E -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD2E -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD2E -> 80008000
A-Trap A02E at 0080FE4C -> 80008000
A-Trap A052 at 0080FD2E -> 80008000
CPU halted: reason = 3 PC=00801faa
3410b4 seems to work fine.

Config with GVP Series II HD controller:
Code:
https://www.media!fire.com/?6rr75rsgaa7a9wn
mark_k is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 20:48   #169
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,050
Fixed. One line had mysteriously disappeared when "Old style 0xf00000 boot rom is automatically..." was added.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 21:03   #170
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,495
I'm testing from a pure games perspective really with each new release (though there are .ADFs / IPFs / HDFs / WHDLoad / .ISOs used).

So, tested my usual selection of problem games throughout the many years (see #post 104).

Obviously I can't test 1770+ configs but...

Additionally tested:

a) .HDF files with commas in the name; see here: Bug when a comma is used in a directory plus .HDF name...
b) T-Zero audio starting too early; see here: T-zer0 - 1st audio track starts too early [Image Mounter vs Daemon Tools]

Happy to report that all is good for me, bring on final 3.5.0

Last edited by DamienD; 13 June 2017 at 21:08.
DamienD is online now  
Old 13 June 2017, 23:27   #171
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 358
I don't think this is a bug. I think I'm doing something wrong. I tested in 3.4.10b1 and in 3.4 stable, same thing happens.

In expansions I have GVP Impact Series II selected pointing to the ROM file I used to flash my real GVP controller. I removed my SCSI2SD adaptor from my working amiga and connected to PC. Run WINUAE as administrator and can select the real SCSI IDs from the sd card without issue. In the add HDD dialog I select GVP Impact Series II. When I start winuae i get a crash with dump msg. Attached are the dumps and my configuration file..

How should I be doing this? Am I making the correct selections?

I want to mount my real Amiga HDD so I can take a backup of all the files on it. Transferring HDF over Serial via AExplorer is way too slow. figured I'd boot off it with a PC folder mounted as HDD and just copy everything over with DOpus.

EDIT - This became less critical. I was able to boot another configuration and add my real SCSI drive as an additional HDD. So I'm accomplishing my goal of getting a real backup of all the data from my Real HDDs. Would be nice to figure out how to boot off them but not critical.
Attached Files
File Type: zip WinUAE.zip (47.2 KB, 11 views)
File Type: zip Mi Real Amiga REAL SCSI.zip (2.8 KB, 10 views)

Last edited by Sinphaltimus; 13 June 2017 at 23:44.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 16:34   #172
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,050
You can't load split roms and expect it to work (other part won't get loaded), it only works if rom scanner knows about it and this rom is not official = won't be added to rom scanner. (Split expansion roms may be supported in the future)

Because second half of ROM is missing, execution falls off the memory bank which will crash in some situations if "more compatible" is not ticked. (Safety net is not yet good enough)

Merged version of rom will work.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 19:41   #173
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Happy to report that all is good for me, bring on final 3.5.0
Thanks but it is guaranteed that something stupid is found next day
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 19:43   #174
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Sydney / London
Age: 40
Posts: 8,495
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Thanks but it is guaranteed that something stupid is found next day
Yeah maybe... but I have faith in you Toni
DamienD is online now  
Old 14 June 2017, 19:48   #175
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,050
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae_3500b14.7z
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae64_3500b14.7z

Beta 14: (final attempt #2)

- Fixed MMU mode HALT3 errors (b7)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 21:48   #176
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Y
Merged version of rom will work.
Can I merge the rom myself or do you know of a merged
version I can legally obtain. The only one I have is the one I burned to eprom myself from Ralph's website. The last known unofficial official release.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 22:04   #177
mark_k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location:
Posts: 2,285
Sinphaltimus: the config file you attached above has this line:
gvp_rom_file=..\..\..\..\LRivera\Documents\Amiga\CF _card and OS setup Utils\gvpscsi_315_dual-ROM\gvpscsi16e_padded.bin

For real hardware, that file is only of use along with the matching gvpscsi16o_padded.bin, with a GVP Series I SCSI controller, not your Series II. [Series I boards have two ROM sockets, but Series II boards only have one.]

The matching dual ROMs might work (when combined) in WinUAE, but they wouldn't on real Series II hardware.

Download the gvpscsi 4.15 ROM image from Ralph Babel's web site (gvpscsi4.hex.bz2) and use that in WinUAE instead (though you'll need to convert it to raw/binary first).
mark_k is offline  
Old 14 June 2017, 23:31   #178
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 358
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark_k View Post
Sinphaltimus: the config file you attached above has this line:
gvp_rom_file=..\..\..\..\LRivera\Documents\Amiga\CF _card and OS setup Utils\gvpscsi_315_dual-ROM\gvpscsi16e_padded.bin

For real hardware, that file is only of use along with the matching gvpscsi16o_padded.bin, with a GVP Series I SCSI controller, not your Series II. [Series I boards have two ROM sockets, but Series II boards only have one.]

The matching dual ROMs might work (when combined) in WinUAE, but they wouldn't on real Series II hardware.

Download the gvpscsi 4.15 ROM image from Ralph Babel's web site (gvpscsi4.hex.bz2) and use that in WinUAE instead (though you'll need to convert it to raw/binary first).

Oh geeze, where the heck did I get that from? I dunno. I hae the one from Ralph's sire somewhere. i burned it to an eprom for my real controller when the original went bad. so sorry. I misunderstood. OK, I will redownload the correct one.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WinUAE 2.5.0 Beta series (Was 2.4.2) Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 310 01 December 2012 18:02
WinUAE 2.2.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 119 28 June 2010 02:35
WinUAE 1.5.1 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 242 12 August 2008 12:42
WinUAE 1.5.0 beta series Toni Wilen support.WinUAE 453 19 June 2008 09:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:52.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18952 seconds with 14 queries