English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 August 2012, 23:46   #1
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Need help with CD32 emulation on Winuae

I have a crappy old laptop. An Acer 270 Travelmate
Specs:
Mobile Intel(R) Pentium 4-M 1.70GHz Cpu.
1 gb ram
Internal SIS 650 GPU.

Its very old but manages to run all emulators apart from the latest mame and CD32 games.
It runs all other amiga games fine. For example. When i run Arabian Nights ADF it has no problems. And when I run it on CD32 the game run smoothly and then the cpu goes to 99% and the games crackles and slows down. These slow downs are not random either. It happens the same time no matter whats happening in the game? Arabian nights has no music or intros, its basically the adf shoved on a cd. Why would it run slower?
Tried all the usual fixes. Unticked exact cycle, turned on JIT and used internal cpu etc. Nothing works. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

cheers.

update: Just downloaded the latest version and it seems to have solved it. I notice it now says legacy vsync rather that full screen v-sync. Dont know if thats anything to do with it. I'm gonna try some more demanding stuff like shadow fighter to find out if its fixed.

update: Fightin spirit works fine. Shadow fighter was slow but since the game runs at 25fps setting frameskip cured it. Quik the Thunder Rabbit crackled badly and was very slow. I dont understand why one would work and not the other. Any help pls

Last edited by trydowave; 24 August 2012 at 02:58.
trydowave is offline  
Old 24 August 2012, 09:06   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Probably AGA/68020 vs OCS/ECS/68000. Arabian Nights is an A500 game, not A1200.

Try comparing between A1200 AGA and CD32 games.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 August 2012, 13:53   #3
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Hi Toni.
Fightin' Spirit CD32 version is the AGA i think. Not sure if this game was ever 256 colour though or if its the same as the ecs EHB version (with minor tweaks here and there).

I do have trouble running AGA games. Banshee, Shadow fighter and quik all crackle and slow down.

Do you have any advice on how I can config winuae or my pc to run AGA games? My PC to crappy?

Cheers
trydowave is offline  
Old 24 August 2012, 14:09   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
What does CPU% show? Just slightly above 100% or higher?

EDIT: Easiest way to reduce CPU requirements is to set Display panel resolution to lores and disable doubling. Use filter panel to increase the size of display (which requires less CPU power or can be 100% free, depending on display card)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 24 August 2012 at 14:16.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 August 2012, 15:44   #5
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,660
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Aye, SIS gfx card will struggle.

Toni's advise is sound drop the resolution too.
FOL is offline  
Old 27 August 2012, 19:45   #6
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
on Quik the Thunder Rabbit the CPU is at 175% to 150%. Tried the things you suggested. Nothing helps. Maybe the ACER is just too old. When you say drop res, do u mean from in display panel? I'm already at 640x480
trydowave is offline  
Old 27 August 2012, 21:03   #7
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 22,022
Display panel "Resolution" checkbox that says "Hires (normal)". Change it to "Lores". Change "Line Mode" to "Normal".

Attach also winuaelog.txt.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 August 2012, 02:17   #8
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
hi, how do i create a winuaelog.txt?

I dont understand whats happening here really. I get crackling on the CD32 version of Arabian nights A500 (sometimes). Banshee, running from adf, just comes in under 100% cpu if i do all the things u mentioned and stick the res to the minimum.
Quik is the worst?
Should i avoid using config files files that i;ve made on my other pcs?

Cheers
trydowave is offline  
Old 31 August 2012, 02:22   #9
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,660
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by trydowave View Post
hi, how do i create a winuaelog.txt?

I dont understand whats happening here really. I get crackling on the CD32 version of Arabian nights A500 (sometimes). Banshee, running from adf, just comes in under 100% cpu if i do all the things u mentioned and stick the res to the minimum.
Quik is the worst?
Should i avoid using config files files that i;ve made on my other pcs?

Cheers
In config window, under misc if I recall. Tick log boxes.
FOL is offline  
Old 31 August 2012, 11:07   #10
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 762
Thanx FOL
trydowave is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD32 pad emulation in WinUAE for some games antonvaltaz support.WinUAE 14 17 September 2009 09:42
CD32 games not working on winuae'CD32 emulation laser support.WinUAE 8 03 July 2007 22:49
CD32 Emulation Bug in WinUAE 0.8.25? StevenJGore support.WinUAE 6 24 February 2004 19:49
WinUAE + CD32 Emulation MechUnit support.WinUAE 7 25 November 2003 18:04
CD32 Emulation on Real Amiga and WinUAE Magix support.Apps 6 21 August 2001 13:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09867 seconds with 13 queries