English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 October 2016, 19:52   #1
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
looking for a nice collection of up to date game ADFs for my Goteks

So I downloaded this package from emuparadise. It has one version of each game but it is outdated and I find many of the ADFs dont work so I have to switch them out.

I also have a Tosec on my harddrive but it is way too big and have every cracked version of every game and so on. Way too big for me to sort.

Is there any packages I could download from somewhere that has all the classics and only one version of each game, that is up to date and all the games working? Even a package with 200 to 300 of the best games would be enough. using PAL Amiga here. Not interested in downloading one by one ADF. Want a package I can download and put on my USB drive
turrican9 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 October 2016, 20:38   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,242
I could always give you my WinUAE collection which is 90% .ADFs (these days I've added a few .HDFs / WHDLoad packages as well)

...but your best bet is to probably use GameBase Amiga as reference

Like myself, Belgarath has spend over 10 years working out the best 100% files to be used.

Just grab the individual files for your the 500 games from the EAB File Server under:

Commodore_Amiga\GameBase Amiga 2\Games

Edit: Oops, just read where you have said "Not interested in downloading one by one ADF"...
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 20:48   #3
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
I could always give you my WinUAE collection which is 90% .ADFs (these days I've added a few .HDFs / WHDLoad packages as well)

...but your best bet is to probably use GameBase Amiga as reference

Like myself, Belgarath has spend over 10 years working out the best 100% files to be used.

Just grab the individual files for your the 500 games from the EAB File Server under:

Commodore_Amiga\GameBase Amiga 2\Games

Edit: Oops, just read where you have said "Not interested in downloading one by one ADF"...
Thanks for the answer. Maybe you could archive your WinUAE collection so I could download it somewhere? And these ADFs are tested to work?
turrican9 is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 22:03   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Thanks for the answer. Maybe you could archive your WinUAE collection so I could download it somewhere?
Yeah, I guess I could but it's roughly 2GB...

Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
And these ADFs are tested to work?
As much as possible, but given that in my collection there are 1500+ games it's really impossible to test all from start --> finish...

I've tried my best and have also been reading / watching discussion in forums over many, many years on which files are problematic / best to use etc.

Also, another thing I thought about. What type of Amiga is your Gotek fitted into?

In my collection 1300 are A500 games and the other 200 are AGA games. When it comes to A500 games if you are using an A600 then obviously compatibility cannot be guaranteed and same if you are using these OCS / ECS games on an A1200.
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 22:09   #5
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Yeah, I guess I could but it's roughly 2GB...


As much as possible, but given that in my collection there are 1500+ games it's really impossible to test all from start --> finish...

I've tried my best and have also been reading / watching discussion in forums over many, many years on which files are problematic / best to use etc.

Also, another thing I thought about. What type of Amiga is your Gotek fitted into?

In my collection 1300 are A500 games and the other 200 are AGA games. When it comes to A500 games if you are using an A600 then obviously compatibility cannot be guaranteed and same if you are using these OCS / ECS games on an A1200.
I do all my floppy gaming on 1MB Kickstart 1.3 Amiga 500s. I use A600/A1200 for whdload gaming. Will use the ADFs on Cortex Goteks/HXC Goteks and even real floppies. Plan to flash my Cortex Goteks into HXC when I get the flash tool.

Would be awesome if you could upload this somewhere. You could remove all AGA, NTSC and other language than English ADFs to reduce the size. I only need PAL, English and non AGA titles.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 23 October 2016, 23:53   #6
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Edit: wrong thread

Last edited by turrican9; 23 October 2016 at 23:59.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 25 October 2016, 21:59   #7
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Where is my nice collection?
turrican9 is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 11:27   #8
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Where is my nice collection?
Patience young Jedi

It's not a quick job to give you want you're after:

... I use .ADFs / Extended .ADFs / .IPFs / .HDFs which are stored in directories "C:\WinUAE\Games\<gamename>".
... There are OCS / ECS and AGA games.
... Also in the directories "C:\WinUAE\Games\<gamename>" are cheats / hints / walkthroughs etc... (see this thread).

So I need to separate everything out before uploading...

Will hopefully get the chance on the weekend but it is my 40th birthday on Saturday

Last edited by DamienD; 26 October 2016 at 14:36.
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 11:47   #9
ransom1122
Registered User
ransom1122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Omnicorp
Posts: 2,569
Happy Bday "D" Man!!

I have also started renaming the complete ADF Tosec set. Ignoring multiple ADF's, just having each game renamed under 26 characters so when selecting the adf's using the gotek drive you can read the complete text of the adf instead of those loooooooong adf that you are not able to read because of long filenames.

I got to the Letter "D" I think. It takes so much time renaming every file manually one by one. but it works, and is nice when using them all on the gotek drive.

The project has paused though now, as my other project of converting all WHDLoad games into HDF files is in play
ransom1122 is online now  
Old 26 October 2016, 17:43   #10
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Patience young Jedi

It's not a quick job to give you want you're after:

... I use .ADFs / Extended .ADFs / .IPFs / .HDFs which are stored in directories "C:\WinUAE\Games\<gamename>".
... There are OCS / ECS and AGA games.
... Also in the directories "C:\WinUAE\Games\<gamename>" are cheats / hints / walkthroughs etc... (see this thread).

So I need to separate everything out before uploading...

Will hopefully get the chance on the weekend but it is my 40th birthday on Saturday
Happy Birthday!

No problem. I can wait
turrican9 is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 18:46   #11
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Think I found my problem. The archive I downloaded was based on gamebase. As I tried to download a few games from Commodore_Amiga\GameBase Amiga 2\Games. It looked like the same versions I have. Like holiday lemmings 1994 would not load. I think gamebase is made for WinUAE. One should think the ADFs would work on real Amigas too. Its not like all games are not working. But there have been a few. I have Tosec 0.29 on my harddrive which I pick versions of games from when I find some games not working.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 19:43   #12
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,242
Ok, so I don't need to bother anymore?
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 20:09   #13
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Ok, so I don't need to bother anymore?
Not if all your ADFs comes from Gamebase.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 20:15   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican9 View Post
Not if all your ADFs comes from Gamebase.
No they don't but of course there are similarities with some files.

As mentioned in the 2nd post; Belgarath has spend over 10 years working out the best 100% files to be used
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 21:22   #15
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
No they don't but of course there are similarities with some files.

As mentioned in the 2nd post; Belgarath has spend over 10 years working out the best 100% files to be used
Then I'm interested.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 22:08   #16
Belgarath
HOL Team Member

Belgarath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Manchester
Posts: 2,392
But it was and is done with WinUAE in mind. Holiday Lemmings 94 for instance I have running using an a600 config (although I think the ver I use probably just needs 1mb chip), so yeh they won't all be typical a500 friendly.
Belgarath is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 22:44   #17
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
But it was and is done with WinUAE in mind. Holiday Lemmings 94 for instance I have running using an a600 config (although I think the ver I use probably just needs 1mb chip), so yeh they won't all be typical a500 friendly.
Thanks for the clarification.
turrican9 is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 23:03   #18
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 40
Posts: 9,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belgarath View Post
But it was and is done with WinUAE in mind.
As is my collection my friend
DamienD is offline  
Old 26 October 2016, 23:06   #19
turrican9
Registered User
turrican9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 614
WinUAE

Real Amiga
turrican9 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nice little collection... Shoonay Nostalgia & memories 5 17 March 2009 19:55
If you could DATE any Amiga game character... Dizzy Amiga scene 55 23 November 2007 20:31
Nice Frogger game... tomcat666 request.Old Rare Games 1 17 August 2004 08:36
Nice collection of mags for CD32/CDROM owners Bloodwych MarketPlace 1 21 April 2004 21:09
More nice Game tunes BuZz Nostalgia & memories 3 06 December 2002 02:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.38471 seconds with 14 queries